“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter Google Plus instagram pinterest
Latest AV Stories
Subwoofers of AXPONA 2019

Even though AXPONA focuses on 2CH setups, there were still a fair number of subwoofers on display at the 2019 show. In this segment we look at a

Subwoofers of AXPONA 2019
Monoprice Monolith Sealed Subwoofer Line Preview

At CES this year, Monoprice launched a line of sealed subwoofers which are variants of their popular wave-making THX subwoofers, so users can

Monoprice Monolith Sealed Subwoofer Line Preview
REL’s New ‘Serie HT’ Subwoofers Deliver High-Value Home Theater Thrills

The new “Serie HT” subwoofers from REL promise to shake your foundation walls while shaking up the competition. Will REL become the go-to brand

REL’s New ‘Serie HT’ Subwoofers Deliver High-Value Home Theater Thrills

Recent Subwoofers Reviews

Subwoofers of AXPONA 2019

Subwoofers of AXPONA 2019

Even though AXPONA focuses on two-channel setups, there were still a fair number of subwoofers on display at the 2019 show, and it may be a sign that audiophiles are becoming more receptive to the inclusion of subwoofers in their systems. AXPONA is also growing increasingly popular among the home theater crowd where subwoofers are nearly mandatory. In our final segment of our AXPONA 2019, we looked at a selection of the subs that were exhibited at the show including a secret sub from HSU.

Even though AXPONA focuses on 2CH setups, there were still a fair number of subwoofers on display at the 2019 show. In this segment we look at a few of the subs we saw including a secret sub from HSU.

— April 24, 2019 09:00 in Subwoofer Reviews

Monoprice Monolith Sealed Subwoofer Line Preview

Monoprice Monolith Sealed Subwoofer Line Preview

At CES this year, Monoprice launched a line of sealed subwoofers which furthers their goal to be a one-stop destination for anything that is needed for any high-end home audio application. Their new subwoofers are sealed variants of their popular wave-making THX subwoofers, so users can expect similar high-performance but in a smaller package. Read our preview of Monoprice Monolith sealed subwoofers to see what advantages they can bring to your sound system.

At CES this year, Monoprice launched a line of sealed subwoofers which are variants of their popular wave-making THX subwoofers, so users can expect similar high-performance at affordable prices.

— February 28, 2019 08:00 in Subwoofer Reviews

REL’s New ‘Serie HT’ Subwoofers Deliver High-Value Home Theater Thrills

REL’s New ‘Serie HT’ Subwoofers Deliver High-Value Home Theater Thrills

The new “Serie HT” home theater subwoofers from REL promise to shake your foundation walls while shaking up the competition. The revered British brand has a loyal following among audiophiles, but these new subs are the first from the company to target home theater shoppers with limited budgets. Will REL become the go-to brand for affordable home theater subwoofers?

The new “Serie HT” subwoofers from REL promise to shake your foundation walls while shaking up the competition. Will REL become the go-to brand for affordable home theater subwoofers? Read on.

— January 21, 2019 00:00 in Subwoofer Reviews

Paradigm Defiance X12 and V12 Subwoofers Review

Paradigm Defiance X12 and V12 Subwoofers Review

Some other speaker manufacturers look at subwoofers as "accessory" products, high in price, but low on precision and design. Paradigm though has always given us high performance subs at reasonable price points. Will they continue this tradition with their affordable V12 and heavy hitting X12? Read on to find out what our detailed product review and precision measurements had to say and be sure to also check out our YouTube video overview of the Defiance series of subwoofers.

We reviewed and compared the new V12 and X12 Defiance 12" powered subwoofers from Paradigm. Do they have what it takes to live up to the brands reputation of excellence? Read on to find out.

— January 11, 2019 23:00 in Subwoofer Reviews

SVS 3000 Series Subwoofers Offer Flagship Features Starting at $1k

SVS 3000 Series Subwoofers Offer Flagship Features Starting at $1k

SVS has launched a new line of subwoofers that brings the technologies developed for their flagship subwoofers down to the $1k price point. The SVS 3000 series subwoofers is a strong new contender in the fierce marketplace for subwoofers in this price range, and SVS brings the advantages of their top-flight engineering, renowned customer service, and envelope-pushing technology to make their product stand out from the rest. Read our preview of the SVS 3000 series to learn more about what SVS has cooked up in their latest generation of subwoofage.

SVS launched their 3000 series of subwoofers that brings the technologies developed for their flagship subwoofers down to the $1k price point. Are these the best subs for the price? Read on.

— November 19, 2018 01:00 in Subwoofer Reviews

MartinLogan Dynamo 600X and Dynamo 1600X Subwoofer Review

MartinLogan Dynamo 600X and Dynamo 1600X Subwoofer Review

Martin-Logan's new Dynamo subwoofers pack as much technology into a small enclosure as modern science will allow, yet still manages to be affordable. The new Dynamo subwoofers use smartphone app control, smartphone app room equalization, and supports a wireless signal receiver, all while improving upon the performance of their predecessors. Read our full combo review and watch our YouTube Overview of the Dynamo 600X and Dynamo 1600X to get the scoop on Martin-Logan's envelope-pushing reboot of their classic subwoofer series.

Martin-Logan's new Dynamo 600x and 1600x subwoofers pack as much technology into a small enclosure as modern science will allow, yet still manages to be affordable. Read on to find out how.

— November 14, 2018 07:00 in Subwoofer Reviews

Klipsch C-Series Subwoofers Offer BIG Bass, Small Footprint

Klipsch C-Series Subwoofers Offer BIG Bass, Small Footprint

The C-Series Subwoofers from Klipsch are ultra-compact designs that offer IP Control and app-based automatic room correction. The C-Series includes the 8-inch C-308ASWi ($1,299) and the 10-inch C-310ASWi ($1,599). Both new subs use front-facing active drivers and dual side-firing passive radiators to deliver surprising power from a small cabinet. Read on to learn more.

Klipsch released their C-Series subwoofers: the 8-inch C-308ASWi & 10-inch C-310ASWi, come with front firing active drivers and dual side-firing passive radiators with room correction and IP control.

— November 11, 2018 21:00 in Subwoofer Reviews

PSB’s New SubSeries 250 and 350 Subwoofers Bring The Bass In Style

PSB’s New SubSeries 250 and 350 Subwoofers Bring The Bass In Style

PSB has introduced a pair of reasonably priced subwoofers: the 10-inch SubSeries 250 ($699) and the 12-inch SubSeries 350 ($999). These compact, sealed subs offer trickle-down styling from the brand’s flagship model and feature powerful Class D MOSFET amps. Extensive connectivity options allow for easy integration into a wide variety of setups. But can they compete with the high-value Internet Direct brands? Read on to find out.

PSB introduced a pair of reasonably priced subwoofers: the 10-inch SubSeries 250 ($699) and the 12-inch SubSeries 350 ($999). Are they the quality and value you expect from PSB? Read on to find out

— November 03, 2018 06:00 in Subwoofer Reviews

Monoprice Monolith 15” THX Ultra Subwoofer Review

Monoprice Monolith 15” THX Ultra Subwoofer Review

At last! It's here! Our review of Monoprice's monster subwoofer, the Monolith 15" THX Ultra! This 130 lbs. beast might look like it's all muscle, but there's at least as much brains as there is brawn in this design, in fact, there's a lot more to this sub than mere loudness. To see what we found out during our evaluation, read our in-depth review and comprehensive measurement report. Find out if this baby earned our Extreme Bassaholic subwoofer rating.

At last! It's here! Our review of Monoprice's monster subwoofer, the Monolith 15" THX Ultra! This 130 lb. beast might look like it's all muscle, but there's at least as much brains as there is brawn.

— October 03, 2018 08:00 in Subwoofer Reviews

SVS PB-4000 Ported Subwoofer Review

SVS PB-4000 Ported Subwoofer Review

The SVS PB-4000 is the latest evolution of a powerful subwoofer design that has stood the test of time. However, it is more than just a mere iteration of the classic PB13-Ultra; the PB-4000 takes a radical shift in terms of amplifier technology and makes some major changes in enclosure construction. Despite these improvements, the pricing has not increased. To find out what SVS has done to improve on their classic, proven design, read our full review with comprehensive measurements of the PB-4000 to determine if it's time for you to upgrade your subwoofer.

The SVS PB-4000 is the latest evolution of a powerful subwoofer design that has stood the test of time. Read our in-depth review with measurements to see how SVS improved on their classic design.

— August 30, 2018 00:00 in Subwoofer Reviews

MartinLogan Revamps Dynamo Subwoofers

MartinLogan Revamps Dynamo Subwoofers

The original Dynamo subwoofer series were a smash hit for MartinLogan, but they are not a company to rest on their laurels or past accolades. The redesign of their Dynamo subwoofers was massive project years in the making that we got to see first-hand. These new subs place an emphasis on wireless technologies, with smartphone app control of the subs functions, app control of automated room equalization, and optional wireless signal transmission. They are loaded with a plethora of other innovations and performance enhancements. To find out more, read our preview of the new MartinLogan Dynamo subwoofers.

MartinLogan has totally redesigned the Dynamo subwoofer series in a massive project that was years in the making. To find out more, read our preview of the new MartinLogan Dynamo subwoofers.

— July 11, 2018 08:00 in Subwoofer Reviews

Monoprice Monolith 10” THX Select and 12” THX Ultra Subwoofers Review

Monoprice Monolith 10” THX Select  and 12” THX Ultra Subwoofers Review

THX certified subwoofers were once the reserve for high-end home theaters, but Monoprice Inc. has now brought them within reach of us mere mortals with the launch of their Monolith series subwoofers. In this review, we look at two high-powered but affordable subwoofers, the 10" THX Select and 12" THX Ultra. The operative word for the design of these subs is 'overkill' which can be discerned from their ultra heavy-duty enclosures, beefy drivers, and powerful 500-watt amplifiers. Read our review of these beasts to find out if your home theater can handle this much low-frequency muscle.

In this review, we look at two high-powered but affordable Monoprice subwoofers, the 10" THX Select and 12" THX Ultra. Continue reading to find out if your home theater room can handle these beasts.

— May 17, 2018 00:00 in Subwoofer Reviews

Rel Series T/i Powered Wireless Subwoofers Preview

Rel Series T/i Powered Wireless Subwoofers Preview

Subwoofers do not have to be large and unattractive to sound good: enter Rel Acoustic's T/i series, ranging from 300 watts of amplification, long-throw 10" woofer with a 10" passive radiator to their sealed 8" micro-subwoofer. Through a host of design innovations, these subwoofers sport as much finesse in sound as they do in sight, but they are an audiophile subwoofer without audiophile pricing. Read our overview of the Rel T/i subwoofers to see what is under the hood of these little beauties.

Rel Acoustic's T/i series powered subwoofers, ranging from a 300 watt long-throw 10" woofer & 10" passive radiator to their sealed 8" micro-sub sport as much finesse in sound as they do in sight.

— March 14, 2018 08:00 in Subwoofer Reviews

JL Audio IWS-SYS-108/208 In-wall Subwoofer Preview

JL Audio IWS-SYS-108/208 In-wall Subwoofer Preview

For those of you looking for a premiere in-wall sub, JL Audio released their IWS-SYS-108 and IWS-SYS-208. The newest models from JL Audio have a very small grille opening that will please customers looking for a visually unobtrusive solution while still capable of delivering true JL Audio sub-bass performance. To see all their features read on.

Looking for a new in-wall sub? JL Audio released their IWS-SYS-108 and IWS-SYS-208 in wall subs. These two new models have a very small grille opening that belies their earth rumbling sound. Read on.

— December 28, 2017 16:00 in Subwoofer Reviews