“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter instagram pinterest
Latest AV Stories
Elac Launches Redesigned Uni-Fi 2.0 Loudspeaker Range

Elac’s Andrew Jones has completely redesigned the company’s Uni-Fi range of 3-way loudspeakers. The Uni-Fi 2.0 series is now the brand’s least

Elac Launches Redesigned Uni-Fi 2.0 Loudspeaker Range
JBL’s Retro-Styled 4349 ‘Studio Monitor’ Loudspeakers Are For Pros & Home…

JBL’s newest high-end loudspeaker is the 4349 Studio Monitor ($7,500/pair). The 4349 combines the company’s lauded, horn-loaded D2415K

JBL’s Retro-Styled 4349 ‘Studio Monitor’ Loudspeakers Are For Pros & Home Listeners
Revel PerformaBe F226Be Tower & C426Be Center Loudspeakers Review

We reviewed the Revel Performa F226Be, a three-way floor-standing speaker, and the C426Be, a monster three-way center speaker using four 6.5"

Revel PerformaBe F226Be Tower & C426Be Center Loudspeakers Review

Recent Floorstanding Speaker Reviews

Elac Launches Redesigned Uni-Fi 2.0 Loudspeaker Range

Elac Launches Redesigned Uni-Fi 2.0 Loudspeaker Range

Elac’s Andrew Jones has completely redesigned the company’s Uni-Fi range of 3-way loudspeakers. The Uni-Fi 2.0 series is now the brand’s least expensive to offer Jones’s signature concentric drivers, where the tweeter sits inside the midrange driver. The Uni-Fi 2.0 lineup includes the UB52 bookshelf speaker ($600/pair), the UF52 floor-standers ($1,200/pair), and the UC52 center-channel speaker ($400/each). Read on to learn more.

Elac’s Andrew Jones has completely redesigned the company’s Uni-Fi range of 3-way loudspeakers. The Uni-Fi 2.0 series is now the brand’s least expensive to offer Jones’s signature concentric drivers.

— December 17, 2020 00:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

JBL’s Retro-Styled 4349 ‘Studio Monitor’ Loudspeakers Are For Pros & Home Listeners

JBL’s Retro-Styled 4349 ‘Studio Monitor’ Loudspeakers Are For Pros & Home Listeners

JBL’s newest high-end loudspeaker is the 4349 Studio Monitor ($7,500/pair). The 4349 combines the company’s lauded, horn-loaded D2415K compression driver with a 12-inch woofer to deliver “a triumph for accurate sound reproduction.” Despite the “Studio Monitor” moniker, the 4349 is intended for both audio professionals and home listeners. Read on to learn more.

JBL’s newest high-end loudspeaker is the 4349 Studio Monitor ($7,500/pair). The 4349 combines the company’s lauded, horn-loaded D2415K compression driver with a 12-inch woofer

— December 06, 2020 07:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Revel PerformaBe F226Be Tower & C426Be Center Loudspeakers Review

Revel PerformaBe F226Be Tower & C426Be Center Loudspeakers Review

Our review last year of the Revel PerformaBE M126Be bookshelf speakers impressed us so much that we wanted to check out a pair of towers and center channel in the same lineup. The PerformaBe F226Be is a three-way floor-standing speaker, and the C426Be, a monsterous three-way center speaker uses four 6.5" bass drivers and the same mid/tweet array. Our exhaustive review explores if these products live up to the Revel reputation and our comprehensive measurements and listening tests will help determine that.

We reviewed the Revel Performa F226Be, a three-way floor-standing speaker, and the C426Be, a monster three-way center speaker using four 6.5" bass drivers to see if they live up to the brand reputation.

— December 01, 2020 13:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Legacy Signature SE Floorstanding Speaker Review

Legacy Signature SE Floorstanding Speaker Review

As a follow-up to our extremely popular recent article, An Audiophile’s Realization: My Last New Speakers, the least we can do is take a close look at the object of that article, the Legacy Audio Signature SE floorstanding speaker. Will this story have a happy ending? Will the audiophile ride off into the sunset with a smile on his face? Read our review of the 4-way Legacy Signature SE Towers to find out.

Will the 4-way Legacy Audio Signature SE floorstanding speakers allow me to achieve my audiophile realization of my last new speakers? Read our review to find out.

Steve Feintein — August 20, 2020 22:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Dynaudio Introduces Revamped Contour i Series For 2020

Dynaudio Introduces Revamped Contour i Series For 2020

Dynaudio has totally overhauled its popular Contour series loudspeakers with new internals. All four speakers in the new Contour i series employ a new tweeter design and updated woofers and crossovers. The flagship Contour 60i floor-standers ($10,750/pair) are almost entirely new from the ground up. And it doesn’t hurt that they sport gorgeous new finishes. Read on to learn more.

Dynaudio has totally overhauled its popular Contour series loudspeakers with new internals. All speakers in the new Contour i series employ a new tweeter design and updated woofers and crossovers.

— August 04, 2020 00:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Wharfedale Delivers New Flagship Elysian Speaker Range

Wharfedale Delivers New Flagship Elysian Speaker Range

Developed alongside the less expensive EVO4 range, Wharfedale’s new flagship Elysian range is now the brand’s top offering. The Elysian 2 stand-mount speaker ($7,000/pair) and the Elysian 4 floor-standers ($10,000/pair) combine an Air Motion Transformer tweeter with custom-designed midrange and bass drivers. Wharfedale claims that these beauties “push the boundaries of capability and performance from a speaker at this price-point.” Read on to learn more about these speakers that were 3 years in the making.

Wharfedale’s new flagship Elysian range is now the brand’s top offering. The Elysian 2 stand-mount speaker comes in at $7,000/pair and the Elysian 4 floor-standers at 10,000/pair. Read on.

— July 21, 2020 13:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Definitive Technology Demand D15 Tower Speaker Review

Definitive Technology Demand D15 Tower Speaker Review

More than two years after Definitive Technology launched their Demand series bookshelf speakers, they have expanded the line to include some tower speakers. However, the Demand tower speakers look to be a lot more than simply larger versions of the bookshelf speakers. They show a significant design departure from past Definitive Technology floor-standing speakers, and that has us interested in this new direction. In our review of Definitive Technology's new Demand D15 floor-standing speaker, we will look at why Definitive Technology has changed their direction in loudspeaker design and see what advantages this new direction holds.

Definitive Technology Demand D15 Tower Speaker are beautifully crafted and sound terrific. But, how do they compare to the similarly priced BP-9000 in their product line? Read our review to find out.

— July 13, 2020 07:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Focal’s Kanta N°2 Speakers Get Fresh New Finishes For 2020

Focal’s Kanta N°2 Speakers Get Fresh New Finishes For 2020

Focal’s Kanta N°2 floor-standing loudspeakers ($10,000/pair) are now available in two new finish options, Carrara White and Black Lacquer/Walnut. The new finishes will come to the rest of the Kanta range next year. One of the most popular speakers in Focal’s extensive lineup, the Kanta N°2 combines the company’s unique flax sandwich cones with its famous pure beryllium tweeter. Read on to learn more.

Focal’s Kanta N°2 floor-standing loudspeakers ($10k/pair) are now available in Carrara White and Black Lacquer/Walnut. The Kanta N°2 combines Focal's flax sandwich cones with its beryllium tweeter.

— June 26, 2020 07:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

JBL HDI-3800 Floorstanding Speaker Review

JBL HDI-3800 Floorstanding Speaker Review

One of the most anticipated loudspeakers shown at the 2019 CEDIA show has finally come in for us to review, the JBL HDI-3800 which is the big dog of JBL's new HDI series. This 84 lbs beast uses three 8" bass drivers and an advanced compression driver and waveguide derived from the cutting-edge audio R&D from the whizzes at JBL. At $5k/pair, they ain't cheap, but a loudspeaker this powerful and advanced may well be a bargain at that price if all the technology translates into real performance. Read our full review to see what we found.

The JBL HDI-3800 84lb beast of a floorstanding speaker features triple 8" bass drivers and an advanced compression driver and waveguide. We review it to determine if it lives up to the JBL heritage.

— June 02, 2020 17:25 in Tower Speaker Reviews

RBH Sound SVTRS Limited Edition Speaker System Rocks 2020 Florida Expo

RBH Sound SVTRS Limited Edition Speaker System Rocks 2020 Florida Expo

RBH Sound unveiled a new flagship SVTRS active speaker system that rocked the 2020 Florida Expo show. This large, powerful speaker is truly a sight (and sound) to behold. These titans stand nearly eight feet tall and weigh 310 lbs and offer bass extension down to single digits. RBH claims this new system offers significant advantages over their Status 8T speakers while being slightly less expensive along with including its own state-of-the-art amplifier and DSP tuning. Does Audioholics have a new reference speaker to dethrone the mighty Status 8Ts? Read on to find out!

RBH Sound rocked the 2020 Florida Expo with their new SVTRS active speaker system. It offers unparalleled dynamics and bass extension that has to be heard to be believed. A new Audioholics reference?

— February 18, 2020 01:50 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Definitive Technology Adds Demand Series Towers And Center Channel Speakers

Definitive Technology Adds Demand Series Towers And Center Channel Speakers

Definitive Technology has expanded its popular Demand Series of loudspeakers with the addition of the D15 towers ($3,398/pair), the D17 towers, ($4,598/pair), and the D5C center channel speaker ($799/each). These new speakers are designed to “deliver full-range, room-filling sound and elegant styling for enthusiasts seeking a premium listening experience.” The new Demand Series tower speakers feature newly-developed carbon fiber woofers and dual side-firing passive radiators. Read on to learn more.

Definitive Technology has expanded its popular Demand Series of loudspeakers with the addition of the D15 towers, D17 towers,and the D5C center channel speaker. Read on for more details.

— January 25, 2020 09:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

Yamaha NS-5000 Loudspeaker: Retro Look, Futuristic Technology

Yamaha NS-5000 Loudspeaker: Retro Look, Futuristic Technology

Yamaha gives a nod to the past while pushing sound reproduction further into the future with their NS-5000 loudspeaker. This state-of-the-art speaker uses a vintage design as a platform for some very modern audio engineering that uses cutting edge technology to solve problems with ingenuity that have traditionally been solved with brute force. At $15k/pair, they ain't cheap, but if you want the latest in speaker science in a gorgeous package that is built to last, the NS-5000 speaker might be the bargain you are looking for.

Yamaha gives a nod to the past while pushing sound reproduction further into the future with their NS-5000 loudspeaker. At $15k/pair they ain't cheap, but are they worth it? Read on to find out.

— November 22, 2019 20:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

New Speakers From Revel Be And JBL HDI Series Impress at CEDIA 2019

New Speakers From Revel Be And JBL HDI Series Impress at CEDIA 2019

New speakers from Revel and JBL stole the spotlight at the 2019 CEDIA Expo. Revel added three models to its Performa Beryllium range, including a large flagship tower with an all-new beryllium tweeter. Meanwhile, JBL announced a completely new line of speakers called the HDI Series, featuring stylish curved cabinets and a new compression driver based on JBL’s professional gear. Read on to learn more and be sure to watch our detailed YouTube overview video.

New speakers from Revel and JBL stole the show at the 2019 CEDIA Expo. Revel added three models to its Performa Beryllium range while JBL announced their new HDI Series. Read on to learn more.

— October 11, 2019 07:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews

MartinLogan Ups Its Style Game With Redesigned Motion Series Speakers

MartinLogan Ups Its Style Game With Redesigned Motion Series Speakers

MartinLogan’s updated Motion Series loudspeakers sport a fresh new design while leaving the “proven performance” of the previous generation largely unchanged. There are three floor-standers, two stand-mount speakers, and two center channel speakers in the range, all featuring MartinLogan’s Folded Motion (AMT) tweeters and custom aluminum cone woofers. With prices ranging from $800/pair to $3,200/pair, will these redesigned speakers be the more affordable jewel in MartinLogan’s crown? Read on and be sure to watch our CEDIA 2019 Youtube video interview to learn more.

Martin Logan has updated their Motion Series Speakers. With prices ranging from $800/pair to $3,200/pair, will these redesigned speakers be the more affordable jewel in MartinLogan’s crown?

— September 20, 2019 11:00 in Tower Speaker Reviews