“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter Google Plus instagram pinterest
Latest AV Stories
Marantz SR8012 11.2CH Atmos/DTS:X/Auro 3D AV Receiver

We reviewed the Marantz SR8012 11.2CH streaming AV receiver which decodes EVERY immersive surround format, supports the latest in 4K UHD

Marantz SR8012 11.2CH Atmos/DTS:X/Auro 3D AV Receiver
The Dolby Dimension Headphones: A Personal Home Theater On Your Ears

Dolby’s first ever consumer electronics product is the Dimension wireless headphone which the company has designed specifically for home

The Dolby Dimension Headphones: A Personal Home Theater On Your Ears
RBH Sound SI-615 In-Ceiling Atmos Speakers Review

The RBH Sound SI-615 Signature Series in-ceiling speakers with backboxes proved to be a transformative sonic experience while updating my

RBH Sound SI-615 In-Ceiling Atmos Speakers Review

A/V Product Reviews

Audioholics writes some of the industry's most thorough AV product reviews. Our reviews stand apart from the competition in that we do comprehensive objective measurements and analysis including taking the products apart to describe their operation from soup to nuts. Get the real skinny on how AV receivers, amplifiers and loudspeakers perform from our unbiased reviews.

Marantz SR8012 11.2CH Atmos/DTS:X/Auro 3D AV Receiver

Marantz SR8012 11.2CH Atmos/DTS:X/Auro 3D AV Receiver

The Marantz SR8012 11.2CH AV receiver decodes EVERY immersive surround format, supports the latest in 4K UHD resolution, streams music till your heart's content and is one of the first products on the market to support IMAX Enhanced features. But what makes us even more excited about this receiver is the meaty amp section that's pays homage to the AV super receiver of yesteryear. Check out our editorial and YouTube reviews with full bench test results to see if this is the best AV receiver you can get for $3k.

We reviewed the Marantz SR8012 11.2CH streaming AV receiver which decodes EVERY immersive surround format, supports the latest in 4K UHD resolution and has a meaty amp section confirmed in our bench tests.

— March 18, 2019 00:00 in AV Receiver Reviews

The Dolby Dimension Headphones: A Personal Home Theater On Your Ears

The Dolby Dimension Headphones: A Personal Home Theater On Your Ears

Dolby’s first ever consumer electronics product is the Dimension wireless headphone which the company has designed specifically for home entertainment. This $599 over-ear bluetooth headphone is packed with advanced DSP, head-tracking technology, and other unusual features that set it apart from other headphones. Will Dolby’s unique take on personal home entertainment make the Dimension headphones a success, or is the price too high for mainstream buyers? Read on to learn more.

Dolby’s first ever consumer electronics product is the Dimension wireless headphone which the company has designed specifically for home entertainment. At $599 is it more buck than bang? Read on.

Jacob Green — March 14, 2019 20:00 in Headphone Reviews

RBH Sound SI-615 In-Ceiling Atmos Speakers Review

RBH Sound SI-615 In-Ceiling Atmos Speakers Review

I recently undated the Audioholics Showcase Home to 7.5.4 Immersive Surround sound and needed two pairs of discrete in-ceiling speakers to serve as the height channels (we don't do bouncy house at Audioholics). RBH Sound's new SI-615 Signature series with BC-6R insulated backcans are the best match for their upscale Signature reference series box speakers so they were the natural choice. Read about how their addition was a transformative sonic experience to my system.

The RBH Sound SI-615 Signature Series in-ceiling speakers with backboxes proved to be a transformative sonic experience while updating my reference system to 7.5.4 immersive surround sound.

— March 12, 2019 23:00 in In-Wall & Outdoor Speaker Reviews

Monoprice Monolith Sealed Subwoofer Line Preview

Monoprice Monolith Sealed Subwoofer Line Preview

At CES this year, Monoprice launched a line of sealed subwoofers which furthers their goal to be a one-stop destination for anything that is needed for any high-end home audio application. Their new subwoofers are sealed variants of their popular wave-making THX subwoofers, so users can expect similar high-performance but in a smaller package. Read our preview of Monoprice Monolith sealed subwoofers to see what advantages they can bring to your sound system.

At CES this year, Monoprice launched a line of sealed subwoofers which are variants of their popular wave-making THX subwoofers, so users can expect similar high-performance at affordable prices.

James Larson — February 28, 2019 08:00 in Subwoofer Reviews

The TiVo Bolt OTA Takes The Pain Out Of Cord-Cutting

The TiVo Bolt OTA Takes The Pain Out Of Cord-Cutting

The TiVo Bolt OTA is a DVR designed to record over-the-air broadcasts, making it easier to ditch cable. Streaming services like Netflix, Amazon Prime Video, and Hulu leave some cord-cutters missing local news and sports, as well as CBS programming. With an HD antenna and the TiVO Bolt OTA, cord-cutting doesn’t have to be a compromise. Read on to learn more.

The TiVo Bolt OTA (Over the Air) is a DVR designed to record over-the-air broadcasts. Does it have the features you need to ditch cable? Read on to find out.

Jacob Green — February 25, 2019 22:00 in AV Gadget Reviews

PSB Speakers Revamp of Alpha Series Best Yet?

PSB Speakers Revamp of Alpha Series Best Yet?

PSB Speakers launched an all-new range of their Alpha series of speakers at the 2019 CES show last January. Like their predecessors, the newest iteration of the Alpha line deliver a remarkable value to performance ratio. The new lineup will consist of four models in all: 2 compact monitors P3 and P5, a center channel C10, and a tower model T20. To see what we think of PSB's new Alphas read on.

PSB Speakers launched an all-new range of their Alpha series: 2 compact bookshelf (P3, P5), 1 center (C10) and 1 tower (T20) all with upgrades from predecessor models to make a good thing even better.

— February 21, 2019 22:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

AKG’s Flagship N5005 In-Ear Monitor Lets You Customize Its Sound

AKG’s Flagship N5005 In-Ear Monitor Lets You Customize Its Sound

The new AKG N5005 in-ear monitor features four interchangeable sound filters that let the user tweak the headphone’s frequency response. This five-way hybrid design employs a single dynamic driver and four balanced armature drivers per side. The removable cables can be swapped out for the included bluetooth dongle for hands-free, wireless listening and phone calls. Will this $1,000 flagship compete with the even pricier designs from JH Audio, 64 Audio, Audeze, and Shure?

The new AKG N5005 in-ear monitor features a five-way hybrid design employs a single dynamic driver and four balanced armature drivers per side. Is it worth the $1,000 price tag? Read on to find out.

Jacob Green — February 15, 2019 00:00 in Headphone Reviews

Definitive Technology BP9080x, BP9060, CS9060 Dolby Atmos Speakers Review

Definitive Technology BP9080x, BP9060, CS9060 Dolby Atmos Speakers Review

High end audio stalwart Definitive Technology is back with a Dolby Atmos system that will make even the most demanding home theater enthusiast salivate. This 5.0.4 Dolby Atmos setup is perfect for spaces that can't fit dedicated subwoofers or discrete height speakers but still want the full slam that you'd expect from a premium home theater setup. Our review explores the full capabilities of this Atmos speaker system to determine if it has all you need to achieve a fully immersive experience.

Definitive Technology's 5.0.4 system is perfect for installations that can't fit dedicated subwoofers or in-ceiling height speakers yet demand an immersive audio setup with stand-alone sub performance.

— February 05, 2019 22:00 in Surround Sound Reviews

McIntosh XRT1.1K ‘Mini-Flagship’ Loudspeaker Overview

McIntosh XRT1.1K ‘Mini-Flagship’ Loudspeaker Overview

McIntosh’s 7-foot-tall XRT2.1K loudspeaker now has a smaller sibling in the XRT1.1K. Designed to deliver flagship tech in a less imposing package, the XRT1.1K still stands nearly 6 feet tall and contains 70 drivers, but should be at home in a wider range of listening environments. McIntosh says its line array design provides superb imaging from any seat in the house. Read on to learn more.

McIntosh’s 7' tall XRT2.1K loudspeaker now has a smaller sibling in the 6' XRT1.1K. Designed to deliver flagship tech in a less imposing package. Are they worth the $60,000/pr price tag? Read on.

Jacob Green — February 03, 2019 20:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

KEF LSX Wireless Speaker Aims for LS50 Performance at 1/2 the Price

KEF LSX Wireless Speaker Aims for LS50 Performance at 1/2 the Price

With the new LSX wireless speakers, KEF seeks to repeat the success the company had with the LS50 Wireless. Smaller and more stylish, the LSX delivers a scaled-down LS50 experience for half the price. A proprietary wireless inter-speaker connection offers placement flexibility while enabling the wire-free installation that customers have come to expect from Sonos and similar home audio products. Read on to learn more.

KEF released a smaller and more stylish wireless speaker the LSX. The LSX is a scaled-down LS50 for half the price. Is it still worth the $1,100/pr price tag? Read on to find out.

Jacob Green — January 30, 2019 00:00 in Wireless & Computer Speaker Reviews

Philharmonic Audio BMR Philharmonitor Bookshelf Speaker Review

Philharmonic Audio BMR Philharmonitor Bookshelf Speaker Review

There is a lot of online buzz about Philharmonic Audio's BMR Philharmonitors, so we decided to get a review pair to see what they were all about. These large bookshelf speakers use a 3-way design with a very special driver outlay that has audio enthusiasts excited about the potential performance advantages that it could offer, especially for the price. In our in-depth review, we ask the question, do these speakers live up to the hype surrounding them? Read on to find out what we have uncovered.

Philharmonic Audio's BMR Philharmonitors use a 3-way design with a very special driver outlay that has audio enthusiasts excited about the potential performance advantages that it could offer Read on.

James Larson — January 23, 2019 00:00 in Bookshelf Speaker Reviews

REL’s New ‘Serie HT’ Subwoofers Deliver High-Value Home Theater Thrills

REL’s New ‘Serie HT’ Subwoofers Deliver High-Value Home Theater Thrills

The new “Serie HT” home theater subwoofers from REL promise to shake your foundation walls while shaking up the competition. The revered British brand has a loyal following among audiophiles, but these new subs are the first from the company to target home theater shoppers with limited budgets. Will REL become the go-to brand for affordable home theater subwoofers?

The new “Serie HT” subwoofers from REL promise to shake your foundation walls while shaking up the competition. Will REL become the go-to brand for affordable home theater subwoofers? Read on.

Jacob Green — January 21, 2019 00:00 in Subwoofer Reviews

Amazon’s Fire TV Cube Lets Alexa Control Your Home Entertainment System

Amazon’s Fire TV Cube Lets Alexa Control Your Home Entertainment System

The Amazon Fire TV Cube is an all-in-one media streamer and voice-activated smart speaker. The new $120 device allows the user to control TVs, AV receivers, sound bars, and even cable boxes using voice commands. Can we finally ditch our remote controls and let Alexa handle all of our entertainment needs? Read on to find out.

The Amazon Fire TV Cube is an all-in-one media streamer and voice-activated smart speaker. Can we finally ditch our remote controls and let Alexa handle all of our entertainment needs? Read on.

Jacob Green — January 20, 2019 00:00 in AV Gadget Reviews

Paradigm Defiance X12 and V12 Subwoofers Review

Paradigm Defiance X12 and V12 Subwoofers Review

Some other speaker manufacturers look at subwoofers as "accessory" products, high in price, but low on precision and design. Paradigm though has always given us high performance subs at reasonable price points. Will they continue this tradition with their affordable V12 and heavy hitting X12? Read on to find out what our detailed product review and precision measurements had to say and be sure to also check out our YouTube video overview of the Defiance series of subwoofers.

We reviewed and compared the new V12 and X12 Defiance 12" powered subwoofers from Paradigm. Do they have what it takes to live up to the brands reputation of excellence? Read on to find out.

James Larson — January 11, 2019 23:00 in Subwoofer Reviews