“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter Google Plus instagram pinterest
Latest AV Stories
Sony’s 2019 4K UHD TV Lineup How Do They Compare?

Sony has announced pricing and availability information for its entire lineup of 2019 TVs. From a 98" 8K behemoth for $78,000 to 43" $650

Sony’s 2019 4K UHD TV Lineup How Do They Compare?
ATI AT4002 Class AB and AT522NC Class D Amplifier Review Shootout

In market for a powerful 200 WPC amp? ATI has you covered with two completely different technologies. We compare the AT4000 class A/B and the

ATI AT4002 Class AB and AT522NC Class D Amplifier Review Shootout
Amazon’s Fire TV Recast DVR Streams Over-The-Air Broadcasts To Your Devices

The Amazon Fire TV Recast is a DVR for over-the-air broadcasts. Starting at $230 will this allow you to finally cut the cord once and for all?

Amazon’s Fire TV Recast DVR Streams Over-The-Air Broadcasts To Your Devices

A/V Product Reviews

Audioholics writes some of the industry's most thorough AV product reviews. Our reviews stand apart from the competition in that we do comprehensive objective measurements and analysis including taking the products apart to describe their operation from soup to nuts. Get the real skinny on how AV receivers, amplifiers and loudspeakers perform from our unbiased reviews.

Sony’s 2019 4K UHD TV Lineup How Do They Compare?

Sony’s 2019 4K UHD TV Lineup How Do They Compare?

Sony has announced pricing and availability information for its entire lineup of 2019 TVs. At the top of the heap is a 98-inch behemoth boasting 8K resolution and a fairly ridiculous $70,000 price tag. But the range also includes 4K OLED TVs at competitive prices, and a number of models that will support Apple’s AirPlay 2 and HomeKit protocols. Read on to get all the details and see how it fares against the competition.

Sony has announced pricing and availability information for its entire lineup of 2019 TVs. From a 98" 8K behemoth for $78,000 to 43" $650 affordable OLED displays. Checkout the entire lineup here.

— May 22, 2019 23:00 in HDTV Reviews

ATI AT4002 Class AB and AT522NC Class D Amplifier Review Shootout

ATI AT4002 Class AB and AT522NC Class D Amplifier Review Shootout

In market for a powerful 200 WPC amp? ATI has you covered with two completely different technologies . The AT4000 class A/B and the AT522NC Class-D amplifiers both fit into the 200-watt sweet spot and both have surprisingly similar specifications. The AT500 series is 25% cheaper and up to 50% lighter than the AT4000’s. So, how do they compare? Let’s find out.

In market for a powerful 200 WPC amp? ATI has you covered with two completely different technologies. We compare the AT4000 class A/B and the AT522NC Class-D amplifiers to help you decide.

RichB — May 20, 2019 23:00 in Audio Amplifier Reviews

Amazon’s Fire TV Recast DVR Streams Over-The-Air Broadcasts To Your Devices

Amazon’s Fire TV Recast DVR Streams Over-The-Air Broadcasts To Your Devices

The Amazon Fire TV Recast is a DVR for over-the-air broadcasts, giving cord-cutters easy access to free programming from major networks and local TV channels. Starting at $230, the DVR streams live and recorded content to the company’s ecosystem of Fire TV media players, as well as to any mobile device running the Fire TV iOS or Android app. Since it doesn’t connect directly to a TV, the Fire TV Recast can be placed wherever your TV antenna and Wi-Fi both have strong reception. Read on to learn more.

The Amazon Fire TV Recast is a DVR for over-the-air broadcasts. Starting at $230 will this allow you to finally cut the cord once and for all? Read on to find out.

— May 20, 2019 00:00 in AV Gadget Reviews

Denon Revamps Entry-Level S-Series Receivers For 2019

Denon Revamps Entry-Level S-Series Receivers For 2019

Denon’s updated S-Series comprises three models, the AVR-S950H ($599), the AVR-S750H ($499), and the AVR-S650H ($399). Denon says that the lineup is “designed for anyone who wants an affordable way to dramatically improve their entertainment center.” All three of the new S-Series models offer voice control, AirPlay 2 support, and useful HDMI 2.1 features, like enhanced Audio Return Channel and Auto Low Latency Mode. All models are available now. Read on to learn more.

Denon’s updated S-Series comprises three models, the AVR-S950H, AVR-S750H,and AVR-S650H. Is the updated lineup an affordable way to dramatically improve your entertainment system? Read on to find out.

— May 12, 2019 22:00 in AV Receiver Reviews

Denon AVR-X8500H 13.2CH IMAX Enhanced AV Receiver Review

Denon AVR-X8500H 13.2CH IMAX Enhanced AV Receiver Review

Denon’s AVR-X8500H is the most technologically advanced receiver the venerable company has ever built. It is arguably the most advanced AVR available today. It’s among the best AVRs we've ever reviewed—and we tested every 3D audio format it supports: Dolby Atmos, DTS:X, Auro-3D, and IMAX Enhanced to their maximum configurations. It just won our 2018 AVR of the year award. But those statements just tell a small part of the story. Read on and see why the AVR-X8500H may be Denon's best AVR since the legendary AVR-5805 and AVR-5308CI masterpieces.

Denon's AVR-X8500H receiver supports Dolby Atmos,DTS:X,Auro-3D, & IMAX enhanced to their max configurations with 13 built-in amplifier and every major 4K/UHD video standard. Best AVR of the Year?

— May 03, 2019 21:00 in AV Receiver Reviews

Vizio Readies Its New 2019 TV Lineup

Vizio Readies Its New 2019 TV Lineup

Vizio is preparing to launch its new lineup of TVs at an upcoming event in New York. The company will announce pricing and availability for the updated P-Seres, M-Series, and V-Series UHDTVC models, which were first introduced at CES. New for 2019 is the flagship P-Series Quantum X collection, which will push beyond the already impressive performance of the PQ65-F1 that recently received a very favorable review here at Audioholics. Read on to learn more.

Display giant Vizio will soon announce pricing and availability for the updated P-Seres, M-Series, and V-Series UHDTV models, which were first introduced at CES 2019. Will they beat the competition?

— April 29, 2019 22:00 in HDTV Reviews

Fluance Ai40 Bluetooth Speaker Review

Fluance Ai40 Bluetooth Speaker Review

We had the opportunity to review the Ai40 from Canadian audio manufacturer Fluance. This Bluetooth speaker pair comes with a 5 inch woofer and 1 inch ferrofluid cooled tweeter and 35 watts x2 built in amplification. At $199/pair they’re in the sweet spot for affordability vs. performance, but are they worth it? Read our detailed review and check out our YouTube video to find out.

We recently reviewed the Ai40 speakers from Canadian audio manufacturer Fluance. The $199 Bluetooth pair was quite a shock to our discriminating ear palate. To find out if it was good or bad read on.

— April 28, 2019 20:00 in Wireless & Computer Speaker Reviews

Subwoofers of AXPONA 2019

Subwoofers of AXPONA 2019

Even though AXPONA focuses on two-channel setups, there were still a fair number of subwoofers on display at the 2019 show, and it may be a sign that audiophiles are becoming more receptive to the inclusion of subwoofers in their systems. AXPONA is also growing increasingly popular among the home theater crowd where subwoofers are nearly mandatory. In our final segment of our AXPONA 2019, we looked at a selection of the subs that were exhibited at the show including a secret sub from HSU.

Even though AXPONA focuses on 2CH setups, there were still a fair number of subwoofers on display at the 2019 show. In this segment we look at a few of the subs we saw including a secret sub from HSU.

— April 24, 2019 09:00 in Subwoofer Reviews

Ultra High-End Loudspeakers of AXPONA 2019

Ultra High-End Loudspeakers of AXPONA 2019

The AXPONA show for 2019 was bigger and better than ever, and Audioholics was there to see and hear much of the best that was on display. In this segment of our coverage, we take a look at the more over-the-top speakers on exhibit, the 'dream speakers' that comes to mind when we purchase a lotto ticket. They may not be affordable, they might not be at all practical, but these are some of the most unrestrained, dramatic, and mind-blowing speakers that AXPONA had to offer.

Audioholics was at the 2019 AXPONA show and in this segment of coverage we look at the most outrageously expensive tower speakers manufacturers have to offer. Which is your dream speaker? Read on.

— April 23, 2019 07:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Affordable Loudspeakers of AXPONA 2019

Affordable Loudspeakers of AXPONA 2019

The 2019 AXPONA show had more to offer than just king-size luxury speakers. In this segment of our AXPONA coverage, we look at a selection of the more affordable loudspeakers that were on display. While the massive high-end speakers seem to get most of the attention, there were a multitude of outstanding lower cost speakers that deserve as much attention as any six-figure behemoth. This year's AXPONA proves that you don't have to be rich to get good sound.

At the 2019 AXPONA show, we look at a selection of the more affordable loudspeakers that were on display. This year's AXPONA proves that you don't have to be rich to get good sound.

— April 19, 2019 23:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Vizio P-Series Quantum (PQ65-F1) 4K/UHD TV Review

Vizio P-Series Quantum (PQ65-F1) 4K/UHD TV Review

There's no better time to buy a 4K/UHD TV and there's arguably no better high performance value on the market today than Vizio's outstanding P-Series Quantum TV. This 2000 nits light canon can produce breathtaking HDR images, cover nearly 100% of the P3 color gamut and produce rich, deep black levels. Factor in Dolby Vision and HLG HDR, an outstanding Chromecast implementation, and compatibility with Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, and Apple's HomeKit (via firmware update) and you have a TV that rightly deserved one of our product of the year awards for 2018.

Vizio's P-Series Quantum (PQ65-F1) is a reference-grade 4K/UHD TV delivering breathtaking 4K and HDR images with 2000 nits peak brightness and covering nearly 100% of the P3 color gamut under $2,000.

— April 15, 2019 08:00 in HDTV Reviews

NAD M17 V2 11.1CH Atmos AV Processor Review

NAD M17 V2 11.1CH Atmos AV Processor Review

Recently, NAD released their M17 V2, a much needed upgrade to their original M17 AV pre/pro. The NAD M17 v2 is an 11.1 CH Dolby Atmos AV Processor with a fully modular upgradeable design that supports 4K UHD resolution and features Dirac, one of the advanced room correction systems on the market. Be sure to check out our detailed YouTube video review with Dirac test results and this written overview to get all of the latest product details.

We got a chance to review the NAD's new M17 V2 11.1CH Atmos AV processor and test DIRAC. Be sure to watch our Youtube review and read on to find out what v2 brings to this impressive $6k pre/pro.

— April 11, 2019 21:00 in AV Preamp and Processor Reviews

Dayton Audio & Monoprice Raise the Bar on Budget Tower Speakers

Dayton Audio & Monoprice Raise the Bar on Budget Tower Speakers

Those who want the big sound of a tower speaker but don't have the big bucks that tower speakers normally cost are in luck, because Dayton Audio and Monoprice have just released two new tower speakers at price points that will considerably stiffen the competition for entry-level floor-standing speakers. The Dayton Audio MK442T and Monoprice MP-T65RT both use their well-received low-cost bookshelf models as platforms to create low-cost tower speakers, but they each take some different design turns that may grant them a step up on sound quality along with more sound quantity. Read our preview of the MK442T and MP-T65RT to see what Dayton Audio and Monoprice have done to raise the bar on low-cost tower speakers.

Dayton Audio and Monoprice released two tower speakers at price points that will stiffen the competition for entry-level floor-standing speakers. Will they be Audiophile worthy? Read on to find out.

— April 09, 2019 09:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

SVS Prime Pinnacle Tower Speaker System Preview

SVS Prime Pinnacle Tower Speaker System Preview

SVS's newest member of their Prime loudspeaker line is aptly named the Prime Pinnacle, because it is most certainly the apogee of the Prime series and the culmination of the design cues used in the Primes while adding a few new tricks to make the ultimate Prime loudspeaker. The 3-way, 5 driver Prime Pinnacle incorporates features of their Ultra series, but in a more placement friendly design. Will this be the new audiophile go-to speaker among SVS's offerings? Read our preview to see what SVS has brought to the table with their formidable new tower speaker.

SVS's new 3-way, 5 driver Prime Pinnacle Tower combines flagship features from the Ultra Series in a more placement friendly design. Is this their new go-to audiophile speaker? Read on to find out.

— April 05, 2019 16:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews