“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter instagram pinterest
Latest AV Stories
Kali Audio LP-8 Powered Monitor Loudspeaker Review

We reviewed the Kali Audio LP-8 powered studio monitor loudspeakers to determine if pro-audio equipment can be used with excellence in home

Kali Audio LP-8 Powered Monitor Loudspeaker Review
JBL HDI-3800 Floorstanding Speaker Review

The JBL HDI-3800 84lb beast of a floorstanding speaker features triple 8" bass drivers and an advanced compression driver and waveguide. We

JBL HDI-3800 Floorstanding Speaker Review
Polk Audio Legend L200 Bookshelf and L400 Center Speaker Review

The L200 are Polk's latest high-end bookshelf speaker, and the L400 is the Legend center speaker. Both boast many of the state-of-the-art

Polk Audio Legend L200 Bookshelf and L400 Center Speaker Review

Recent Bookshelf Speaker Reviews

Kali Audio LP-8 Powered Monitor Loudspeaker Review

Kali Audio LP-8 Powered Monitor Loudspeaker Review

Can you use pro-audio equipment for home audio applications? We ask that question in our review of the Kali Audio LP-8, a studio monitor. If the purpose of a loudspeaker is to reproduce accurate sound, the resultant sound of a studio monitor shouldn't differ from a home audio speaker. With this in mind, let's see how the LP-8 fares for recreational listening rather than monitoring. Should you consider them for your stereo or home theater system, or should they stay in the studio? Read our in-depth review of the Kali Audio LP-8s to find out.

We reviewed the Kali Audio LP-8 powered studio monitor loudspeakers to determine if pro-audio equipment can be used with excellence in home audio applications.

— July 29, 2020 04:00 in Bookshelf Speaker Reviews

JBL HDI-3800 Floorstanding Speaker Review

JBL HDI-3800 Floorstanding Speaker Review

One of the most anticipated loudspeakers shown at the 2019 CEDIA show has finally come in for us to review, the JBL HDI-3800 which is the big dog of JBL's new HDI series. This 84 lbs beast uses three 8" bass drivers and an advanced compression driver and waveguide derived from the cutting-edge audio R&D from the whizzes at JBL. At $5k/pair, they ain't cheap, but a loudspeaker this powerful and advanced may well be a bargain at that price if all the technology translates into real performance. Read our full review to see what we found.

The JBL HDI-3800 84lb beast of a floorstanding speaker features triple 8" bass drivers and an advanced compression driver and waveguide. We review it to determine if it lives up to the JBL heritage.

— June 02, 2020 16:25 in Bookshelf Speaker Reviews

Polk Audio Legend L200 Bookshelf and L400 Center Speaker Review

Polk Audio Legend L200 Bookshelf and L400 Center Speaker Review

The L200 are Polk's latest high-end bookshelf speaker, and the L400 is the center that anchors their Legend series. Both boast many of the state-of-the-art advances implemented in the L800 but deployed on a smaller scale. If you are looking for loudspeakers that are on the same level of fidelity as your hi-res recordings you will want to read our full review to see how the Polk Legend L200 and L400 fare as their new flagship bookshelf and center speakers from Polk Audio.

The L200 are Polk's latest high-end bookshelf speaker, and the L400 is the Legend center speaker. Both boast many of the state-of-the-art advances. Check out our detailed review of both here.

— May 12, 2020 00:00 in Bookshelf Speaker Reviews

JBL L82 Classic Bookshelf Loudspeaker Brings Retro Back In Smaller Form

JBL L82 Classic Bookshelf Loudspeaker Brings Retro Back In Smaller Form

A year after releasing the L100 Classic, JBL Introduced their L82 Classic Bookshelf Loudspeakers at CES 2020 in Las Vegas, Nevada. The new L82 Classic's 8-inch, 2-way system design is more compact than the L100’s 12-inch 3-way design, but still looks to deliver a premium hi-fi sound experience with an attractive retro aesthetic.

JBL released information on their new L82 Classic Bookshelf speaker at CES 2020 Las Vegas. The 2-way design features a smaller 8" driver but the same 1" tweeter as their acclaimed L100. Read on.

— January 08, 2020 08:00 in Bookshelf Speaker Reviews

RSL CG5 & CG25 Bookshelf / Center Speakers Review

RSL CG5 & CG25 Bookshelf / Center Speakers Review

RSL Speakers generally get rave reviews for their products, so whenever they release something new, audio enthusiasts take note. Their recent release of the CG5 and CG25 speakers raised the eyebrows in the audio industry since the buzz was that RSL was pushing into a higher-end product than they had heretofore. It was with great anticipation that we awaited a sample of these new speakers. We are excited to finally bring you a full in-depth review of both speakers. Read on to find out all about the RSL CG5 and CG25.

RSL Speaker's recent release of the CG5 and CG25 speakers have raised the eyebrows of audio industry. Did RSL produce a premium higher end product at a more moderate price? Read on to find out.

— November 14, 2019 13:00 in Bookshelf Speaker Reviews

MartinLogan Motion 35XTi Bookshelf Speaker Review

MartinLogan Motion 35XTi Bookshelf Speaker Review

MartinLogan, famous for their curved panel electrostatic speakers, has recently revamped their Motion line of loudspeakers that use a more traditional enclosure. While the cabinet may be more conventional than their higher-tiered loudspeakers, the Motion speakers are still not without design distinctions that set them apart from other speakers in the same class. In for review today, we have the Motion 35XTi, the larger bookshelf speaker within the Motion series featuring a 6.5" woofer and AMT tweeter. Read our in-depth review to see what MartinLogan does to retain their signature electrostatic sound within a box-enclosure loudspeaker.

The Motion 35XTi bookshelf speaker has updated cosmetics and employs a 6.5" woofer and AMT tweeter. Read our review to see if MartinLogan keeps their signature sound in a box speaker.

— October 07, 2019 08:00 in Bookshelf Speaker Reviews

GoldenEar Packs the Latest Audiophile Tech into their BRX Bookshelf Speaker

GoldenEar Packs the Latest Audiophile Tech into their BRX Bookshelf Speaker

GoldenEar Technology announced their new ultra-high-performance compact bookshelf/stand-mount loudspeaker, the BRX, at the 2019 CEDIA EXPO. The goal of BRX was to create a gorgeous, luxuriously finished, ultra-compact loudspeaker which would incorporate the latest advanced technology developed for GoldenEar’s flagship tower speakers. Read on to see what makes this compact speaker so special and at $699/ea, quite affordable.

GoldenEar Technology announced their new ultra-high-performance compact bookshelf/stand-mount loudspeaker, the BRX, at the 2019 CEDIA EXPO. Packed with their latest tech, see what makes it so special.

— September 22, 2019 02:00 in Bookshelf Speaker Reviews

Monoprice Monolith THX-365T Mini-Tower and THX-365C Center Speaker Review

Monoprice Monolith THX-365T Mini-Tower and THX-365C Center Speaker Review

Monoprice was one of the first to bring highly affordable THX subwoofers to market, and now they continue that trend by introducing highly affordable THX speakers. The Monolith THX-365T and 365C speakers are some of the most inexpensive THX-Ultra certified home audio speakers to ever have been produced. This raises the question: how is Monoprice able to make THX-Ultra caliber speakers affordable? Read our full review to find out.

The Monolith THX-365T and 365C are some of the most inexpensive THX-Ultra certified home audio speakers to ever have been produced. How do they perform? Read on to find out.

— August 30, 2019 01:00 in Bookshelf Speaker Reviews

Revel Performa M126Be Bookshelf Speaker Review

Revel Performa M126Be Bookshelf Speaker Review

Revel had a good loudspeaker platform in the Performa3 line. In fact, the basic design was so good that Revel decided to see what would happen when that design was upgraded to its full performance capabilities by using some of the highest-end components available such as air-core inductors, polyfilm capacitors, anodized aluminum woofers, and even a Beryllium tweeter. Read our detailed review of the Performa M126Be hot rod bookshelf speakers to see how much these premium components added to an already solidly engineered design.

Check out our review of Revel's Performa M126Be. With air-core inductors, polyfilm capacitors, anodized aluminum woofers, and even a Beryllium tweeter this is the little speaker that could!

— August 16, 2019 14:00 in Bookshelf Speaker Reviews

Philharmonic Audio BMR Philharmonitor Bookshelf Speaker Review

Philharmonic Audio BMR Philharmonitor Bookshelf Speaker Review

There is a lot of online buzz about Philharmonic Audio's BMR Philharmonitors, so we decided to get a review pair to see what they were all about. These large bookshelf speakers use a 3-way design with a very special driver outlay that has audio enthusiasts excited about the potential performance advantages that it could offer, especially for the price. In our in-depth review, we ask the question, do these speakers live up to the hype surrounding them? Read on to find out what we have uncovered.

Philharmonic Audio's BMR Philharmonitors use a 3-way design with a very special driver outlay that has audio enthusiasts excited about the potential performance advantages that it could offer Read on.

— January 23, 2019 00:00 in Bookshelf Speaker Reviews

RSL Raises the Bar with CG5 and CG25 Audiophile Bookshelf Speakers

RSL Raises the Bar with CG5 and CG25 Audiophile Bookshelf Speakers

RSL recently announced the CG5 Bookshelf Speaker and CG25 Monitor / Center Channel Speaker which pushes RSL Speaker’s products into higher price points and higher levels of performance. The $400 and $500 each price points don't have buyers shying away as they are completely sold out for December. Find out why in our preview of RSL's newest products and see what performance upgrades you get over their popular CG3 line.

RSL recently announced the CG5 Bookshelf and CG25 Monitor/Center Channel Speaker which pushes their products into higher price points and higher levels of performance. See what you get over the CG3s.

— December 21, 2018 00:10 in Bookshelf Speaker Reviews

Outlaw Audio BLSv2 Bookshelf and LCRv2 Loudspeaker Review

Outlaw Audio BLSv2 Bookshelf and LCRv2 Loudspeaker Review

10 years ago, Outlaw Audio released a hit product with their acclaimed BLS and LCR loudspeakers, but the availability of those products was short-lived after their manufacturing source shut down. Outlaw Audio shelved plans to continue production elsewhere, since no other manufacturer could meet their criteria for quality control at the time. However, things have changed, and Outlaw Audio decided to bring these speakers back to market after locating a good manufacturing source. Did they improve the original design while greatly reducing the original cost? Read our full review to find out...

Outlaw Audio is reintroducing it acclaimed BLS and LCR loudspeakers to the audio industry. Dubbed the v2, did Outlaw Audio improve the original design while reducing the cost? Read on to find out.

— October 16, 2018 11:00 in Bookshelf Speaker Reviews

RBH Sound R-5 Bookshelf and R-515 LCR Speaker Review

RBH Sound R-5 Bookshelf and R-515 LCR Speaker Review

RBH Sound has overhauled their acclaimed "Impression" speaker series, and Audioholics has managed to get their R-5 and R-515 speakers in for review. These affordable speakers keep the same great looks as the previous Impression speakers but add better build quality and enhanced performance. We explore the latest improvements RBH has made to this series though exhaustive measurements and listening tests. Read on to see if the RBH R-5 bookshelf and R-515 LCR speakers should have a place in your sound system.

RBH Sound has overhauled their acclaimed "Impression" series, and we managed to get their R-5 bookshelf and R-515 LCR speakers in for review. See the performance enhancements they now offer.

— August 07, 2018 00:00 in Bookshelf Speaker Reviews

6 Best Bookshelf Speakers for Under $100/Pair

6 Best Bookshelf Speakers for Under $100/Pair

Audioholics has recently completed a string of reviews of ultra-affordable bookshelf speakers from Monoprice, Dayton Audio and Polk that we thought could possibly punch above their price points. These speakers are priced in the $45 to $100 per pair range and bear some signs that the engineers who created them were really trying to get good sound out of modest components. In this article, we summarize our findings and discuss the advantages that each design brings to the table.

Looking for a pair of bookshelf speakers in the $45 - $100 range with sound quality good enough for an audioholic on a budget? Check out our roundup of 6 budget speakers to see how they compared.

— July 23, 2018 00:00 in Bookshelf Speaker Reviews