“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter instagram pinterest
Latest AV Stories
SVS PB-2000 Pro Ported Subwoofer Review

SVS completely revamped their 2000 series with the release of their 2000 Pro subwoofers. We can report that the 2000 Pro subs are far more

SVS PB-2000 Pro Ported Subwoofer Review
JTR Captivator RS1 18" Sealed Subwoofer Review

How much performance can be had from a reasonably sized cabinet? With a 2,400 watt amplifier and an 18" driver with 4" of peak-to-peak

JTR Captivator RS1 18" Sealed Subwoofer Review
Artison Hides the BOOM With Its RCC MKII Series of Architectural Subwoofers

Artison is currently shipping their new MCC160 and MCC320 MKII in-wall subwoofers. At $1,500/pair for the MCC160 and $1,100/each for the MCC320

Artison Hides the BOOM With Its RCC MKII Series of Architectural Subwoofers

Recent Subwoofers Reviews

SVS PB-2000 Pro Ported Subwoofer Review

SVS PB-2000 Pro Ported Subwoofer Review

Late last year SVS released a rework of their 2000 series subwoofers called the 2000 Pro series. The 2000 Pro subs use a new amplifier topology trickled down from their upper-tier subs that includes app control. The driver also received significant rework. SVS sent us a PB-2000 Pro for review, and we are happy to report that the 2000 Pro subs are far more improved than just adding a smartphone app this latest generation of subs. Read our full review with measurements, and you may be as surprised as we were by the SVS PB-2000 Pro.

SVS completely revamped their 2000 series with the release of their 2000 Pro subwoofers. We can report that the 2000 Pro subs are far more improved than just adding a smartphone app. Read on.

— September 23, 2020 08:00 in Subwoofer Reviews

JTR Captivator RS1 18" Sealed Subwoofer Review

JTR Captivator RS1 18" Sealed Subwoofer Review

The JTR Captivator RS1 subwoofer is the type of product that pushed the boundaries of the question of how performance can be had from a reasonably sized cabinet? With a 2,400 watt amplifier and an 18" driver with 4" of peak-to-peak excursion, the RS1 stuffs a lot of performance potential into a relatively small box. In our review, we examine not just the loudness of the RS1 but also the fidelity. Take a look to learn about one of the most powerful subs that we have reviewed in recent years and see how it fared in our bassaholic testing.

How much performance can be had from a reasonably sized cabinet? With a 2,400 watt amplifier and an 18" driver with 4" of peak-to-peak excursion, the RS1 Captivator from JTR gives a lot! Read on.

— August 09, 2020 12:00 in Subwoofer Reviews

Artison Hides the BOOM With Its RCC MKII Series of Architectural Subwoofers

Artison Hides the BOOM With Its RCC MKII Series of Architectural Subwoofers

If you're in the process of building a smart home you've probably heard of Savant. Savant's audio subsidiary Artison is currently shipping their new MCC160 and MCC320 MKII in-wall or in-ceiling subwoofers designed to blend perfectly into your new automated home. To see what we think of Artison's newest in-wall or in-ceiling subwoofers, read on.

Artison is currently shipping their new MCC160 and MCC320 MKII in-wall subwoofers. At $1,500/pair for the MCC160 and $1,100/each for the MCC320 you no longer need to find the room to hide your sub.

— July 02, 2020 07:00 in Subwoofer Reviews

Atlantic Technology Gives Freedom of Choice With S-Series Subwoofers

Atlantic Technology Gives Freedom of Choice With S-Series Subwoofers

Atlantic Technology is now shipping their new S-Series of wireless subwoofers. Although compact, the FS-S65 and FS-S8 have the engineering that Atlantic Technology is known so the sound may beat your expectations. Atlantic Technology has also thrown a few surprises into the mix to make these some of the most versatile little subs on the market. To see what's in the box, read on.

Atlantic Technology is shipping the S-Series of wireless subwoofers. The FS-S65 and FS-S8 have the engineering that Atlantic Technology is known so the sound may surprise you. Read on.

— June 30, 2020 05:00 in Subwoofer Reviews

JTR Captivator 215PRO Subwoofer- The Bassaholic Buster

JTR Captivator 215PRO Subwoofer- The Bassaholic Buster

Audioholics recently had an encounter with a subwoofer which had left us battered and bruised. We thought we could go toe-to-toe with any subwoofer, but the JTR Captivator 215PRO turned us into mush with sheer pulverizing bass. Read all about how you can liquefy your organs with 128dB of pressure waves and leave you craving for more in our coverage of the Captivator 215PRO.

We recently tested the JTR Captivator 215PRO subwoofer and it turned us into mush with sheer pulverizing bass. Read all about its 128dB pressure waves and how it leaves you craving for more.

— May 28, 2020 04:00 in Subwoofer Reviews

Creative Sound Solutions SDX12 12" Sealed Subwoofer DIY Kit Review

Creative Sound Solutions SDX12 12" Sealed Subwoofer DIY Kit Review

We've tested A LOT of factory designed and manufactured subwoofers here at Audioholics. This time we built and tested our own with the Creative Sound Solutions SDX12. Does the Creative Sound Solutions SDX12 12" sealed subwoofer DIY kit buy you more performance than commercial offerings? Check out how the SDX12 performed compared to similarly priced commercial offerings.

We built and tested the Creative Sound Solutions SDX12 Subwoofer kit. Does the DIY 12" sealed subwoofer kit buy you more performance than commercial offerings? Read on to find out.

— February 22, 2020 00:35 in Subwoofer Reviews

SVS 3000 Series Powered Subwoofers Review

SVS 3000 Series Powered Subwoofers Review

SVS could have phoned in their efforts for the middle product line between the 2000 series subwoofers and the 4000 series subwoofers, and not many people would have noticed given the overall success of their other product lines. However, SVS did not do that, and they produced what, in many ways, may be their best subwoofer series to date. Read our in-depth review with detailed measurements to find out why we like the SVS 3000 series subwoofers so much.

We reviewed the SVS 3000 series subwoofers which, in many ways, may be their best subwoofer series to date. Read our in-depth review to find out why we like the SVS 3000 series subwoofers so much.

— December 19, 2019 02:00 in Subwoofer Reviews

SVS 2000 Pro Series Subwoofers Upgrade Performance & Features

SVS 2000 Pro Series Subwoofers Upgrade Performance & Features

SVS's massively successful 2000 series subwoofer has just underwent a big change to become the 2000 Pro series, but what makes this series pro? Major changes in amplification and driver architecture promise some significant performance increases as well as the inclusion of new features such as SVS's Bluetooth subwoofer control app for iOS and Andriod. The subs are better but the prices are a bit higher, so the question is are the improvements worth the price hike? See what these new SVS's 2000 Pro subwoofers offer to find out.

SVS's massively successful 2000 series powered subwoofer has just underwent a big change to become the 2000 Pro series, but what makes this series pro? Read on to find out.

— December 13, 2019 08:00 in Subwoofer Reviews

Monoprice Brings the BOOM with their dual 15" Monolith THX M-215 Subwoofer

Monoprice Brings the BOOM with their dual 15" Monolith THX M-215 Subwoofer

Monoprice has announced some new products that expand their Monolith THX speaker and subwoofer lines, and they look to be absolute beasts for the home theater market. Monoprice is launching their M-215 subwoofer with a 2kW amplifier and two high-excursion 15" drivers. Those who can handle these bruisers will be in home theater nirvana. Read our preview to see what monsters that the mad scientists at Monoprice have been cooking up in their laboratory. Be sure to watch our Youtube video for a surprise at the end ;)

Monoprice is launching their M-215 subwoofer with a 2kW amplifier and two high-excursion 15" drivers. Those who can handle these bruisers will be in home theater nirvana. Read on for more information.

— October 01, 2019 00:00 in Subwoofer Reviews

Paradigm Defiance X15 Ported Subwoofer Review

Paradigm Defiance X15 Ported Subwoofer Review

We were so impressed by the Paradigm Defiance X12 review that we asked Paradigm to send us its bigger sibling, the X15, so we could see how much further the Defiance platform can be pushed. Paradigm happily complied, and in for review today, we have the massive Defiance X15. This thing is a beast in size, but is it a beast in performance as well? Does the X15 live up to the expectations set by the X12? Read our in-depth review to find out!

The Defiance X15 ported subwoofer from Paradigm is a beast in size but what about its performance? Does it outgun it's smaller X12 sibling we reviewed? Must read if you're an extreme bassaholic!

— August 04, 2019 20:00 in Subwoofer Reviews

YG Acoustics InVincible 21.2 6kwatt Subwoofer Costs $100k?!?

YG Acoustics InVincible 21.2 6kwatt Subwoofer Costs $100k?!?

The YG Acoustics InVincible 21.2 is a monster subwoofer with twin 21-inch “BilletCore” drivers milled from solid slabs of aircraft-grade aluminum. The $100,000 InVincible 21.2 stands nearly six feet tall and weighs in at 462 pounds. With 6,000 watts of power on board, this sub promises to be the ultimate bass foundation for the world’s best stereo and surround sound systems. Read on to learn more.

YG Acoustics $100,000 InVincible 21.2 Subwoofer stands nearly six feet tall and weighs in at 462 pounds. With 6,000 watts of power on board, is it the worlds best subwoofer? Read on to find out.

— July 24, 2019 01:00 in Subwoofer Reviews

Subwoofers of AXPONA 2019

Subwoofers of AXPONA 2019

Even though AXPONA focuses on two-channel setups, there were still a fair number of subwoofers on display at the 2019 show, and it may be a sign that audiophiles are becoming more receptive to the inclusion of subwoofers in their systems. AXPONA is also growing increasingly popular among the home theater crowd where subwoofers are nearly mandatory. In our final segment of our AXPONA 2019, we looked at a selection of the subs that were exhibited at the show including a secret sub from HSU.

Even though AXPONA focuses on 2CH setups, there were still a fair number of subwoofers on display at the 2019 show. In this segment we look at a few of the subs we saw including a secret sub from HSU.

— April 24, 2019 09:00 in Subwoofer Reviews

Monoprice Monolith Sealed Subwoofer Line Preview

Monoprice Monolith Sealed Subwoofer Line Preview

At CES this year, Monoprice launched a line of sealed subwoofers which furthers their goal to be a one-stop destination for anything that is needed for any high-end home audio application. Their new subwoofers are sealed variants of their popular wave-making THX subwoofers, so users can expect similar high-performance but in a smaller package. Read our preview of Monoprice Monolith sealed subwoofers to see what advantages they can bring to your sound system.

At CES this year, Monoprice launched a line of sealed subwoofers which are variants of their popular wave-making THX subwoofers, so users can expect similar high-performance at affordable prices.

— February 28, 2019 08:00 in Subwoofer Reviews

REL’s New ‘Serie HT’ Subwoofers Deliver High-Value Home Theater Thrills

REL’s New ‘Serie HT’ Subwoofers Deliver High-Value Home Theater Thrills

The new “Serie HT” home theater subwoofers from REL promise to shake your foundation walls while shaking up the competition. The revered British brand has a loyal following among audiophiles, but these new subs are the first from the company to target home theater shoppers with limited budgets. Will REL become the go-to brand for affordable home theater subwoofers?

The new “Serie HT” subwoofers from REL promise to shake your foundation walls while shaking up the competition. Will REL become the go-to brand for affordable home theater subwoofers? Read on.

— January 21, 2019 00:00 in Subwoofer Reviews