“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter Google Plus instagram pinterest
Latest AV Stories
SVS Prime Pinnacle Tower Speaker Review

SVS launched their new flagship Prime Pinnacle tower speaker. The Prime Pinnacle is a beefy-looking three-way tower speaker, but is it more than

SVS Prime Pinnacle Tower Speaker Review
Dayton Audio MK442T Transmission Line Tower Speaker Review

Dayton Audio's new MK442T tower speakers at $228/pair feature a transmission line enclosure for bass. Read our review to see how they managed to

Dayton Audio MK442T Transmission Line Tower Speaker Review
Bowers & Wilkins 603 Tower Speaker Review

At $1,800/pr, Bowers & Wilkins 603 is their least expensive floor standing speaker. Read our full review to see what Bowers & Wilkins can do at

Bowers & Wilkins 603 Tower Speaker Review

Recent Floorstanding Speaker Reviews

SVS Prime Pinnacle Tower Speaker Review

SVS Prime Pinnacle Tower Speaker Review

SVS has launched a new flagship of their Prime series in the new Prime Pinnacle tower speaker. The Prime Pinnacle is a beefy-looking three-way tower speaker that uses three 6.5" woofers and a glass fiber 5.25" midrange driver, and a 1" aluminum dome tweeter. This new speaker isn't just simply a more powerful version of the Prime towers; there is also some new innovations in the basic design that sets it apart from any other speaker SVS has released. Read our full review to see what surprises SVS's newest creation has in store.

SVS launched their new flagship Prime Pinnacle tower speaker. The Prime Pinnacle is a beefy-looking three-way tower speaker, but is it more than just a new version of the Prime tower? Read on.

— July 06, 2019 11:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Dayton Audio MK442T Transmission Line Tower Speaker Review

Dayton Audio MK442T Transmission Line Tower Speaker Review

Dayton Audio has followed up their enormously popular MK402 bookshelf speaker with a floor-standing speaker version: the MK442T. The MK442T is more than just the MK402 with an extra woofer and larger cabinet. Dayton Audio decided to try something different and has used a transmission line enclosure to shore up bass frequencies instead of the standard vented design used by virtually every other speaker in this category. Transmission line designs are not very common, and at Dayton Audio's asking price of $228/pair, totally unheard of. Read our full review of the MK442T to see how Dayton Audio managed to pull this off.

Dayton Audio's new MK442T tower speakers at $228/pair feature a transmission line enclosure for bass. Read our review to see how they managed to produce a quality speaker at a ridiculously low price!

— July 02, 2019 01:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Bowers & Wilkins 603 Tower Speaker Review

Bowers & Wilkins 603 Tower Speaker Review

Bowers & Wilkins 603 floor-standing speaker is a culmination of trickle-down technology and ideas from their cutting-edge flagship designs. The 603s are their least-expensive floor-standing speaker at $1,800/pr, but don't let its entry-level status fool you; there is some intensive R&D invested in these things that come from decades of engineering refinement. Read our full review of the 603 loudspeakers to see what Bowers & Wilkins can do at such an accessible price bracket.

At $1,800/pr, Bowers & Wilkins 603 is their least expensive floor standing speaker. Read our full review to see what Bowers & Wilkins can do at such an accessible price bracket and how it performed.

— June 14, 2019 11:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

$140/pr Monoprice MP-T65RT Tower Speaker Review

$140/pr Monoprice MP-T65RT Tower Speaker Review

Monoprice is at it again: trying to see how affordably they can produce a speaker that sounds legitimately good. In this review, we look at the MP-T65RT floor-standing speakers, a marvel of cost-conscious sound reproduction. This are floor-standing speakers that manage some really cool tricks at an astonishingly low-price of $140 per pair shipped. Read our full review of this intriguing speaker to see what high-fidelity sound looks like at such a modest cost.

The Monoprice MP-T65RT floorstanding speakers are some of the least expensive we've ever reviewed at only $140/pr. Their performance and value is shockingly good. Read on to find out.

— May 30, 2019 00:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Ultra High-End Loudspeakers of AXPONA 2019

Ultra High-End Loudspeakers of AXPONA 2019

The AXPONA show for 2019 was bigger and better than ever, and Audioholics was there to see and hear much of the best that was on display. In this segment of our coverage, we take a look at the more over-the-top speakers on exhibit, the 'dream speakers' that comes to mind when we purchase a lotto ticket. They may not be affordable, they might not be at all practical, but these are some of the most unrestrained, dramatic, and mind-blowing speakers that AXPONA had to offer.

Audioholics was at the 2019 AXPONA show and in this segment of coverage we look at the most outrageously expensive tower speakers manufacturers have to offer. Which is your dream speaker? Read on.

— April 23, 2019 07:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Affordable Loudspeakers of AXPONA 2019

Affordable Loudspeakers of AXPONA 2019

The 2019 AXPONA show had more to offer than just king-size luxury speakers. In this segment of our AXPONA coverage, we look at a selection of the more affordable loudspeakers that were on display. While the massive high-end speakers seem to get most of the attention, there were a multitude of outstanding lower cost speakers that deserve as much attention as any six-figure behemoth. This year's AXPONA proves that you don't have to be rich to get good sound.

At the 2019 AXPONA show, we look at a selection of the more affordable loudspeakers that were on display. This year's AXPONA proves that you don't have to be rich to get good sound.

— April 19, 2019 23:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Dayton Audio & Monoprice Raise the Bar on Budget Tower Speakers

Dayton Audio & Monoprice Raise the Bar on Budget Tower Speakers

Those who want the big sound of a tower speaker but don't have the big bucks that tower speakers normally cost are in luck, because Dayton Audio and Monoprice have just released two new tower speakers at price points that will considerably stiffen the competition for entry-level floor-standing speakers. The Dayton Audio MK442T and Monoprice MP-T65RT both use their well-received low-cost bookshelf models as platforms to create low-cost tower speakers, but they each take some different design turns that may grant them a step up on sound quality along with more sound quantity. Read our preview of the MK442T and MP-T65RT to see what Dayton Audio and Monoprice have done to raise the bar on low-cost tower speakers.

Dayton Audio and Monoprice released two tower speakers at price points that will stiffen the competition for entry-level floor-standing speakers. Will they be Audiophile worthy? Read on to find out.

— April 09, 2019 09:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

SVS Prime Pinnacle Tower Speaker System Preview

SVS Prime Pinnacle Tower Speaker System Preview

SVS's newest member of their Prime loudspeaker line is aptly named the Prime Pinnacle, because it is most certainly the apogee of the Prime series and the culmination of the design cues used in the Primes while adding a few new tricks to make the ultimate Prime loudspeaker. The 3-way, 5 driver Prime Pinnacle incorporates features of their Ultra series, but in a more placement friendly design. Will this be the new audiophile go-to speaker among SVS's offerings? Read our preview to see what SVS has brought to the table with their formidable new tower speaker.

SVS's new 3-way, 5 driver Prime Pinnacle Tower combines flagship features from the Ultra Series in a more placement friendly design. Is this their new go-to audiophile speaker? Read on to find out.

— April 05, 2019 16:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Wilson Audio’s Sasha DAW Speaker: A New WATT/Puppy Descendant

Wilson Audio’s Sasha DAW Speaker: A New WATT/Puppy Descendant

Wilson Audio’s Sasha DAW speaker is the latest descendant of the company’s iconic WATT/Puppy loudspeakers. Named after Wilson’s founder, the late Dave Wilson, the Sasha DAW sits in the middle of Wilson’s range of expensive, high-end offerings. The new speaker was redesigned from the ground up by Dave’s son Daryl and his team of engineers. Will the Sasha DAW live up to its decades-long legacy?

Wilson Audio’s Sasha DAW speaker is the latest descendant of the company’s iconic WATT/Puppy loudspeakers. At $37,900/pr they're not inexpensive. Are they worth it? Read on to find out.

— March 26, 2019 21:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Klipsch RP-8000F Tower Speaker Review

Klipsch RP-8000F Tower Speaker Review

Loudspeaker manufacturer Klipsch has received a lot of acclaim for their Reference Premier series ever since its introduction, so it is high time that we have given this lauded line a very close look to see if it truly deserved its accolades. In for a full review is the Klipsch RP-8000F, a dual 8" woofer megalith of a speaker that promises a wide dynamic range for lots of punch and impact, but will that come at the cost of sound quality? Read our full review to find out.

The Klipsch RP-8000F, a dual 8" woofer tower speaker system that promises a wide dynamic range for lots of punch and impact, but will that come at the cost? Read our review to find out...

— March 22, 2019 20:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

PSB Speakers Revamp of Alpha Series Best Yet?

PSB Speakers Revamp of Alpha Series Best Yet?

PSB Speakers launched an all-new range of their Alpha series of speakers at the 2019 CES show last January. Like their predecessors, the newest iteration of the Alpha line deliver a remarkable value to performance ratio. The new lineup will consist of four models in all: 2 compact monitors P3 and P5, a center channel C10, and a tower model T20. To see what we think of PSB's new Alphas read on.

PSB Speakers launched an all-new range of their Alpha series: 2 compact bookshelf (P3, P5), 1 center (C10) and 1 tower (T20) all with upgrades from predecessor models to make a good thing even better.

— February 21, 2019 22:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

McIntosh XRT1.1K ‘Mini-Flagship’ Loudspeaker Overview

McIntosh XRT1.1K ‘Mini-Flagship’ Loudspeaker Overview

McIntosh’s 7-foot-tall XRT2.1K loudspeaker now has a smaller sibling in the XRT1.1K. Designed to deliver flagship tech in a less imposing package, the XRT1.1K still stands nearly 6 feet tall and contains 70 drivers, but should be at home in a wider range of listening environments. McIntosh says its line array design provides superb imaging from any seat in the house. Read on to learn more.

McIntosh’s 7' tall XRT2.1K loudspeaker now has a smaller sibling in the 6' XRT1.1K. Designed to deliver flagship tech in a less imposing package. Are they worth the $60,000/pr price tag? Read on.

— February 03, 2019 20:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Wharfedale’s New D300 Series Loudspeakers Take Aim At Elac

Wharfedale’s New D300 Series Loudspeakers Take Aim At Elac

Wharfedale’s new D300 Series seeks to redefine expectations for low-cost, high-performance loudspeakers. The four-strong range consists of two compact bookshelf speakers, one floor-stander, and one center-channel speaker, all priced to challenge Elac’s Debut 2 series for the entry-level crown. Will the Wharfedale D300 Series speakers have what it takes? Read on to learn more.

Wharfedale’s new D300 Series is redefining expectations for low-cost, high-performance loudspeakers taking aim at Elac's acclaimed Debut 2 Series. Starting at only $210/pr, can they do it? Read on.

— December 18, 2018 08:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Paradigm Premier 800F Tower and 500C Center Speakers Review

Paradigm Premier 800F Tower and 500C Center Speakers Review

There is no shortage of floor-standing speakers in the $2k/pair price range, yet Paradigm has decided to jump back in this market segment with a brand new design. Using technology trickled down from their acclaimed Persona series, Paradigm has launched the Premier line so audio enthusiasts can get some of the high-end sound of the Personas but without paying the high-end price tags. In this full review, we take a close look at the Premier 800F floor-standing and 500C center speakers to determine if Paradigm pulled off a sonic miracle.

Using trickle down technology from their Persona series, Paradigm launched the Premier line of speakers. Read our full review of their 800F towers and 500C center channel to see how they perform.

— December 12, 2018 00:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews