“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter instagram pinterest
Latest AV Stories
Monoprice Expands Monolith THX Speaker Product Line With Towers of Power

Monoprice is launching a THX tower speaker with four 6.5" bass drivers a 2" silk dome midrange and a 1" silk dome tweeter that includes an

Monoprice Expands Monolith THX Speaker Product Line With Towers of Power
Polk Brings Back SDA Technology with New Legend Series Loudspeakers

Polk Audio has announced an all-new flagship line of speakers called the Legend Series and its packed with SDA technology that made the brand a

Polk Brings Back SDA Technology with New Legend Series Loudspeakers
Pro Audio Technology New S and SR Series Speakers BIG on Sound & Custom…

Pro Audio Technology recently introduced 3 new loudspeakers. The S and SR Series all feature unique elliptical horns and wide-bandwidth

Pro Audio Technology New S and SR Series Speakers BIG on Sound & Custom Features

Recent Floorstanding Speaker Reviews

Monoprice Expands Monolith THX Speaker Product Line With Towers of Power

Monoprice Expands Monolith THX Speaker Product Line With Towers of Power

Monoprice has announced new products that expand their Monolith THX speaker lineup, and do they look to be absolute beasts for the home theater market. The Monolith tower speaker features four 6.5" bass drivers, a 2" silk dome midrange, and a 1" silk dome tweeter that also includes an optional 5.25" upfiring coaxial driver for Dolby Atmos. We absolutely loved the mini-tower Monoliths but they lacked bass by design. These Monolith towers appear to address that concern and promise to be real bruisers.

Monoprice is launching a THX tower speaker with four 6.5" bass drivers a 2" silk dome midrange and a 1" silk dome tweeter that includes an optional 5.25" upfiring coaxial driver for Atmos.

— September 10, 2019 23:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Polk Brings Back SDA Technology with New Legend Series Loudspeakers

Polk Brings Back SDA Technology with New Legend Series Loudspeakers

Polk Audio has announced an all-new flagship line of speakers called the Legend Series. There are six models in the series: two bookshelf speakers, two floor-standers, a center-channel speaker, and a height/elevation speaker for home theater use. The range-topping L800 SDA sells for $6k/pair and features a unique “Stereo Dimensional Array” to cancel out stereo interaural crosstalk and deliver immersive sound with precise imaging. Read on and watch our CEDIA 2019 Youtube interview video to learn how Polk has brought back legendary SDA technology.

Polk Audio has announced an all-new flagship line of speakers called the Legend Series and its packed with SDA technology that made the brand a legend 4 decades ago. We heard them and they are awesome.

— September 07, 2019 01:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Pro Audio Technology New S and SR Series Speakers BIG on Sound & Custom Features

Pro Audio Technology New S and SR Series Speakers BIG on Sound & Custom Features

Pro Audio Technology has introduced three new multipurpose loudspeakers designed for “ultimate accuracy, resolution, and unrestricted dynamics.” PRO claims that its new S and SR Series speakers can produce surprisingly full-range, visceral sound, despite their relatively modest cabinet sizes. The speakers all feature unique elliptical horns and wide-bandwidth “Ultra-Purity” high-frequency compression drivers, mated with 12-inch woofers. They promise BIG sound, and full performance metrics for better integration.

Pro Audio Technology recently introduced 3 new loudspeakers. The S and SR Series all feature unique elliptical horns and wide-bandwidth high-frequency compression drivers with 12" woofers.

— July 27, 2019 02:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

5 Killer Tower Speakers Under $2K/pair Compared for 2019!

5 Killer Tower Speakers Under $2K/pair Compared for 2019!

The price range between $1.5k and $2k seems to be a sweet spot for tower speakers from many of the major speaker manufacturers. There are hundreds if not thousands of choices in this range. Recently, Audioholics reviewed five of what we consider to be some of the better speakers in this category. In this article, we take an overview of these five speakers and look at what each one brings to the table. Read our round-up of tower speakers in this range and watch our related YouTube video discussion to see if one of these makes a good fit for you.

Looking for a high quality tower speaker for under $2K/pair? You're in the right place! We compared 5 tower speakers from RBH, Paradigm, B&W, Klipsch and SVS. Read on to see which is best for you.

— July 20, 2019 01:30 in Tower Speaker Reviews

SVS Prime Pinnacle Tower Speaker Review

SVS Prime Pinnacle Tower Speaker Review

SVS has launched a new flagship of their Prime series in the new Prime Pinnacle tower speaker. The Prime Pinnacle is a beefy-looking three-way tower speaker that uses three 6.5" woofers and a glass fiber 5.25" midrange driver, and a 1" aluminum dome tweeter. This new speaker isn't just simply a more powerful version of the Prime towers; there is also some new innovations in the basic design that sets it apart from any other speaker SVS has released. Read our full review to see what surprises SVS's newest creation has in store.

SVS launched their new flagship Prime Pinnacle tower speaker. The Prime Pinnacle is a beefy-looking three-way tower speaker, but is it more than just a new version of the Prime tower? Read on.

— July 06, 2019 11:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Dayton Audio MK442T Transmission Line Tower Speaker Review

Dayton Audio MK442T Transmission Line Tower Speaker Review

Dayton Audio has followed up their enormously popular MK402 bookshelf speaker with a floor-standing speaker version: the MK442T. The MK442T is more than just the MK402 with an extra woofer and larger cabinet. Dayton Audio decided to try something different and has used a transmission line enclosure to shore up bass frequencies instead of the standard vented design used by virtually every other speaker in this category. Transmission line designs are not very common, and at Dayton Audio's asking price of $228/pair, totally unheard of. Read our full review of the MK442T to see how Dayton Audio managed to pull this off.

Dayton Audio's new MK442T tower speakers at $228/pair feature a transmission line enclosure for bass. Read our review to see how they managed to produce a quality speaker at a ridiculously low price!

— July 02, 2019 01:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Bowers & Wilkins 603 Tower Speaker Review

Bowers & Wilkins 603 Tower Speaker Review

Bowers & Wilkins 603 floor-standing speaker is a culmination of trickle-down technology and ideas from their cutting-edge flagship designs. The 603s are their least-expensive floor-standing speaker at $1,800/pr, but don't let its entry-level status fool you; there is some intensive R&D invested in these things that come from decades of engineering refinement. Read our full review of the 603 loudspeakers to see what Bowers & Wilkins can do at such an accessible price bracket.

At $1,800/pr, Bowers & Wilkins 603 is their least expensive floor standing speaker. Read our full review to see what Bowers & Wilkins can do at such an accessible price bracket and how it performed.

— June 14, 2019 11:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

$140/pr Monoprice MP-T65RT Tower Speaker Review

$140/pr Monoprice MP-T65RT Tower Speaker Review

Monoprice is at it again: trying to see how affordably they can produce a speaker that sounds legitimately good. In this review, we look at the MP-T65RT floor-standing speakers, a marvel of cost-conscious sound reproduction. This are floor-standing speakers that manage some really cool tricks at an astonishingly low-price of $140 per pair shipped. Read our full review of this intriguing speaker to see what high-fidelity sound looks like at such a modest cost.

The Monoprice MP-T65RT floorstanding speakers are some of the least expensive we've ever reviewed at only $140/pr. Their performance and value is shockingly good. Read on to find out.

— May 30, 2019 00:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Ultra High-End Loudspeakers of AXPONA 2019

Ultra High-End Loudspeakers of AXPONA 2019

The AXPONA show for 2019 was bigger and better than ever, and Audioholics was there to see and hear much of the best that was on display. In this segment of our coverage, we take a look at the more over-the-top speakers on exhibit, the 'dream speakers' that comes to mind when we purchase a lotto ticket. They may not be affordable, they might not be at all practical, but these are some of the most unrestrained, dramatic, and mind-blowing speakers that AXPONA had to offer.

Audioholics was at the 2019 AXPONA show and in this segment of coverage we look at the most outrageously expensive tower speakers manufacturers have to offer. Which is your dream speaker? Read on.

— April 23, 2019 07:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Affordable Loudspeakers of AXPONA 2019

Affordable Loudspeakers of AXPONA 2019

The 2019 AXPONA show had more to offer than just king-size luxury speakers. In this segment of our AXPONA coverage, we look at a selection of the more affordable loudspeakers that were on display. While the massive high-end speakers seem to get most of the attention, there were a multitude of outstanding lower cost speakers that deserve as much attention as any six-figure behemoth. This year's AXPONA proves that you don't have to be rich to get good sound.

At the 2019 AXPONA show, we look at a selection of the more affordable loudspeakers that were on display. This year's AXPONA proves that you don't have to be rich to get good sound.

— April 19, 2019 23:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Dayton Audio & Monoprice Raise the Bar on Budget Tower Speakers

Dayton Audio & Monoprice Raise the Bar on Budget Tower Speakers

Those who want the big sound of a tower speaker but don't have the big bucks that tower speakers normally cost are in luck, because Dayton Audio and Monoprice have just released two new tower speakers at price points that will considerably stiffen the competition for entry-level floor-standing speakers. The Dayton Audio MK442T and Monoprice MP-T65RT both use their well-received low-cost bookshelf models as platforms to create low-cost tower speakers, but they each take some different design turns that may grant them a step up on sound quality along with more sound quantity. Read our preview of the MK442T and MP-T65RT to see what Dayton Audio and Monoprice have done to raise the bar on low-cost tower speakers.

Dayton Audio and Monoprice released two tower speakers at price points that will stiffen the competition for entry-level floor-standing speakers. Will they be Audiophile worthy? Read on to find out.

— April 09, 2019 09:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

SVS Prime Pinnacle Tower Speaker System Preview

SVS Prime Pinnacle Tower Speaker System Preview

SVS's newest member of their Prime loudspeaker line is aptly named the Prime Pinnacle, because it is most certainly the apogee of the Prime series and the culmination of the design cues used in the Primes while adding a few new tricks to make the ultimate Prime loudspeaker. The 3-way, 5 driver Prime Pinnacle incorporates features of their Ultra series, but in a more placement friendly design. Will this be the new audiophile go-to speaker among SVS's offerings? Read our preview to see what SVS has brought to the table with their formidable new tower speaker.

SVS's new 3-way, 5 driver Prime Pinnacle Tower combines flagship features from the Ultra Series in a more placement friendly design. Is this their new go-to audiophile speaker? Read on to find out.

— April 05, 2019 16:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Wilson Audio’s Sasha DAW Speaker: A New WATT/Puppy Descendant

Wilson Audio’s Sasha DAW Speaker: A New WATT/Puppy Descendant

Wilson Audio’s Sasha DAW speaker is the latest descendant of the company’s iconic WATT/Puppy loudspeakers. Named after Wilson’s founder, the late Dave Wilson, the Sasha DAW sits in the middle of Wilson’s range of expensive, high-end offerings. The new speaker was redesigned from the ground up by Dave’s son Daryl and his team of engineers. Will the Sasha DAW live up to its decades-long legacy?

Wilson Audio’s Sasha DAW speaker is the latest descendant of the company’s iconic WATT/Puppy loudspeakers. At $37,900/pr they're not inexpensive. Are they worth it? Read on to find out.

— March 26, 2019 21:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Klipsch RP-8000F Tower Speaker Review

Klipsch RP-8000F Tower Speaker Review

Loudspeaker manufacturer Klipsch has received a lot of acclaim for their Reference Premier series ever since its introduction, so it is high time that we have given this lauded line a very close look to see if it truly deserved its accolades. In for a full review is the Klipsch RP-8000F, a dual 8" woofer megalith of a speaker that promises a wide dynamic range for lots of punch and impact, but will that come at the cost of sound quality? Read our full review to find out.

The Klipsch RP-8000F, a dual 8" woofer tower speaker system that promises a wide dynamic range for lots of punch and impact, but will that come at the cost? Read our review to find out...

— March 22, 2019 20:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews