“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter instagram pinterest
Latest AV Stories
MartinLogan Motion 35XTi Bookshelf Speaker Review

The Motion 35XTi bookshelf speaker has updated cosmetics and employs a 6.5" woofer and AMT tweeter. Read our review to see if MartinLogan keeps

MartinLogan Motion 35XTi Bookshelf Speaker Review
GoldenEar Packs the Latest Audiophile Tech into their BRX Bookshelf Speaker

GoldenEar Technology announced their new ultra-high-performance compact bookshelf/stand-mount loudspeaker, the BRX, at the 2019 CEDIA EXPO.

GoldenEar Packs the Latest Audiophile Tech into their BRX Bookshelf Speaker
Monoprice Monolith THX-365T Mini-Tower and THX-365C Center Speaker Review

The Monolith THX-365T and 365C are some of the most inexpensive THX-Ultra certified home audio speakers to ever have been produced. How do they

Monoprice Monolith THX-365T Mini-Tower and THX-365C Center Speaker Review

Recent Bookshelf Speaker Reviews

MartinLogan Motion 35XTi Bookshelf Speaker Review

MartinLogan Motion 35XTi Bookshelf Speaker Review

MartinLogan, famous for their curved panel electrostatic speakers, has recently revamped their Motion line of loudspeakers that use a more traditional enclosure. While the cabinet may be more conventional than their higher-tiered loudspeakers, the Motion speakers are still not without design distinctions that set them apart from other speakers in the same class. In for review today, we have the Motion 35XTi, the larger bookshelf speaker within the Motion series featuring a 6.5" woofer and AMT tweeter. Read our in-depth review to see what MartinLogan does to retain their signature electrostatic sound within a box-enclosure loudspeaker.

The Motion 35XTi bookshelf speaker has updated cosmetics and employs a 6.5" woofer and AMT tweeter. Read our review to see if MartinLogan keeps their signature sound in a box speaker.

— October 07, 2019 08:00 in Bookshelf Speaker Reviews

GoldenEar Packs the Latest Audiophile Tech into their BRX Bookshelf Speaker

GoldenEar Packs the Latest Audiophile Tech into their BRX Bookshelf Speaker

GoldenEar Technology announced their new ultra-high-performance compact bookshelf/stand-mount loudspeaker, the BRX, at the 2019 CEDIA EXPO. The goal of BRX was to create a gorgeous, luxuriously finished, ultra-compact loudspeaker which would incorporate the latest advanced technology developed for GoldenEar’s flagship tower speakers. Read on to see what makes this compact speaker so special and at $699/ea, quite affordable.

GoldenEar Technology announced their new ultra-high-performance compact bookshelf/stand-mount loudspeaker, the BRX, at the 2019 CEDIA EXPO. Packed with their latest tech, see what makes it so special.

— September 22, 2019 02:00 in Bookshelf Speaker Reviews

Monoprice Monolith THX-365T Mini-Tower and THX-365C Center Speaker Review

Monoprice Monolith THX-365T Mini-Tower and THX-365C Center Speaker Review

Monoprice was one of the first to bring highly affordable THX subwoofers to market, and now they continue that trend by introducing highly affordable THX speakers. The Monolith THX-365T and 365C speakers are some of the most inexpensive THX-Ultra certified home audio speakers to ever have been produced. This raises the question: how is Monoprice able to make THX-Ultra caliber speakers affordable? Read our full review to find out.

The Monolith THX-365T and 365C are some of the most inexpensive THX-Ultra certified home audio speakers to ever have been produced. How do they perform? Read on to find out.

— August 30, 2019 01:00 in Bookshelf Speaker Reviews

Revel Performa M126Be Bookshelf Speaker Review

Revel Performa M126Be Bookshelf Speaker Review

Revel had a good loudspeaker platform in the Performa3 line. In fact, the basic design was so good that Revel decided to see what would happen when that design was upgraded to its full performance capabilities by using some of the highest-end components available such as air-core inductors, polyfilm capacitors, anodized aluminum woofers, and even a Beryllium tweeter. Read our detailed review of the Performa M126Be hot rod bookshelf speakers to see how much these premium components added to an already solidly engineered design.

Check out our review of Revel's Performa M126Be. With air-core inductors, polyfilm capacitors, anodized aluminum woofers, and even a Beryllium tweeter this is the little speaker that could!

— August 16, 2019 14:00 in Bookshelf Speaker Reviews

Philharmonic Audio BMR Philharmonitor Bookshelf Speaker Review

Philharmonic Audio BMR Philharmonitor Bookshelf Speaker Review

There is a lot of online buzz about Philharmonic Audio's BMR Philharmonitors, so we decided to get a review pair to see what they were all about. These large bookshelf speakers use a 3-way design with a very special driver outlay that has audio enthusiasts excited about the potential performance advantages that it could offer, especially for the price. In our in-depth review, we ask the question, do these speakers live up to the hype surrounding them? Read on to find out what we have uncovered.

Philharmonic Audio's BMR Philharmonitors use a 3-way design with a very special driver outlay that has audio enthusiasts excited about the potential performance advantages that it could offer Read on.

— January 23, 2019 00:00 in Bookshelf Speaker Reviews

RSL Raises the Bar with CG5 and CG25 Audiophile Bookshelf Speakers

RSL Raises the Bar with CG5 and CG25 Audiophile Bookshelf Speakers

RSL recently announced the CG5 Bookshelf Speaker and CG25 Monitor / Center Channel Speaker which pushes RSL Speaker’s products into higher price points and higher levels of performance. The $400 and $500 each price points don't have buyers shying away as they are completely sold out for December. Find out why in our preview of RSL's newest products and see what performance upgrades you get over their popular CG3 line.

RSL recently announced the CG5 Bookshelf and CG25 Monitor/Center Channel Speaker which pushes their products into higher price points and higher levels of performance. See what you get over the CG3s.

— December 21, 2018 00:10 in Bookshelf Speaker Reviews

Outlaw Audio BLSv2 Bookshelf and LCRv2 Loudspeaker Review

Outlaw Audio BLSv2 Bookshelf and LCRv2 Loudspeaker Review

10 years ago, Outlaw Audio released a hit product with their acclaimed BLS and LCR loudspeakers, but the availability of those products was short-lived after their manufacturing source shut down. Outlaw Audio shelved plans to continue production elsewhere, since no other manufacturer could meet their criteria for quality control at the time. However, things have changed, and Outlaw Audio decided to bring these speakers back to market after locating a good manufacturing source. Did they improve the original design while greatly reducing the original cost? Read our full review to find out...

Outlaw Audio is reintroducing it acclaimed BLS and LCR loudspeakers to the audio industry. Dubbed the v2, did Outlaw Audio improve the original design while reducing the cost? Read on to find out.

— October 16, 2018 11:00 in Bookshelf Speaker Reviews

RBH Sound R-5 Bookshelf and R-515 LCR Speaker Review

RBH Sound R-5 Bookshelf and R-515 LCR Speaker Review

RBH Sound has overhauled their acclaimed "Impression" speaker series, and Audioholics has managed to get their R-5 and R-515 speakers in for review. These affordable speakers keep the same great looks as the previous Impression speakers but add better build quality and enhanced performance. We explore the latest improvements RBH has made to this series though exhaustive measurements and listening tests. Read on to see if the RBH R-5 bookshelf and R-515 LCR speakers should have a place in your sound system.

RBH Sound has overhauled their acclaimed "Impression" series, and we managed to get their R-5 bookshelf and R-515 LCR speakers in for review. See the performance enhancements they now offer.

— August 07, 2018 00:00 in Bookshelf Speaker Reviews

6 Best Bookshelf Speakers for Under $100/Pair

6 Best Bookshelf Speakers for Under $100/Pair

Audioholics has recently completed a string of reviews of ultra-affordable bookshelf speakers from Monoprice, Dayton Audio and Polk that we thought could possibly punch above their price points. These speakers are priced in the $45 to $100 per pair range and bear some signs that the engineers who created them were really trying to get good sound out of modest components. In this article, we summarize our findings and discuss the advantages that each design brings to the table.

Looking for a pair of bookshelf speakers in the $45 - $100 range with sound quality good enough for an audioholic on a budget? Check out our roundup of 6 budget speakers to see how they compared.

— July 23, 2018 00:00 in Bookshelf Speaker Reviews

Dayton Audio B452-AIR Bookshelf and C452-AIR Center Speaker Review

Dayton Audio B452-AIR Bookshelf and C452-AIR Center Speaker Review

Would you believe that you can get a reasonably good sound from a $45 pair of bookshelf speakers? What's more, would you believe that speakers of this cost actually use sophisticated AMT tweeters? In this review, we look at the least expensive speakers that Audioholics has ever covered, the Dayton Audio B452-AIR bookshelf and C452-AIR center. Read our review to see why you don't need to spend thousands of dollars or even hundreds of dollars to get a better sound.

Dayton Audio just shattered the price barrier with their B452-Air speakers armed with an AMT tweeter for only $45/pair. Read our review to see how they performed.

— July 16, 2018 14:00 in Bookshelf Speaker Reviews

Polk T15 Bookshelf Speaker Review

Polk T15 Bookshelf Speaker Review

In this review, we look at the Polk T15 bookshelf speakers, which are among the more affordable choices out there at $100 per pair ($69/pr on sale right now). Loudspeaker manufacturing giant Polk Audio has the resources to engineer a good sounding low-cost speaker, but the question is what approach would they take? Polk pulls out a few tricks to optimize this speaker for the conditions that a low-cost bookshelf speaker will likely be used in, which are typically not the perfect placement and setting that hi-fi speakers usually require for great sound. Read our review to see what Polk has done to make the T15 bookshelf speakers produce audiophile sound in imperfect circumstances.

Looking for a super affordable pair of bookshelf speakers? Look no further than Polk Audio's T15. Polk Audio had to make some creative choices to keep them under $100/pr. Read on to find out how.

— June 29, 2018 00:00 in Bookshelf Speaker Reviews

Monoprice MP-65RT Bookshelf Speaker Review

Monoprice MP-65RT Bookshelf Speaker Review

How low in price can a full-size bookshelf speaker go yet still sound good? Monoprice tries to answer that question with the MP-65RT, which, at an impossible $50 per pair price point ($40 on sale), has to be the least expensive speaker in history to sport a ribbon tweeter. However, the inclusion of a ribbon tweeter in such an inexpensive speaker doesn't mean the rest of the speaker isn't good. Read our review of the MP-65RT Ribbon Bookshelf speaker to find out how Monoprice managed to make it all work at such a low cost.

At under $50/pr, the Monoprice MP-65RT bookshelf has to be the least expensive speaker in history to sport a ribbon tweeter. Read our review with measurements to see what you get at this price.

— June 17, 2018 13:00 in Bookshelf Speaker Reviews

Dayton Audio MK402 Bookshelf and MK442 Center Speaker Review

Dayton Audio MK402 Bookshelf and MK442 Center Speaker Review

With the recently released MK402 bookshelf speaker, Dayton Audio answers the challenge for a small bookshelf speaker that has significant bass extension and is also very inexpensive. The MK402, along with its corresponding MK442 center speaker, manages this engineering feat, but what else can these little over-achievers do? The answers to that question surprised us but you will have read our review of these budget wonders to find out.

Dayton Audio answered the challenge of creating a good bookshelf speaker with their MK402 and MK442 center channel to have significant bass extension and value for an audiophile on a budget.

— May 25, 2018 00:00 in Bookshelf Speaker Reviews

Wilson Audio TuneTot Bookshelf Speaker Small Size, BIG Price

Wilson Audio TuneTot Bookshelf Speaker Small Size, BIG Price

Wilson Audio’s new TuneTot monitor 2-way speaker features high-performance drivers in a compact cabinet to boldly go where no Wilson has gone before. From the bookshelf to the desktop, Wilson’s go-anywhere speaker is said to break the audiophile rules to work in the most hostile acoustical environments. But, does it also break the bank or is it a viable product in an already saturated category?

Wilson Audio’s new TuneTot monitor 2-way speaker features high-performance drivers in a compact cabinet to boldly go where no Wilson has gone before. But are they worth $10k/pair? Read on.

— May 18, 2018 20:00 in Bookshelf Speaker Reviews