“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter instagram pinterest
Latest AV Stories
New NAD Masters Series Employ Revolutionary Class D Amplifier Technology

NAD launched two Masters Series amps, the M33 and M28 both priced at $4,999. Both amps offer performance that sets a new benchmark for low noise

New NAD Masters Series Employ Revolutionary Class D Amplifier Technology
Marantz SR8015 11CH 8K DTS:X Pro Review: Best AV Receiver for 2020?

The Marantz SR8015 11.2CH Atmos/DTS:X Pro HDMI 2.1 AV receiver is built on a very solid platform with benchmark measured performance. Is this

Marantz SR8015 11CH 8K DTS:X Pro Review: Best AV Receiver for 2020?
Denon Unleashes AVR-A110 110th Anniversary 13CH Audiophile Dream Receiver

Denon's 110th anniversary flagship 13.2CH AV receiver, the AVR-A110 is built off the critically acclaimed AVR-8500H. The A110 has some "extras"

Denon Unleashes AVR-A110 110th Anniversary 13CH Audiophile Dream Receiver

A/V Product Reviews

Audioholics writes some of the industry's most thorough AV product reviews. Our reviews stand apart from the competition in that we do comprehensive objective measurements and analysis including taking the products apart to describe their operation from soup to nuts. Get the real skinny on how AV receivers, amplifiers and loudspeakers perform from our unbiased reviews.

New NAD Masters Series Employ Revolutionary Class D Amplifier Technology

New NAD Masters Series Employ Revolutionary Class D Amplifier Technology

NAD launched its first two products using the new “Eigentakt” (self-clocking) switching amplifier from the Danish company Purifi. Designed by Class D amplification guru Bruno Putzeys, the Eigentakt circuit is at the heart of NAD’s new Masters Series M33 stereo integrated streaming amp ($4,999) and M28 seven-channel power amp (also $4,999). Both amps offer measured performance that sets a new benchmark for low noise and distortion. Read on to learn more.

NAD launched two Masters Series amps, the M33 and M28 both priced at $4,999. Both amps offer performance that sets a new benchmark for low noise and distortion thanks to a revolutionary Class D design.

— September 18, 2020 04:00 in Audio Amplifier Reviews

Marantz SR8015 11CH 8K DTS:X Pro Review: Best AV Receiver for 2020?

Marantz SR8015 11CH 8K DTS:X Pro Review: Best AV Receiver for 2020?

The Marantz SR8015 is king of the hill as far as 11CH AV receivers go. This 11.2CH Atmos/DTS:X Pro HDMI 2.1 AV receiver is built on a very solid platform with benchmark measured performance while offering new features including preamp mode, DTS:X Pro, HDMI 2.1 with 8K support, 13CH of processing, dual speaker presets, eARC for high resolution audio streaming and so much more. Best of all, the SR8015 is a wonderful sounding, high performance one box separates-like solution that will satiate the audiophile, home theater enthusiast and gamer alike. Best AV receiver for 2020? Read on to find out.

The Marantz SR8015 11.2CH Atmos/DTS:X Pro HDMI 2.1 AV receiver is built on a very solid platform with benchmark measured performance. Is this the best AVR for 2020? Read our review to find out.

— September 15, 2020 01:30 in AV Receiver Reviews

Denon Unleashes AVR-A110 110th Anniversary 13CH Audiophile Dream Receiver

Denon Unleashes AVR-A110 110th Anniversary 13CH Audiophile Dream Receiver

"Balls to the wall!" That's how Audioholics President Gene DellaSala describes Denon's 110 year anniversary edition 13.2 Channel 8K AVR-A110. Although built on their AVR-X8500 platform, the A110 costs $1,500 more than its predecessor. What do you get for the money? Read our preview with details on the A110 that you won't see on any other home theater enthusiast site.

Denon's 110th anniversary flagship 13.2CH AV receiver, the AVR-A110 is built off the critically acclaimed AVR-8500H. The A110 has some "extras" that increase its price by $1,500. Find out what you get.

— September 10, 2020 10:00 in AV Receiver Reviews

PreSonus Eris E8 XT Active Studio Monitors Review

PreSonus Eris E8 XT Active Studio Monitors Review

Those in the content-creation side of audio know PreSonus as a major manufacturer of a host of pro-audio products including their popular 'Eris' line of studio monitors. The Eris E8 XT powered monitors are some of the beefier speakers among PreSonus' array of monitor offerings; they have an 8" fiber-woven woofer, a waveguide-loaded 1.25" dome tweeter, and 140 watts of onboard amplification. That is a lot of muscle, but monitors, above all, must be accurate, so how do the Eris E8 XT monitors fare in this regard? Read our in-depth review to find out!

The PreSonus Eris E8 XT monitors are beefy speakers that sport an 8" fiber-woven woofer, a waveguide-loaded 1.25" dome tweeter, and 140 watts of onboard amplification. How do they sound? Read on.

— September 07, 2020 08:00 in Bookshelf Speaker Reviews

AMD Fuels Nightmares of Intel & Nvidia

AMD Fuels Nightmares of Intel & Nvidia

For most of us 2020 hasn't been such a great year, not so for Advanced Micro Devices (AMD). From thread-ripping CPUs to the Big Navi GPU hype-train, 2020 has been a pivotal year in one of the greatest turnarounds in tech-industry history. While AMD is unlikely to "kill" competitors Intel and Nvidia, its comeback is giving them good reason to worry, and that's good for us consumers.

From thread-ripping Ryzen CPUs to the Big Navi GPU hype-train, this year everything’s coming up AMD, and its resurgence is giving competitors Intel and Nvidia good reason to worry.

— September 04, 2020 07:00 in AV Gadget Reviews

Marantz 30 Series Integrated Amp & Network SACD Audio Streamer Tantalizes Audiophiles

Marantz 30 Series Integrated Amp & Network SACD Audio Streamer Tantalizes Audiophiles

On the heels of what we consider to be the best measured receiver in the last decade with their SR8015, Marantz has now released information on their new MODEL 30 Integrated Amplifier and SACD 30n Network Audio Streamer and SACD Player. The new products from Marantz embrace elements of classic Marantz design and combine a modern approach to construction and materials. To see what we thought of them, read on.

After three years of research and devolopment, Marantz has released information on their new MODEL 30 Integrated Amplifier and SACD 30n Network Audio Streamer and SACD Player. Read on.

— September 01, 2020 07:00 in Audio Amplifier Reviews

Legacy Signature SE Floorstanding Speaker Review

Legacy Signature SE Floorstanding Speaker Review

As a follow-up to our extremely popular recent article, An Audiophile’s Realization: My Last New Speakers, the least we can do is take a close look at the object of that article, the Legacy Audio Signature SE floorstanding speaker. Will this story have a happy ending? Will the audiophile ride off into the sunset with a smile on his face? Read our review of the 4-way Legacy Signature SE Towers to find out.

Will the 4-way Legacy Audio Signature SE floorstanding speakers allow me to achieve my audiophile realization of my last new speakers? Read our review to find out.

Steve Feintein — August 20, 2020 22:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Peter Jackson’s Beatles Documentary Delayed Until August 2021

Peter Jackson’s Beatles Documentary Delayed Until August 2021

Originally slated for release in September of this year, Peter Jackson’s documentary entitled The Beatles: Get Back will now hit theaters in August of 2021. Distributed by Walt Disney Studios, the new film features brilliantly restored footage and never-before-released recordings of the Beatles during the 1969 creation of the album Let It Be. The documentary also challenges the popular notion that conflict among the group’s members had the band on the verge of collapse during this pivotal moment in their history. Read on to learn more.

Peter Jackson’s documentary entitled The Beatles: Get Back will hit theaters in August 2021. The new film features brilliantly restored footage and never-before-seen recordings of the Beatles in 1969.

— August 13, 2020 01:00 in DVD-A, SACD and CD Music Reviews

JTR Captivator RS1 18" Sealed Subwoofer Review

JTR Captivator RS1 18" Sealed Subwoofer Review

The JTR Captivator RS1 subwoofer is the type of product that pushed the boundaries of the question of how performance can be had from a reasonably sized cabinet? With a 2,400 watt amplifier and an 18" driver with 4" of peak-to-peak excursion, the RS1 stuffs a lot of performance potential into a relatively small box. In our review, we examine not just the loudness of the RS1 but also the fidelity. Take a look to learn about one of the most powerful subs that we have reviewed in recent years and see how it fared in our bassaholic testing.

How much performance can be had from a reasonably sized cabinet? With a 2,400 watt amplifier and an 18" driver with 4" of peak-to-peak excursion, the RS1 Captivator from JTR gives a lot! Read on.

— August 09, 2020 12:00 in Subwoofer Reviews

Dynaudio Introduces Revamped Contour i Series For 2020

Dynaudio Introduces Revamped Contour i Series For 2020

Dynaudio has totally overhauled its popular Contour series loudspeakers with new internals. All four speakers in the new Contour i series employ a new tweeter design and updated woofers and crossovers. The flagship Contour 60i floor-standers ($10,750/pair) are almost entirely new from the ground up. And it doesn’t hurt that they sport gorgeous new finishes. Read on to learn more.

Dynaudio has totally overhauled its popular Contour series loudspeakers with new internals. All speakers in the new Contour i series employ a new tweeter design and updated woofers and crossovers.

— August 04, 2020 00:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

IPORT Home LUXE WallStation iPad Mount Review

IPORT Home LUXE WallStation iPad Mount Review

What happens when you move into your new smart home complete with Crestron and Sonos and the only way to get a reasonable musical soundtrack in the kitchen or dining room was to use a phone or an iPad? How about an IPORT LUXE WallStation ($375) and an IPORT LUXE Case ($270), all in white and designed to wall-mount an iPad Mini for use with the Sonos app, as well as the much more complicated and professionally programmed Crestron application. Read on.

Don't want to bring your phone to the table while eating dinner to control all your smart home features? Check out the IPORT LUXE WallStation and IPORT LUXE Case to simplify your automation.

Jerry Del Colliano — July 31, 2020 22:00 in AV Gadget Reviews

Kali Audio LP-8 Powered Monitor Loudspeaker Review

Kali Audio LP-8 Powered Monitor Loudspeaker Review

Can you use pro-audio equipment for home audio applications? We ask that question in our review of the Kali Audio LP-8, a studio monitor. If the purpose of a loudspeaker is to reproduce accurate sound, the resultant sound of a studio monitor shouldn't differ from a home audio speaker. With this in mind, let's see how the LP-8 fares for recreational listening rather than monitoring. Should you consider them for your stereo or home theater system, or should they stay in the studio? Read our in-depth review of the Kali Audio LP-8s to find out.

We reviewed the Kali Audio LP-8 powered studio monitor loudspeakers to determine if pro-audio equipment can be used with excellence in home audio applications.

— July 29, 2020 04:00 in Bookshelf Speaker Reviews

Wharfedale Delivers New Flagship Elysian Speaker Range

Wharfedale Delivers New Flagship Elysian Speaker Range

Developed alongside the less expensive EVO4 range, Wharfedale’s new flagship Elysian range is now the brand’s top offering. The Elysian 2 stand-mount speaker ($7,000/pair) and the Elysian 4 floor-standers ($10,000/pair) combine an Air Motion Transformer tweeter with custom-designed midrange and bass drivers. Wharfedale claims that these beauties “push the boundaries of capability and performance from a speaker at this price-point.” Read on to learn more about these speakers that were 3 years in the making.

Wharfedale’s new flagship Elysian range is now the brand’s top offering. The Elysian 2 stand-mount speaker comes in at $7,000/pair and the Elysian 4 floor-standers at 10,000/pair. Read on.

— July 21, 2020 13:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Definitive Technology Demand D15 Tower Speaker Review

Definitive Technology Demand D15 Tower Speaker Review

More than two years after Definitive Technology launched their Demand series bookshelf speakers, they have expanded the line to include some tower speakers. However, the Demand tower speakers look to be a lot more than simply larger versions of the bookshelf speakers. They show a significant design departure from past Definitive Technology floor-standing speakers, and that has us interested in this new direction. In our review of Definitive Technology's new Demand D15 floor-standing speaker, we will look at why Definitive Technology has changed their direction in loudspeaker design and see what advantages this new direction holds.

Definitive Technology Demand D15 Tower Speaker are beautifully crafted and sound terrific. But, how do they compare to the similarly priced BP-9000 in their product line? Read our review to find out.

— July 13, 2020 07:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews