“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter instagram pinterest
Latest AV Stories
Sonus faber Debuts New Budget-Friendly Lumina Loudspeaker Range

Sonus faber’s new Lumina loudspeakers brings luxury audio to the masses. The lineup includes the Lumina I bookshelf ($899/pr), 3-way Lumina III

Sonus faber Debuts New Budget-Friendly Lumina Loudspeaker Range
Bowers & Wilkins PX7 Noise Cancelling Wireless Headphones Review

Bowers & Wilkins proved with their new PX7 noise-cancelling headphones that they can excel in this space just as well as they do with premium

Bowers & Wilkins PX7 Noise Cancelling Wireless Headphones Review
THX Launches Onyx, Portable MQA-DAC/AAA-Headphone Amp Review

THX has launched its first consumer product! Onyx is a portable DAC/Amp featuring MQA and THX's AAA amplifier topology in a portable USB-powered

THX Launches Onyx, Portable MQA-DAC/AAA-Headphone Amp Review

A/V Product Reviews

Audioholics writes some of the industry's most thorough AV product reviews. Our reviews stand apart from the competition in that we do comprehensive objective measurements and analysis including taking the products apart to describe their operation from soup to nuts. Get the real skinny on how AV receivers, amplifiers and loudspeakers perform from our unbiased reviews.

Sonus faber Debuts New Budget-Friendly Lumina Loudspeaker Range

Sonus faber Debuts New Budget-Friendly Lumina Loudspeaker Range

Sonus faber’s new Lumina collection of loudspeakers aims to bring luxury audio to the masses. The three-strong lineup includes the compact Lumina I bookshelf speaker ($899/pair), the three-way Lumina III floor-stander ($2,199/pair), and the Lumina Center I ($699 each). The Lumina series combines simple, minimalist design with the high-quality materials that Sonus faber is known for. Is it a recipe for success, or has Sonus faber compromised too much in order to keep the prices reasonable? Read on to learn more.

Sonus faber’s new Lumina loudspeakers brings luxury audio to the masses. The lineup includes the Lumina I bookshelf ($899/pr), 3-way Lumina III floor-stander ($2,199/pr), and Lumina Center I ($688).

— April 13, 2021 09:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Bowers & Wilkins PX7 Noise Cancelling Wireless Headphones Review

Bowers & Wilkins PX7 Noise Cancelling Wireless Headphones Review

Bowers & Wilkins is known for its high end speakers so we had high expectations for headphones with their logo. Their PX7 noise-cancelling wireless headphones did not disappoint, in fact, they are the best noise cancelling headphones that I have heard at this price point. To see why Audioholics named them our noise cancelling headphones of the year, read on.

Bowers & Wilkins proved with their new PX7 noise-cancelling headphones that they can excel in this space just as well as they do with premium loudspeakers. Read to see why they are our 2020 POY winner.

Don Dunn — April 12, 2021 01:00 in Headphone Reviews

THX Launches Onyx, Portable MQA-DAC/AAA-Headphone Amp Review

THX Launches Onyx, Portable MQA-DAC/AAA-Headphone Amp Review

THX has launched its first product: A portable USB headphone DAC/Amp featuring its innovative AAA amplifier technology that promises high power and extremely low distortion. But, wait… did we say THX? You got that right! THX, the audio certification standard founded by George Lucas, is now rolling up its sleeves and building its own consumer audio equipment. This portable USB headphone DAC/Amp packs enough power to shatter cobalt at a price that will make the competition sweat. The first-ever THX audio hardware has arrived, could this be a sign of things to come?

THX has launched its first consumer product! Onyx is a portable DAC/Amp featuring MQA and THX's AAA amplifier topology in a portable USB-powered package. Read on to see how it compares to Audioquest.

— April 08, 2021 11:10 in AV Gadget Reviews

Polk Legend L800 SDA Loudspeaker Review

Polk Legend L800 SDA Loudspeaker Review

The Polk Audio Legend L800’s with SDA Pro technology reflect the next evolution in Polk's long obsessions with cross-talk cancellation technology. Is this their best effort yet? Check out the review to find out why I fell in love with these speakers, found myself rediscovering my music collection all over again, yet also calling them idiosyncratic at the same time.

The Polk Audio Legend L800’s w/ SDA Pro reflect the next evolution in Polk's long obsessions with cross-talk cancellation technology. Is this their best effort yet? Check out the review to find out.

— April 05, 2021 11:35 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Polk Audio’s Reserve Series Speakers Bring Legend Innovations At Lower Prices

Polk Audio’s Reserve Series Speakers Bring Legend Innovations At Lower Prices

Polk Audio's brand new Reserve speaker series takes many of the innovations from their flagship Legend series and packs them into a much more affordable set. Many of the Reserve speakers have MSRPs less than half of that of their Legend counterparts yet still boast much of the same technology and even deploying a few new technologies of their own. This is great news for those who want the acclaimed high-performance Polk sound but can’t swing the Legend series price tags. Read our preview of the Reserve speakers to see how much hi-fi you can get for a low cost from Polk Audio.

Polk Audio's new Reserve speaker series takes many of the innovations from their Legend series and packs them into a units with MSRPs less than half of that of their Legend counterparts. Read on.

— March 23, 2021 06:30 in Tower Speaker Reviews

SVS 3000 Micro Subwoofer Breaks the Small Size Barrier with BIG Sound

SVS 3000 Micro Subwoofer Breaks the Small Size Barrier with BIG Sound

SVS has broken the small-sized subwoofer barrier with their 3000 Micro subwoofer. The 3000 Micro powers two 8" woofers with an 800-watt RMS amp but packs all of this into an 11" cube. The 3000 Micro also has all the bells and whistles of SVS's usual gamut of technology including app control, high-powered DSP, ultra-efficient class-D amplification, and the ICI interface. If you need a really big sound from a really small package, SVS now offers an interesting new choice to the marketplace of microsubs and at only $799 shipped!

The SVS new 3000 Micro subwoofer breaks the small sized barrier with BIG sound from dual 8" drivers, 800 watt RMS amplifier, all packed into an 11" cube for only $799 shipped!

— March 18, 2021 18:00 in Subwoofer Reviews

Focal Replaces Clear with All-New Improved Clear Mg Open Back Headphones

Focal Replaces Clear with All-New Improved Clear Mg Open Back Headphones

The bad news is that one of Focal's most widely loved headphones is reaching the end of its life-cycle. But the good news is that it's being replaced by the new Clear Mg, with an updated all-magnesium dome driver. Focal says it's not changing anything about the sound signature of original Clear, but the new driver promises to deliver more lightness and stronger damping. Clear Mg is will be the direct replacement for Clear in its line of high-end headphones, not to be confused with the new Clear Mg Pro which was released for audio professionals. We had a chance to try out Clear Mg and make some subjective comparisons between it and the original Clear, or should we call it Clear Classic?

Focal's most widely loved headphone, Clear is reaching the end of its life-cycle. But the good news is that it's being replaced by the new Clear Mg, with an updated all-magnesium dome driver.

— March 16, 2021 08:30 in Headphone Reviews

Perlisten Audio: The THX Dominus Line Has Finally Been Breached!

Perlisten Audio: The THX Dominus Line Has Finally Been Breached!

THX has raised the bar to a height that few thought anyone could clear in their 'Dominus' certification. That has now changed with Perlisten Audio's introduction of a slew of high-performance loudspeakers and subwoofers which use advanced technology and brute force to utterly melt the limits of what was previously thought possible in sound reproduction. Read on to learn what THX Certified Dominus is and why it is such a big deal to have finally been attained by a loudspeaker manufacturer.

THX raised the bar to a height that few thought anyone could clear in their 'Dominus' certification. That has changed with Perlisten Audio's introduction of their Certified Dominus loudspeakers.

— March 09, 2021 12:15 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Paradigm’s Founder Series Loudspeakers Mix Signature Design, Cutting-Edge Science

Paradigm’s Founder Series Loudspeakers Mix Signature Design, Cutting-Edge Science

Paradigm has recently replaced their acclaimed Prestige loudspeaker line with the Founder series. The Founder speakers are packed to the gills with new advances in loudspeaker design, yet they keep many signature Paradigm design elements. The result is a speaker that pushes the technology envelope while benefiting from traditional engineering practices that have served Paradigm so well over the years. Read our preview of Paradigm's Founder speakers to see how much further forward they have pushed the high-end of sound reproduction.

Paradigm recently replaced their acclaimed Prestige loudspeaker line with the Founder series. The Founder speakers are packed to the gills with new advances in loudspeaker design. New driver tech, must read!

— March 05, 2021 21:15 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Bomaker Defies the $100 Price Point with their 2.1 Soundbar Subwoofer

Bomaker Defies the $100  Price Point with their  2.1 Soundbar Subwoofer

When the newly established home theater company Bomaker emailed me to review their new Tapio V Soundbar and Subwoofer with a MSRP of $110 I thought maybe they left off a zero. The Tapio V is a semi portable 100 watt 2.1 system. If you want to improve the sound of your HDTV on the cheap, you'll want to read this review!

What can you get for $100 in the home theater world? Not much. The Bomaker Tapio V however, is a semi portable 100 watt 2.1 soundbar/subwoofer system that will make you rethink its modest price.

David Mossor — March 03, 2021 08:00 in Soundbars and Surround Speaker Reviews

SVS 1000 Series Subwoofers Get a Major Redesign

SVS 1000 Series Subwoofers Get a Major Redesign

SVS has just announced that their entry-level subs have received a major redesign, and we at Audioholics have been given the scoop on the new 1000 Pro series subwoofers: the PB-1000 Pro and SB-1000 Pro. The smallest children of SVS's subwoofer line has just had a growth spurt and now features more powerful amplifiers, improved drivers, and incorporates the advanced DSP technology from SVS higher-end offerings. Read our preview article to find out how SVS's most affordable subwoofers just became more powerful.

SVS just announced that their entry-level 1000 series subs have received a major redesign, Audioholics has been given the scoop on the new 1000 Pro series subwoofers: The PB-1000 Pro and SB-1000 Pro.

— February 26, 2021 13:00 in Subwoofer Reviews

Monoprice Monolith HTP-1 16CH Home Theater Processor Review

Monoprice Monolith HTP-1 16CH Home Theater Processor Review

At last, our full review of the Monoprice Monolith HTP-1 AV Processor is here! Do you want sixteen channels of highly-configurable, fully-balanced XLR pre-amp output? Of course, you do! The cherry on top of this cake is support for Dirac Live, one of the most sophisticated room correction equalizers in existence. Throw in full support for all three immersive surround formats (Dolby Atmos, DTS:X and Auro 3D) and you've got the recipe for a great home theater processor. Read our review, complete with measurements, to see what the HTP-1 can do for you.

We reviewed the 16 channel Monoprice Monolith HTP-1 AV Processor to see how it performed. With ALL 3 immersive surround formats supported and a future upgrade path to 8K, is this the processor to beat?

— February 22, 2021 09:00 in AV Preamp and Processor Reviews

Focal Stellia Closed-Back Headphone Review

Focal Stellia Closed-Back Headphone Review

What happens when you take all the high-end technology and advanced build-material used by Focal in its flagship headphone Utopia and add the luxury, comfort and style of full-grain leather and optimize it to fit the efficiency and characteristics of a closed-back design? One answer is Stellia, Focal's Flagship closed-back headphone. Expectations are high as they should be, because Stellia is an undeniably expensive headphone. But, Focal has plenty of experience making a variety of high-end headphones, and this isn't even Focal's first closed-back model. So, let's take a closer look and see what the retail price of $3,000 for Focal's Stellia gets you. Musical Bliss? Read on to find out.

Our ears were delighted to review the Focal Stellia headphones. All the high-end technology and build-material of Focal's flagship headphone Utopia is optimized to fit into a closed-back design with style.

— February 13, 2021 11:30 in Headphone Reviews

FTC May Kill Amplifier Rule: Help Us Keep Consumer Protections in Audio!

FTC May Kill Amplifier Rule: Help Us Keep Consumer Protections in Audio!

Attention citizens of these great United States of America! Your country needs YOU to speak out on behalf of consumers and the future of hi-fi audio. The Federal Trade Commission is presently reviewing its amplifier power ratings regulation, or "Amplifier Rule", and we need YOU to participate in the review with citizen public comment by February 16th, 2021 or we may lose this ruling forever. In this article we show you how you can tell the FTC to maintain and modernize stringent standards in manufacturer's published power ratings to keep false claims and dishonest marketing away from our beloved audio gear. You're just a click away from being one of the great Americans taking action on behalf of your great republic.

Your country needs YOU to help protect consumers from false advertising in audio. The Federal Trade Commission (FTC) is reviewing its "Amplifier Rule", help maintain truth in amplifier ratings today!

— February 09, 2021 01:00 in Audio Amplifier Reviews