“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter instagram pinterest
Latest AV Stories
How to Install a Home Theater Projector and Screen from Start to Finish

Everything you need to know about mounting a projector and screen, from placement to mounting to fine tuning the picture! This guide will help

How to Install a Home Theater Projector and Screen from Start to Finish
Stewart Filmscreen FireHawk G4 Projector Screen Review

Click through to read our full review and see what we think about Stewart's latest ambient light rejecting screen, the FireHawk G4, and how it

Stewart Filmscreen FireHawk G4 Projector Screen Review
Stewart Filmscreen Transformer Three Roller System Preview

The Stewart Filmscreens Transformer is a three roller system. The rear roller drops a black out screen. The middle drops the screen. The front

Stewart Filmscreen Transformer Three Roller System Preview

Recent Projector Screen Reviews

How to Install a Home Theater Projector and Screen from Start to Finish

How to Install a Home Theater Projector and Screen from Start to Finish

If you’ve never installed a projector or screen before, the process can be quite confusing. The general idea is simple, and you probably already have a good idea of where you want each piece to go, but the specifics are unclear. Which is mounted first, the screen or the projector? How far back should the projector be from the screen? How high should the screen be? How do you fine tune the projector’s position to fill the entire screen? This guide answers all of those questions, and hopefully any others you have about how to mount a projector and screen as well.

Everything you need to know about mounting a projector and screen, from placement to mounting to fine tuning the picture! This guide will help you install your home theater like a pro!

— February 10, 2014 10:40 in Projector Screen Reviews

Stewart Filmscreen FireHawk G4 Projector Screen Review

Stewart Filmscreen FireHawk G4 Projector Screen Review

The Achilles heel to two-piece front projection systems has always been light. Any light, at any angle, will wash out the picture. The solution to this problem is a projector screen specifically made to reject ambient light while maintaining deep blacks and rich colors. That’s exactly what the Stewart Filmscreen FireHawk G4 is made to do, and they have implemented a number of changes so the G4 does it better than the G3. Changes include a lower gain, completely opaque material, and increased off-axis viewing. Read on for our full review.

Click through to read our full review and see what we think about Stewart's latest ambient light rejecting screen, the FireHawk G4, and how it compares to the old Firehawk G3.

— January 06, 2014 15:00 in Projector Screen Reviews

Stewart Filmscreen Transformer Three Roller System Preview

Stewart Filmscreen Transformer Three Roller System Preview

Stewart Filmscreens has just put your every argument about having a front projection system to bed. Sorry, you no longer have a leg to stand on. Don't believe us? Take a look at the new Transformer offering from Stewart. The Transformer is a three roller system. The rear roller will drop a black out screen. The middle roller drops the screen. The front roller will drop side masking for resizing your screen for your content. Don't understand? The problem is the cost. Since this is a custom solution that is tailored for every room, they couldn't even give us an estimated cost.

The Stewart Filmscreens Transformer is a three roller system. The rear roller drops a black out screen. The middle drops the screen. The front roller drops side masking. Don't ask about the price.

— September 27, 2013 22:36 in Projector Screen Reviews

Elite Screens Quickstand Portable Projector Screen Review

Elite Screens Quickstand Portable Projector Screen Review

Superbowl parties have changed the way I entertain. Well, really, my job as a home theater reviewer changed the way I throw Superbowl parties. Or maybe I just like big screens and rowdy outdoor gatherings. In either case, this year saw the debut of the Elite Screens QuickStand Portable Screen. With this screen came the standard CineWhite screen material as well as the Wraith rear projection screen material we had spec'd to use for this year's game. I expected big screen entertainment. I expected ease of setup. I expected a product that was durable and which could handle many years of use in various venues and indoor/outdoor viewing opportunities. So, did I get what I expected?

This year saw the debut of the Elite Screens QuickStand Portable Screen with the Wraith rear projection material at our annual Superbowl party. For us, it redefined the outdoor viewing experience.

— April 19, 2013 06:05 in Projector Screen Reviews

Visual Apex ProjectoScreen120 Outdoor Projector Screen Review

Visual Apex ProjectoScreen120 Outdoor Projector Screen Review

Lately we’ve been hosting Audioholics presentations for our staff or local events. We needed a durable and portable projector screen and turned to Visual Apex for a solution. They suggested their Projectoscreen120. The Projectoscreen120 from Visual Apex is relatively easy to setup and offers excellent build quality and performance; all while being quite affordable. Next time you host an outdoor kids party and want some entertainment, why not spice things up with a monster sized projector screen, an outdoor sound system and a good movie or music concert? Heck you can even throw on some embarrassing and obscure vintage family pictures for all to see blown up on a big screen.

We review the Visual Apex (VAPEX) ProjectoScreen120 portable outdoor projector screen. This is one of the least expensive washable, portable screens available on the market and it's worth a look.

— March 17, 2013 17:05 in Projector Screen Reviews

Seymour AV Fixed Frame AT Screen with AT Masking Panels Review

Seymour AV Fixed Frame AT Screen with AT Masking Panels Review

When looking for a home theater screen, the general audioholic makes sure their precious sound quality is not diminished. Of course, there is a trade-off to be made if you are also a videoholic! Or is there? Incredible sound AND video can be had with the Center Stage Fixed Frame Acoustically Transparent (AT) Screen from Seymour AV. Gone are the days of ugly micro perf vinyl with its comb filtered sound, Swiss cheese look and image moiré. Seymour AV has broken the mold and introduced an affordable product that defies common logic and allows one or many speakers behind the beautiful display without affecting audio perception.

Incredible sound AND video can be had with the Center Stage Fixed Frame Acoustically Transparent (AT) Screen from Seymour AV. Gone are the days of ugly micro perf vinyl with its comb filtered sound.

— November 08, 2012 10:00 in Projector Screen Reviews

Screen Innovations Black Diamond Zero Edge G2 Preview

Screen Innovations Black Diamond Zero Edge G2 Preview

Is the Screen Innovations Black Diamond Zero Edge G2 projection screen cheap? At a base price of $3099, many would say "No". But comparing to the price of a flat panel of the same size, Screen Innovations says that their screen is actual cheaper per inch. We're not sure if that includes the projector but we're willing to bet it is true. The problem with front projection systems has traditionally been ambient light. With the Black Diamond Zero Edge G2 screen's ability to enhance the projector's contrast by over 900% while rejecting ambient light, this may be a thing of the past. With the look and feel of a flat panel TV, the Black Diamond Zero Edge G2 screen will leave your friends wondering how you got such a huge TV without mortgaging your home.

With the Screen Innovations Black Diamond Zero Edge G2 ability to enhance the projector's contrast by over 900% while rejecting ambient light, ambient light worries may be a thing of the past.

— October 05, 2012 11:20 in Projector Screen Reviews

Elite Screens CineTension2 106" Electric Projector Screen Review

Elite Screens CineTension2 106" Electric Projector Screen Review

Elite Screens has produced an almost innumerable variety of screens. In that way they have something for nearly any application you can imagine. But what's really amazing is that they typically price their products at a considerably higher value than some of the other major custom-installer-centric manufacturers. The CineTension2 Series is one of their more user-friendly models, appealing to both the professional user and the enthusiast. It's, as the name implies, a tab tensioned screen. That is to say that it has a tensioning system that pulls rigidly along the loops that come out from the sides of the 2" black surround material of the screen. This keeps the screen from curling up along the edges as well as from waving in the middle and makes for an extremely flat (and thus more enjoyable) viewing experience. When you're wanting to lose yourself in the movie experience, and a motorized solution is required, tab-tensioned screens are where it's at.

Elite Screens has produced an almost innumerable variety of screens. The CineTension2 Series is one of their more user-friendly models, appealing to both the professional user and the enthusiast.

— January 31, 2012 05:30 in Projector Screen Reviews

VApex 100" Electric Projector Screen Review

VApex 100" Electric Projector Screen Review

It's hard to get excited about an electric projector screen... until you find one that's priced ridiculously low and includes features that should have it costing twice as much as it does. Then you begin to wonder if you've stumbled onto something... something big. Visual Apex' new VApex screens are something big. They are specially-branded "in-house" screens that the company is now offering to its customers. After all, shouldn't a company that has provided excellent customer service and sales support for years know exactly what makes a good projector screen? We figured they did but wanted to install one and go through the process to see if the quality of workmanship and attention to detail lived up to our expectations. Read on and you'll see that this screen might just change the way you think about build quality, ease-of-installation, attention to detail and optional accessories.

It's hard to get excited about an electric projector screen... until you find one like the VApex Electric 100" that's priced ridiculously low and includes features that are normally extra.

— December 12, 2011 04:05 in Projector Screen Reviews

VApex 120" Tensioned Electric Projector Screen Review

VApex 120" Tensioned Electric Projector Screen Review

We've long taken the stance that the biggest screen you can get for your hard-earned money is a front projection system. Where it gets dicey is when you factor in the cost of a decent quality screen. If you want a tab-tensioned model on top of that, you're looking at even more and the cost benefits become less and less obvious. Visual Apex' new VApex screens (Visual Apex = VApex, get it?) are moving towards eliminating everything we know about what a projector screen should cost. The VApex line comes in three lines: Fixed Frame, Standard Electric, and Tensioned Electric. For this review we checked out the Tensioned Electric in their largest size: 120" diagonal. To say we were "stunned" by what we got for the money would be an understatement.

Let's just come right out and say it: if you don't take at least a long, hard look at Visual Apex' new Vapex screens, you're potentially spending a lot more money for no good reason.

— November 09, 2011 11:00 in Projector Screen Reviews

Seymour-Screen Excellence Masking Panels for Fixed Frame Screens Preview

Seymour-Screen Excellence Masking Panels for Fixed Frame Screens Preview

We're very curious to see how this new masking system from Seymour-Screen Excellence works. We're sure the non-acoustically transparent option is perfect, it's the acoustically transparent ones that we'd like to see in action. While $450 might seem like a chunk of change, in comparison with every other masking system on the market, it is a huge steal. If we were on the market for a fixed-frame front projection screen, we know we'd look closely at what sort of system Seymour-Screen Excellence could put together that included the masking panels. For the price of other masking systems alone, you could probably get a full screen and the Seymour-Screen Excellence masking system.

The Seymour-Screen Excellence fixed frame masking system for their projection screens retails for up to 80% off the cost of the other masking solutions on the market. Plus it works with your speakers.

— October 08, 2011 03:45 in Projector Screen Reviews

Screen Innovations Black Diamond Zero Edge Screen Preview

Screen Innovations Black Diamond Zero Edge Screen Preview

The Black Diamond Zero Edge Screen takes Screen Innovations' Black Diamond technology (which allows you to watch HD images in full ambient lighting) and alters the form factor for a whole new, contemporary look. The Zero Edge has only a quarter-inch (1/4") bezel around the circumference of the Black Diamond surface. A typical screen has anywhere from 2" to 4" of felt or border. The thing is, if you have an installation where you can dial in the mounting position just right, you really don't need much bezel to compensate for any potential keystoning or misalignment. This screen really produces the look of a super thin-bezel television that is just floating off the wall. Seeing it live at CEDIA, it's hard to not think it's rear projection or simply a DLP television embedded in a hidden drywall alcove.

The Black Diamond Edge Screen takes Screen Innovations' Black Diamond technology (which allows you to watch HD images in full ambient lighting) and alters the form factor for a whole new look.

— September 14, 2011 10:29 in Projector Screen Reviews

Vutec SilverStar 3D-P Curved Projection Screen Preview

Vutec SilverStar 3D-P Curved Projection Screen Preview

It's obvious that 3D technology is making a big splash in home theater - although not as fast as some manufacturers would like. This is likely due to the dearth of content available on Blu-ray and television. One thing is for certain, however, technology and manufacturers are not to blame - at least not with respect to their willingness to release products equipped to handle the new formats. Vutec introduced its newest 2D/3D-compatible product with the passive Silverstar 3D-P projection screen. This is a beautiful 2.35:1 curved screen engineered and developed specifically for HD, 2D and 3D content. The screen is a high-contrast model with ultra high gain and, more impressively, a curved wide viewing surface up to 181" diagonal (measured in 2:35:1 aspect ratio).

Vutec introduced its newest 2D/3D-compatible product with the passive Silverstar 3D-P projection screen. This is a beautiful 2.35:1 curved screen engineered and developed specifically for HD, 2D & 3D.

— September 07, 2011 21:10 in Projector Screen Reviews

Screen Innovations Reference Motorized G3 Screen First Look

Screen Innovations Reference Motorized G3 Screen First Look

The new Screen Innovations Reference G3 screens are precision-cut on computerized fabric tables, are tab tensioned, and are due out in May. We like that they've made the pricing, whatever it is, the same for all the different mounting types and it seems like they've got a good number of options available. Out of the box, you've got a lot of control options and they have a ton of screen materials available. Being able to customize the screen type is also a plus for those with non-standard throw distances. If you are on the market for a screen, the Screen Innovations Reference Motorized G3 Screens are definitely worth putting into your comparison matrix.

The new Screen Innovations Reference G3 screens are precision-cut on computerized fabric tables, are tab tensioned, and are due out in May.

— March 29, 2011 01:35 in Projector Screen Reviews