“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter Google Plus instagram pinterest

Recent DVD Reviews

Steven Wilson Hand. Cannot. Erase. Blu-ray Review

Steven Wilson Hand. Cannot. Erase. Blu-ray Review

Steven Wilson released his fourth solo title named “Hand. Cannot. Erase.” this February through Kscope. Hand. Cannot. Erase is a concept album that is worth listening to in its entirety and following along with the images on the Blu-ray. What I find most interesting about the Blu-ray version is that there is an instrumental version of every song. Listening to the music without singing really highlights the musicianship, talent and amazing progressions found in each song. In our opinion, Wilson has done some of his finest singing to date on this album and managed to make an incredibly tasteful 5.1 multi-channel mix in pristine high res 96/24 DTS-HD audio.

Steve Wilson's Hand Cannot Erase is a progressive rock concept album written from the perspective of a woman who lives in a large city. The Blu-ray multi-channel 5.1 DTS-HD audio mix is stellar.

Steve DellaSala — May 26, 2015 00:00 in Blu-ray Movie Reviews

Gravity in Dolby Atmos Movie Review with Video Discussion

Gravity in Dolby Atmos Movie Review with Video Discussion

My wife and I were fortunate enough to check out the new Gravity movie at a local theater in 3D with Dolby Atmos sound. The height speakers from the Dolby Atmos brought a very enveloping and spacious effect different than anything I’ve ever experienced in a movie theater. I actually had to fight the impulse to duck a few times during the scenes where space debris was flying over your head. Gravity was a well produced, well acted, involving movie that greatly benefited from its 3D video and Dolby Atmos sound treatment. This is a movie worth seeing at a Dolby Atmos theater and we look forward to experiencing it again in the home environment when the Atmos version is released. Check out our recently added video discussion on our Atmos experience.

Movie Review: Gravity in 3D with Dolby Atmos was quite an enthralling experience in sight and sound. Great movie and a must see in a Dolby Atmos theater. Video discussion added.

— July 15, 2014 08:00 in Blu-ray Movie Reviews

Season of the Witch Blu-ray Disc Review

Season of the Witch Blu-ray Disc Review

From a distance, the trailers and marketing materials announcing Dominic Sena's Season of the Witch indeed looked promising and perhaps beyond mildly entertaining – sure, the title shared the subhead of the 1980s franchise-breaker Halloween III: Season of the Witch, starring the great character actor Tom Atkins, but the clips of the film from pre-release shots and teasers suggested hyper-aggressive demons, CGI-endowed werewolves a la Van Helsing and some butt-kickin’ crusaders from the middle ages era doing justice the only way they know how. A couple of issues abounded, though – first of all, I didn’t see Nicolas Cage in this kind of film or role, but from what I gathered, he needed a quick payday due to some personal and financial issues. Alas, his performance in this justifies my reservations, as his dialogue delivery and overall presence just seems way out of place.

From a distance, the trailers and marketing materials announcing Dominic Sena's Season of the Witch indeed looked promising and perhaps beyond mildly entertaining - but things just seemed out of place

Scott A. — May 17, 2012 16:30 in Blu-ray Movie Reviews

Mission Impossible IV: Ghost Protocol Blu-ray Review

Mission Impossible IV: Ghost Protocol Blu-ray Review

Tom Cruise, Jeremy Renner, Simon Pegg and (in an all-too-brief role) Tom Wilkinson star in Brad Bird’s latest entry in the Mission Impossible franchise. To say nothing of the super- sexy Paula Patton who kicks tail with the best of the super-spies. Paramount’s Blu-ray release of Ghost Protocol proves to be pure eye and ear candy, with a near-reference Dolby TrueHD track and eye-popping 1080p transfer. This was a version that could shine on its own as a kinetic action film, able to be enjoyed by viewers outside the diehard fanbase of the previous Mission Impossible films in the franchise. Check out our comprehensive review of this Blu-ray disc.

This is a review of the Mission Impossible IV: Ghost Protocol Blu-ray disc which goes into details of the plot and audio/video quality.

Scott A — April 26, 2012 21:37 in Blu-ray Movie Reviews

The Town Blu-ray Review

The Town Blu-ray Review

If you liked the dynamic and ultimate flow of Boston-based thrillers and dramas, and appreciate the Irish neighborhood camaraderie between the often times violent young men that populate these towns, the movie "The Town " will be right up your alley. All the elements of those films are here – the heavy tattoos, the gold chains, the tough guy sweat suit outfits, the regular stream of vulgarities spoken with a thick Massachusetts tongue…it was far from a bad film, but I’m not quite sure it was one of the best films of the year. The Blu-ray quality video and audio experience on this disc should prove quite satisfying as well.

This Blu-ray review discusses plot, audio and video quality and extras of the Ben Affleck movie "The Town". If you like good Boston Thriller, check it out.

Scott A. — February 25, 2011 21:02 in Blu-ray Movie Reviews

The Pacific Blu-ray Review

The Pacific Blu-ray Review

When it comes to World War II, the war in the Pacific rarely gets the kind of attention bestowed on the European theater. They fought on nameless dots of land upon an endless ocean in an alien terrain and the Marines fought a brutal war against a relentless enemy more than prepared and all too ready to die for his cause. Their battle is equally as important as any in the War and is deserving of equal attention. HBO Films and the makers of Band of Brothers have saved their best effort for the war in The Pacific. Their ten-part presentation, made with an estimated $150 million budget, has won 8 Emmy Awards, including Outstanding Miniseries – it easily ranks as the most important television of 2010.

HBO Films and the makers of Band of Brothers have saved their best effort for the war in The Pacific. Their ten-part presentation, made with an estimated $150 million budget and has won 8 Emmy Awards.

— October 21, 2010 03:55 in Blu-ray Movie Reviews

Iron Man 2 Blu-ray Review

Iron Man 2 Blu-ray Review

Comic fans rejoice as Iron Man 2 delivers in both plot and the A/V experience. Video in our option wasn't quite up to reference standards but the DTS-HD Master Audio track is the defacto demo disc in terms of LFE assault for the Blu-ray format thus far. Iron Man faces a formidable foe that will give your home theater system quite a workout. For those who have not seen this film in the theaters, be warned that this review contains a comprehensive plot analysis. Be sure to watch the closing credits for a sneak peak of the up and coming Avengers movie.

Comic fans rejoice as Iron Man 2 delivers in both plot and the A/V experience. The DTS HD 5.1 track is among the best we've heard from a Blu-ray disc, especially in the LFE department. Buy this one!

Scott A. — October 20, 2010 11:34 in Blu-ray Movie Reviews

Inglourious Basterds Blu-ray Review

Inglourious Basterds Blu-ray Review

Cinema aficionados especially would have thought that with Quentin Tarantino behind the lens, a subject as wildly controversial as wiping out Nazis in WWII by a rogue band of Judaic super soldiers would yield an unforgettable experience. And while Tarantino's Inglorious Basterds is entertaining in select areas and moments, it just didn't deliver the tactile punch I was expecting, instead punctuated with drawn-out subtitle-ridden dialogue sequences and other elements that just became tiring to view. But how did the Blu-ray release fare? Read our comprehensive review to find out.

Inglorious Basterds is entertaining in select areas and moments, but it just didn't deliver the tactile punch I was expecting. This is a rental at best, but not something to add to your collection.

Scott A. — September 09, 2010 18:55 in Blu-ray Movie Reviews

Cop Out Blu-ray Review

Cop Out Blu-ray Review

I don’t know what to say here. I suppose if there is nothing on the Blockbuster or Hollywood Video shelves to rent, give Cop Out a try. I always thought Morgan was hysterical on Saturday Night Live, but Willis is simply odd here. Couple that with a laughable plot – even for a “spoof” project – and the confusion over exactly what this film was supposed to actually be about, and you have a real head-scratcher when it comes to Kevin Smith’s Cop Out. This isn’t one I will personally be adding to my collection shelf, but as always, your mileage may vary.

Cop Out on Blu-ray was a rather bizarre movie that lacked direction and purpose. The characters didn't gel well most of the time but its a rental if you have nothing else to chose from.

Scott A — August 26, 2010 22:27 in Blu-ray Movie Reviews

Clash of the Titans Blu-ray Review

Clash of the Titans Blu-ray Review

As far as remakes go, Clash of the Titans was a solid effort in my opinion but I am not sure I'd buy this disc. While not bad per se in any sense of the word, Clash of the Titans wasn’t quite reference material in the audio, video or plot departments. It can however provide a great night of family entertainment worthy of renting and giving your A/V system a good workout thanks to the DTS HD 5.1 soundtrack and HD 1080p video. The CGI effects in this remake really make the original movie classic look cheesy in comparison.

This Clash of the Titans remake on Blu-ray delivers excellent sound and video and is entertaining but perhaps better as a rental than a purchase.

Scott A. — August 11, 2010 20:55 in Blu-ray Movie Reviews

Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon Blu-ray Review

Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon Blu-ray Review

Filled with gorgeous outdoor sets featuring wildly varying Chinese terrain lay a mythic story that seems torn from the pages of a half remembered fairy tale. In Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon Ang Lee explores traditional Chinese cultural mores, unrequited love, class division, empowered women in a patriarchal society - and of course some of the best Wuxia martial arts action ever put to film! An unforgettable journey is brought to crisp, high definition life through Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon on Blu-ray.

Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon is directed by Ang Lee and filled with gorgeous outdoor sets and wildly varying Chinese terrain. Within lays a mythic story torn from the pages of a fairy tale.

— July 26, 2010 14:40 in Blu-ray Movie Reviews

Brooklyn's Finest Blu-ray Review

Brooklyn's Finest Blu-ray Review

I came out of watching Brooklyn’s Finest with just disappointment; I really expected better. It wasn’t a terrible film in the least, but it wasn’t memorable to me either. While entertaining, though, it falls short of a real memorable cinematic experience – and those of you who have seen and have a great affection for Antoine Fuqua’s awesome Training Day will know what I am talking about almost instantly. I for one don’t see repeat viewings being necessary for a permanent purchase for my own collection, and that’s all I can offer from my perspective – your mileage, as always, may vary.

I came out of watching Brooklyn’s Finest on Blu-ray with just disappointment. The Audio and video quality didn't wow me and the experience wasn't memorable. Rent, don't buy this movie.

Scott A. — July 24, 2010 15:45 in Blu-ray Movie Reviews

Passengers Blu-ray Disc Review

Passengers Blu-ray Disc Review

Passengers on Blu-ray is set to be released on May 12, but we'd be very surprised to see copies of this relatively unknown film rushing off the shelves. The hype around Passengers was minimal at best, which is surprising, given Hollywood "It" girl and every woman's favorite leading lady Anne Hathaway has the starring role.

Passengers on Blu-ray is set to be released on May 12, but we'd be very surprised to see copies of this relatively unknown film rushing off the shelves. The hype around Passengers was minimal at

— May 11, 2009 09:25 in Blu-ray Movie Reviews

Rush - Snakes & Arrows Live DVD Review

Rush - Snakes & Arrows Live DVD Review

“Thanks to epic songs, fantastical lyrics and extravagant drum solos, [Rush] rocks on through the 21st century…the scope of [their] achievements is undeniable…” –Rolling Stone Surely this is a misprint, right? Rolling Stone magazine has something positive to say about the band Rush? Snubbed by the publication for years, it seems someone finally saw it fit to do a decent story on the band earlier this year during their most recent tour supporting Snakes & Arrows. The first leg of this tour began in 2007 and Rush has just released Snakes & Arrows Live on DVD.

“Thanks to epic songs, fantastical lyrics and extravagant drum solos, [Rush] rocks on through the 21st century…the scope of [their] achievements is undeniable…” –Rolling Stone Surely

— December 19, 2008 12:08 in Blu-ray Movie Reviews