“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter instagram pinterest
Latest AV Stories
ADAM Audio T7V Powered Monitor Speaker Review

The ADAM Audio T7V Active Speakers are nearfield monitors ($500/pair). We reviewed them to determine IF they sound as good as they look and IF

ADAM Audio T7V Powered Monitor Speaker Review
Arylic Brings Whole Home Audio To Your Favorite Speakers

We reviewed the Arylic Audio compact, affordable streaming pre-amplifiers (S10 & S50Pro) and an A50 amplifier that allow you to re-use existing

Arylic Brings Whole Home Audio To Your Favorite Speakers
Marantz Announces AV7706 11.2Ch 8K Ultra HD AV Surround Pre-Amplifier

Marantz just announced the new AV7706 11.2CH 8K AV Processor armed with the latest immersive surround codecs and HEOS music management system.

Marantz Announces AV7706 11.2Ch 8K Ultra HD AV Surround Pre-Amplifier

A/V Product Reviews

Audioholics writes some of the industry's most thorough AV product reviews. Our reviews stand apart from the competition in that we do comprehensive objective measurements and analysis including taking the products apart to describe their operation from soup to nuts. Get the real skinny on how AV receivers, amplifiers and loudspeakers perform from our unbiased reviews.

ADAM Audio T7V Powered Monitor Speaker Review

ADAM Audio T7V Powered Monitor Speaker Review

ADAM Audio has long been known as pioneers in bringing AMT drivers to pro-audio loudspeaker design. They have traditionally occupied a somewhat higher price-point than major monitor brands, but that has changed recently with their T series monitors which use the same design principles in a more affordable package. The ADAM Audio T7V's are near-field monitors that use ADAM Audio's AMT tweeters in a sophisticated waveguide along with class-D amplification in an unusually attractive cabinet that looks a lot nicer than it needs to for studio purposes. Can a monitor this sleek-looking also be used for home audio? Read our in-depth review to find out!

The ADAM Audio T7V Active Speakers are nearfield monitors ($500/pair). We reviewed them to determine IF they sound as good as they look and IF they serve home audio applications as well as the studio.

— October 20, 2020 23:30 in Bookshelf Speaker Reviews

Arylic Brings Whole Home Audio To Your Favorite Speakers

Arylic Brings Whole Home Audio To Your Favorite Speakers

If you’re looking for whole-home audio, but you already love the existing speakers you already own, you might want to check out the new streaming options from Arylic Audio. We’ll look at three of their offerings including a compact preamp (S10 and S50Pro) and A10 power amplifier to help turn the products you already own into a whole-home audio system capable of streaming your favorite music sources.

We reviewed the Arylic Audio compact, affordable streaming pre-amplifiers (S10 & S50Pro) and an A50 amplifier that allow you to re-use existing speakers to transform your whole home audio.

— October 19, 2020 00:05 in AV Gadget Reviews

Marantz Announces AV7706 11.2Ch 8K Ultra HD AV Surround Pre-Amplifier

Marantz Announces AV7706 11.2Ch 8K Ultra HD AV Surround Pre-Amplifier

If you're looking for 8K upscaling and pass-through out of your preamplifier you're pretty much out of luck - Until today! Marantz announced the release of an 8K surround AV pre-amplifier, the AV7706. This preamplifier features 11.2 channels of XLR and RCA pre-outs and the latest immersive surround codecs as well as HEOS music management system. Read on to see how this improves over this model's predecessor.

Marantz just announced the new AV7706 11.2CH 8K AV Processor armed with the latest immersive surround codecs and HEOS music management system. Read on to see how it improves upon its predecessor.

— October 11, 2020 09:00 in AV Preamp and Processor Reviews

Denon Releases 3 More 110th Anniversary Edition A110 Components

Denon Releases 3 More 110th Anniversary Edition A110 Components

We recently broke the news on Denon's 110th Anniversary Edition AVR-A110 8K AV Receiver which retails for $5,499. Now Denon has released information on three other 110th Anniversary Edition components; the PMA-A110 Integrated Amplifier ($3,499), DCD-A110 SACD Player ($2,999), and DL-A110 Phono Cartridge ($599). Will they be "Balls to the Wall" like the AVR-A110 receiver? Check out our preview to find out.

Denon has expanded its 110th anniversary components with the PMA-A110 Integrated Amplifier, DCD-A110 SACD Player, and DL-A110 Phono Cartridge. Read on to see what makes these audiophile products so special.

— October 06, 2020 11:00 in Audio Amplifier Reviews

New Focal Radiance Headphones & Naim Mu-so Speaker: Built for Bentley!

New Focal Radiance Headphones & Naim Mu-so Speaker: Built for Bentley!

Focal and Naim Audio are adding two new products to their ongoing Bentley Motors design collaboration. Naim is introducing a new dark-wood edition of its Mu-So wireless speaker, but inside you'll find the same functions and features of the highly-regarded Mu-So 2nd generation with Bentley branding. Focal is adding Radiance, an all-new closed back headphone to its exclusive "Made in France" line, featuring luxury accents from Bentley Motors. When designers from these three brands work together, you know the results are going to be beautiful, high-end stuff that makes great sound.

Naim Audio and Focal are adding two new products to their Bentley Motors design collaboration including some incredible looking headphones and a wireless speaker. Read on to learn more.

— September 30, 2020 07:00 in Headphone Reviews

SVS PB-2000 Pro Ported Subwoofer Review

SVS PB-2000 Pro Ported Subwoofer Review

Late last year SVS released a rework of their 2000 series subwoofers called the 2000 Pro series. The 2000 Pro subs use a new amplifier topology trickled down from their upper-tier subs that includes app control. The driver also received significant rework. SVS sent us a PB-2000 Pro for review, and we are happy to report that the 2000 Pro subs are far more improved than just adding a smartphone app this latest generation of subs. Read our full review with measurements, and you may be as surprised as we were by the SVS PB-2000 Pro.

SVS completely revamped their 2000 series with the release of their 2000 Pro subwoofers. We can report that the 2000 Pro subs are far more improved than just adding a smartphone app. Read on.

— September 23, 2020 08:00 in Subwoofer Reviews

New NAD Masters Series Employ Revolutionary Class D Amplifier Technology

New NAD Masters Series Employ Revolutionary Class D Amplifier Technology

NAD launched its first two products using the new “Eigentakt” (self-clocking) switching amplifier from the Danish company Purifi. Designed by Class D amplification guru Bruno Putzeys, the Eigentakt circuit is at the heart of NAD’s new Masters Series M33 stereo integrated streaming amp ($4,999) and M28 seven-channel power amp (also $4,999). Both amps offer measured performance that sets a new benchmark for low noise and distortion. Read on to learn more.

NAD launched two Masters Series amps, the M33 and M28 both priced at $4,999. Both amps offer performance that sets a new benchmark for low noise and distortion thanks to a revolutionary Class D design.

— September 18, 2020 04:00 in Audio Amplifier Reviews

Marantz SR8015 11CH 8K DTS:X Pro Review: Best AV Receiver for 2020?

Marantz SR8015 11CH 8K DTS:X Pro Review: Best AV Receiver for 2020?

The Marantz SR8015 is king of the hill as far as 11CH AV receivers go. This 11.2CH Atmos/DTS:X Pro HDMI 2.1 AV receiver is built on a very solid platform with benchmark measured performance while offering new features including preamp mode, DTS:X Pro, HDMI 2.1 with 8K support, 13CH of processing, dual speaker presets, eARC for high resolution audio streaming and so much more. Best of all, the SR8015 is a wonderful sounding, high performance one box separates-like solution that will satiate the audiophile, home theater enthusiast and gamer alike. Best AV receiver for 2020? Read on to find out.

The Marantz SR8015 11.2CH Atmos/DTS:X Pro HDMI 2.1 AV receiver is built on a very solid platform with benchmark measured performance. Is this the best AVR for 2020? Read our review to find out.

— September 15, 2020 01:30 in AV Receiver Reviews

Denon Unleashes AVR-A110 110th Anniversary 13CH Audiophile Dream Receiver

Denon Unleashes AVR-A110 110th Anniversary 13CH Audiophile Dream Receiver

"Balls to the wall!" That's how Audioholics President Gene DellaSala describes Denon's 110 year anniversary edition 13.2 Channel 8K AVR-A110. Although built on their AVR-X8500 platform, the A110 costs $1,500 more than its predecessor. What do you get for the money? Read our preview with details on the A110 that you won't see on any other home theater enthusiast site.

Denon's 110th anniversary flagship 13.2CH AV receiver, the AVR-A110 is built off the critically acclaimed AVR-8500H. The A110 has some "extras" that increase its price by $1,500. Find out what you get.

— September 10, 2020 10:00 in AV Receiver Reviews

PreSonus Eris E8 XT Active Studio Monitors Review

PreSonus Eris E8 XT Active Studio Monitors Review

Those in the content-creation side of audio know PreSonus as a major manufacturer of a host of pro-audio products including their popular 'Eris' line of studio monitors. The Eris E8 XT powered monitors are some of the beefier speakers among PreSonus' array of monitor offerings; they have an 8" fiber-woven woofer, a waveguide-loaded 1.25" dome tweeter, and 140 watts of onboard amplification. That is a lot of muscle, but monitors, above all, must be accurate, so how do the Eris E8 XT monitors fare in this regard? Read our in-depth review to find out!

The PreSonus Eris E8 XT monitors are beefy speakers that sport an 8" fiber-woven woofer, a waveguide-loaded 1.25" dome tweeter, and 140 watts of onboard amplification. How do they sound? Read on.

— September 07, 2020 08:00 in Bookshelf Speaker Reviews

AMD Fuels Nightmares of Intel & Nvidia

AMD Fuels Nightmares of Intel & Nvidia

For most of us 2020 hasn't been such a great year, not so for Advanced Micro Devices (AMD). From thread-ripping CPUs to the Big Navi GPU hype-train, 2020 has been a pivotal year in one of the greatest turnarounds in tech-industry history. While AMD is unlikely to "kill" competitors Intel and Nvidia, its comeback is giving them good reason to worry, and that's good for us consumers.

From thread-ripping Ryzen CPUs to the Big Navi GPU hype-train, this year everything’s coming up AMD, and its resurgence is giving competitors Intel and Nvidia good reason to worry.

— September 04, 2020 07:00 in AV Gadget Reviews

Marantz 30 Series Integrated Amp & Network SACD Audio Streamer Tantalizes Audiophiles

Marantz 30 Series Integrated Amp & Network SACD Audio Streamer Tantalizes Audiophiles

On the heels of what we consider to be the best measured receiver in the last decade with their SR8015, Marantz has now released information on their new MODEL 30 Integrated Amplifier and SACD 30n Network Audio Streamer and SACD Player. The new products from Marantz embrace elements of classic Marantz design and combine a modern approach to construction and materials. To see what we thought of them, read on.

After three years of research and devolopment, Marantz has released information on their new MODEL 30 Integrated Amplifier and SACD 30n Network Audio Streamer and SACD Player. Read on.

— September 01, 2020 07:00 in Audio Amplifier Reviews

Legacy Signature SE Floorstanding Speaker Review

Legacy Signature SE Floorstanding Speaker Review

As a follow-up to our extremely popular recent article, An Audiophile’s Realization: My Last New Speakers, the least we can do is take a close look at the object of that article, the Legacy Audio Signature SE floorstanding speaker. Will this story have a happy ending? Will the audiophile ride off into the sunset with a smile on his face? Read our review of the 4-way Legacy Signature SE Towers to find out.

Will the 4-way Legacy Audio Signature SE floorstanding speakers allow me to achieve my audiophile realization of my last new speakers? Read our review to find out.

Steve Feintein — August 20, 2020 22:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Peter Jackson’s Beatles Documentary Delayed Until August 2021

Peter Jackson’s Beatles Documentary Delayed Until August 2021

Originally slated for release in September of this year, Peter Jackson’s documentary entitled The Beatles: Get Back will now hit theaters in August of 2021. Distributed by Walt Disney Studios, the new film features brilliantly restored footage and never-before-released recordings of the Beatles during the 1969 creation of the album Let It Be. The documentary also challenges the popular notion that conflict among the group’s members had the band on the verge of collapse during this pivotal moment in their history. Read on to learn more.

Peter Jackson’s documentary entitled The Beatles: Get Back will hit theaters in August 2021. The new film features brilliantly restored footage and never-before-seen recordings of the Beatles in 1969.

— August 13, 2020 01:00 in DVD-A, SACD and CD Music Reviews