“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter Google Plus instagram pinterest
Latest AV Stories
Definitive Technology BP9080x, BP9060, CS9060 Dolby Atmos Speakers Review

Definitive Technology's 5.0.4 system is perfect for installations that can't fit dedicated subwoofers or in-ceiling height speakers yet demand

Definitive Technology BP9080x, BP9060, CS9060 Dolby Atmos Speakers Review
Focal Sib Evo 5.1.2 Dolby Atmos Home Theater System Preview

Focal released their Sib Evo Dolby Atmos 5.1.2 enabled speaker system, but will they stand out over other product brands? Will they be any good?

Focal Sib Evo 5.1.2 Dolby Atmos Home Theater System Preview
RSL CG3, CG23, Speedwoofer 10S 5.1 Speaker System Review

Anchored by the Speedwoofer 10S and Compression Guide tech, RSL's CG3 5.1 home theater system may be small, but packs a whallop that larger

RSL CG3, CG23, Speedwoofer 10S 5.1 Speaker System Review

Recently Reviewed Home Theaters in-a-Box

Definitive Technology BP9080x, BP9060, CS9060 Dolby Atmos Speakers Review

Definitive Technology BP9080x, BP9060, CS9060 Dolby Atmos Speakers Review

High end audio stalwart Definitive Technology is back with a Dolby Atmos system that will make even the most demanding home theater enthusiast salivate. This 5.0.4 Dolby Atmos setup is perfect for spaces that can't fit dedicated subwoofers or discrete height speakers but still want the full slam that you'd expect from a premium home theater setup. Our review explores the full capabilities of this Atmos speaker system to determine if it has all you need to achieve a fully immersive experience.

Definitive Technology's 5.0.4 system is perfect for installations that can't fit dedicated subwoofers or in-ceiling height speakers yet demand an immersive audio setup with stand-alone sub performance.

— February 05, 2019 22:00 in Surround Sound Reviews

Focal Sib Evo 5.1.2 Dolby Atmos Home Theater System Preview

Focal Sib Evo 5.1.2 Dolby Atmos Home Theater System Preview

With every speaker company vying to get their product into the 3D immersive sound arena, will Focal's new Sib Evo 5.1.2 Dolby Atmos enabled system stand out? You know how We feel about Dolby Atmos enabled speakers, but with cheap plastic housings and a minimalistic 8" sub will Focal be able to compete? They've made some outstanding speakers in the past. Read our in depth preview of the Focal Sib Evo to find out.

Focal released their Sib Evo Dolby Atmos 5.1.2 enabled speaker system, but will they stand out over other product brands? Will they be any good? Read our preview to find out what we think.

— August 03, 2017 00:00 in Surround Sound Reviews

RSL CG3, CG23, Speedwoofer 10S 5.1 Speaker System Review

RSL CG3, CG23, Speedwoofer 10S 5.1 Speaker System Review

We took the new CG3, CG23, and Speedwoofer 10S system for an extended spin and came away with our jaws ajar. RSL has done it again. Anchored by the patented Compression Guide technology and for almost half the cost, RSL's CG3 5.1 Home Theater System comes darn close to the performance and refinement of their acclaimed CG4 system. If you thought that a small-sized system couldn't pump out big, dynamic, and engaging sound then think again. You'll be disabused of any previous conceptions you might have. If you're an audiophile or cinemaphile on a budget, Christmas just arrived early for 2017. Read on and see why we liked this system so much.

Anchored by the Speedwoofer 10S and Compression Guide tech, RSL's CG3 5.1 home theater system may be small, but packs a whallop that larger systems can't touch. At 50% less than the CG4 it's a winner.

— February 16, 2017 17:00 in Surround Sound Reviews

Enclave CineHome HD Wireless HTIB Review

Enclave CineHome HD Wireless HTIB Review

Enclave Audio’s CineHome HD is a wireless 5.1 system that is compact and the most affordable WiSA wireless speaker solution available on the market today at less than $1,200. Rather than connecting a large AV Receiver to speakers by stringing lengths of wire around furniture and under carpets, each of the Enclave speakers are powered by a nearby AC outlet and communicate wirelessly: no long wires or complicated setup needed. Can Enclave best premium soundbars to become king of the simple HT system? Read on to find out and be sure to watch our YouTube video review.

The Enclave Audio CineHome HD is a simple WiSA wireless home theater in a box speaker system. In our review, we found that it outperformed budget and premium soundbars thanks to being a true 5.1.

— July 14, 2016 00:00 in Surround Sound Reviews

Waterfall Speakers, Seymour AV Projection Screen, and Wolf Projector at CES 2016

Waterfall Speakers,  Seymour AV Projection Screen, and Wolf Projector at CES 2016

In a great home theater, every part works together and you can't have any weak links. At CES 2016, we saw and heard a great total system featuring Waterfall Audio LCR 300 speakers and SUB 600 subwoofers, Seymour AV Ambient-Visionaire Black 132" Projection Screen, and Wolf Cinema SDC-15 Ultra 4K Projector. For more on these custom-install speakers, ambient light-rejecting screen, and high-resolution projector, including our eyes and ears-on video, check out the full article.

At CES, we saw and heard a great system: Waterfall Audio LCR 300 speakers and SUB 600 subwoofers, Seymour AV Ambient-Visionaire Black 132" Projection Screen, and Wolf Cinema SDC-15 Ultra 4K Projector.

— February 21, 2016 21:00 in Surround Sound Reviews

Emotiva Airmotiv Speakers Preview

Emotiva Airmotiv Speakers Preview

Emotiva unveiled a new series of high-performance, value-oriented speakers at CES 2016. The Airmotiv line features trademarked, folded ribbon tweeters, kevlar woofers, magnetic grills, and braced MDF enclosures. The series feature a whole range of speakers, from towers to surrounds, and from soundbars to subwoofers. Check out our exclusive YouTube video interview with Emotiva Company President Dan Laufman to get the scoop. One thing's for sure, at these prices, it's all but a given that the Emotiva Airmotiv will continue to be a high-value hit.

Emotiva Airmotiv speakers, soundbars, and subwoofers are new for CES 2016, featuring folded ribbon tweeters, kevlar woofers, magnetic grills, and braced MDF cabinets. Starting at only $125/each.

— January 14, 2016 15:00 in Surround Sound Reviews

Elac Uni-Fi Series Speaker Preview

Elac Uni-Fi Series Speaker Preview

A line of speakers sporting concentric driver designed with the technology and performance of speakers costing significantly more? Sounds like every audiophiles dream come true, right? The Elac Un-Fi series from Andrew Jones was unveiled last week at CES Las Vegas and the whole show was abuzz with how great they sounded regardless of the price. With bookshelf, center channel and floor standing models available, the Elac Uni-Fi's might just have the right combination of speakers for you. Read on for more information and be sure to watch our YouTube interview with Andrew Jones to get all of the details.

The Elac Un-Fi series with concentric drivers designed by Andrew Jones was unveiled at the 2016 CES in Las Vegas. The whole show was abuzz with how great they sounded regardless of their modest price.

— January 13, 2016 08:00 in Surround Sound Reviews

SVS Prime Elevation Surround Speakers Preview

SVS Prime Elevation Surround Speakers Preview

Just when you thought SVS forgot about immersive surround sound, they've come up with an innovate elevation speaker to not only do it better but be more versatile too. SVS announced their new Prime Elevation speaker at CES 2016 which is based off their award wining Prime series speakers. As a company that stands behind real science in audio, it's not surprising to us that they've come up with an elevation speaker that relies on sending the direct sound to the listener rather than the compromised bounce popularized by Dolby Elevation Speakers. Check out our interview with SVS President Gary Yacoubian to get all of the exclusive details.

The SVS Prime Elevation Speaker not only does immersive surround better, but it's more versatile too. Instead of bouncing sound, this speaker gives you direct sound for various install options.

— January 12, 2016 08:00 in Surround Sound Reviews

Atlantic Technology Launches Five New Speakers

Atlantic Technology Launches Five New Speakers

There were a few companies at CEDIA 2015 that were announcing a ridiculous number of new products. Atlantic Technology was one of those companies. Last year, they introduced the 3.1 HSB, a passive pedestal soundbar with a built-in powered subwoofer. This year they focused on smaller, more versatile products, such as the LCR3000, and a compact bookshelf speaker. This article provides a short overview of each of their new offerings. Which one meets your needs? Read on to find out.

Atlantic Technology showed off a new soundbar, LCR bookshelf and three new in-walls, including a bipole/dipole surround speaker, at CEDIA 2015. Impressive no nonsense designs is where they're at.

— October 29, 2015 10:00 in Surround Sound Reviews

James Loudspeaker Product Launch Extravaganza

James Loudspeaker Product Launch Extravaganza

I’ll be frank, James Loudspeaker launched or updated so many products at CEDIA 2015 I have no idea if I’m actually covering all of them here. Okay, I do have a complete list, but they showed us so many products – each of which can be customized to fit client needs – that my head was spinning after just a few minutes. Then again, maybe that’s normal when you are substituting coffee for sleep? To make things simple, here is a list of products they were showcasing, along with a brief description of each product.

James Loudspeaker showed of a huge number of products at CEDIA 2015, including a curved soundbar and a new Q Series of floorstanding speakers.

— October 26, 2015 00:00 in Surround Sound Reviews

Fluance AV5HTB 5.0 HTIB Speaker Bundle for under $200!

Fluance AV5HTB 5.0 HTIB Speaker Bundle for under $200!

We've always loved Fluance speaker for their high value and low cost. But at only $199 shipped, Fluance's AVH5HTB home theater in a box bundle surprised even us. Most systems at that price point aren't worth a second look, but Fluance looks like they may have a potential winner for the strapped home theater lover. The AV5HTB is a 5.0 system that looks to deliver great sound where it counts without breaking the bank. See what we think of Fluance's entry-level speaker bundle.

The Fluance AV5HTB Home HTIB features five timbre-matched speakers, ferro-fluid cooled tweeters, butyl rubber surrounds, MDF cabinets, Premium drivers & crossovers all for under $200 shipped. Wow!

— October 09, 2015 16:00 in Surround Sound Reviews

RSL CG4,CG24 and Speedwoofer 10 Loudspeaker System Review

RSL CG4,CG24 and Speedwoofer 10 Loudspeaker System Review

RSL, a boutique loudspeaker manufacturer out of California, has a patented system that promises to deliver real world punch out of small-sized speakers with an astonishingly low price point. We've seen many such systems (and promises) fail miserably. We took the RSL CG24/CG4 subwoofer-satellite system with the Speedwoofer 10 providing the bottom end for an extended review. Were these RSL speakers a major disappointment or a super surprise? Check out our in depth review and YouTube video for all the details.

The RSL CG4/CG24 & Speedwoofer 10 subwoofer/satellite speaker system have a small footprint but offer truly explosive sound and top notch build quality. They prove good things come in small packages.

— August 11, 2015 10:00 in Surround Sound Reviews

ELAC Debut Loudspeaker Line Preview

ELAC Debut Loudspeaker Line Preview

Marking their re-entry into the North American market, German loudspeaker maker, ELAC, has just announced a new entry-level speaker line by acclaimed speaker designer Andrew Jones. The price point of these speakers and their potential performance seems pretty amazing. Will these ELAC Debut series speakers finally provide audiophiles and home theater lovers with a true, high-performance entry level series that covers every speaker combination? Read on to find out all the details.

Andrew Jones designed speakers for Elac include custom drivers and waveguides. High performance at an astonishingly low price point. Full Subwoofer EQ setup via Bluetooth-enabled smartphone and app.

— June 02, 2015 08:00 in Surround Sound Reviews

Pro Audio Launches New Residential Speakers at CEDIA 2014

Pro Audio Launches New Residential Speakers at CEDIA 2014

For CEDIA Expo 2014, PRO Audio Technology (PRO), a supplier of high-output loudspeakers and DSP-programmable amplifier systems, constructed a new, value-oriented surround sound system. In past years, PRO Audio focused on showcasing giant, professional level solutions, like 270 pound subwoofers and massive screen-wall loudspeakers. The new line of speakers is designed to fit in a typical bedroom or living room, while still maintaining the low distortion and high output capabilities that PRO Audio is known for.

Pro Audio's SCRS-6iw and LFC-12v are a great bridge between professional and residential marketplaces. Read on for our hands-on impressions.

— September 23, 2014 00:00 in Surround Sound Reviews