“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter Google Plus instagram pinterest
Latest AV Stories
Ray Super Remote Product Preview

The Ray Super Remote is a "smart" remote in a more civilized time of smart phones/tablets that allows full control of your home theater and

Ray Super Remote Product Preview
NEEO Universal Thinking Remote and Smart Home Controller Preview

The NEEO Thinking Remote is a Universal Remote and Smart Home controller, and the most funded smart home project on Kickstarter. The perfect

NEEO Universal Thinking Remote and Smart Home Controller Preview
What is the Perfect Universal Remote Control?

We take a quick look at universal remote control designs and search for the perfect remote, one that will be simple to program to control all of

What is the Perfect Universal Remote Control?

Recently Reviewed Remote Controls

Ray Super Remote Product Preview

Ray Super Remote Product Preview

In this digital age of convenience simplicity is a necessity, especially when it comes to A/V devices. Over 20 years ago there was a surge in remote controlled A/V devices that spawned the development of universal remotes. To this day universal remotes physical size remained pretty constant from generation to generation. Enter the Ray Super Remote. A "smart" remote in a more civilized time of smart phones, iPods, and tablets. The Ray Super Remote promises the end-user the control of their devices, even their home security, with a simple touch or swipe of their finger.

The Ray Super Remote is a "smart" remote in a more civilized time of smart phones/tablets that allows full control of your home theater and security system with an easy to use touch screen interface.

— April 29, 2016 00:00 in Universal Remote Reviews

NEEO Universal Thinking Remote and Smart Home Controller Preview

NEEO Universal Thinking Remote and Smart Home Controller Preview

The NEEO Thinking Remote is a Universal remote and Smart Home controller, and the most funded smart home project on Kickstarter. it controls your Audio/Video gear in a way that few universal remote have before, features a smart physical design, and it also has smart home support for Z-Wave, ZigBee, Thread, Wi-Fi, and Bluetooth. It might be the perfect remote, and we got to see it in action at CES 2016. Read on to hear about our experience and be sure to watch our YouTube video overview.

The NEEO Thinking Remote is a Universal Remote and Smart Home controller, and the most funded smart home project on Kickstarter. The perfect remote? We got to see it in action at CES 2016 to show you.

— February 17, 2016 00:00 in Universal Remote Reviews

What is the Perfect Universal Remote Control?

What is the Perfect Universal Remote Control?

It seems like remote controls are the one piece of any equipment that we’re never really happy with. Many manufacturers seem to have given up. They know their remotes are barely adequate and trust that you’ll just go find a better, universal remote to use. We take a quick look at remote control designs and search for the perfect remote, one that will control all of our devices easily and be simple to program. Does the holy grail of remote controls exist?

We take a quick look at universal remote control designs and search for the perfect remote, one that will be simple to program to control all of our devices easily.

— November 09, 2015 00:00 in Universal Remote Reviews

Pronto with Peel Smartphone/Tablet Remote Preview

Pronto with Peel Smartphone/Tablet Remote Preview

The Pronto with Peel is a smartphone/tablet-based universal remote that provides customized TV-listings and program recommendations, along with IR remote functions. If Pronto with Peel delivers, your smartphone is set to become the single tool you need to find something to watch, fire up your system, and tweet your friends about it (please people, no spoilers). Imagine controlling your HDTV and Blu-ray player with your iPhone or android device? Pronto has and claims it to now be a reality. Our preliminary testing confirms this is the real deal!

The Pronto with Peel is a smartphone/tablet-based universal remote that provides customized TV-listings, program recommendations, social media integration, and IR remote and extender functions.

— March 15, 2015 00:00 in Universal Remote Reviews

Logitech Harmony Ultimate & Smart Control Remotes Review

Logitech Harmony Ultimate & Smart Control Remotes Review

We haven't reviewed a remote control in quite a while and there's a good reason for that. With a few minor exceptions, there hasn't been much movement in the residential remote control market. Until this year. This is the Logitech Harmony Ultimate and the Harmony Smart Control. Harmony busted onto the scene several years ago and was bought up by Logitech who then advanced the ergonomic design of the products and made them look a lot cooler. But the strength of the Harmony brand of remotes was always the extensive database of AV equipment.

Review: The Logitech Harmony Ultimate & Harmony Smart Control Remotes have reinvented Harmony yet again and brought them to the forefront of user-based remote control programming for the home theater.

— October 29, 2013 08:20 in Universal Remote Reviews

Roomie Remote Review: An iOS Remote That Can Do Almost Anything

Roomie Remote Review: An iOS Remote That Can Do Almost Anything

How cool would it be if you could control all your gear, including lighting, drapery, and home surveillance, from an iPhone or iPad in a slick, powerful, and spouse-approved app? Pretty stinking cool. Roomie controls all those devices plus the interface is great. However, there are some downsides. Read on for the full review.

In our review of the Roomie Remote we found it to be one of the most capable iOS remotes on the market, though it's not without its flaws. Read on for the full review.

— August 16, 2013 09:15 in Universal Remote Reviews

iRule iOS and Android WiFi Universal Remote Control System

iRule iOS and Android WiFi Universal Remote Control System

Thanks to all that great gear I review, I have another problem on my hands: getting all those devices to talk together. That requires a pretty decent remote. You see, while the average consumer upgrades once every couple of years, I have to upgrade every couple of weeks. And that kind of amps up my remote control needs. So needless to say I need a good remote. A couple of months ago we ran through a couple of batches of Bluetooth and IR remotes. But we only touched upon what we consider to be the next generation of remotes, the most powerful - the WiFi remote. This is a system that connects into your existing WiFi network and then allows your iOS or Android device to control your equipment without the confusion or hassle of Bluetooth or the hit-and-miss or line-of-site issues of IR.

iRule is an iOS or Android app that works on just about any device and delivers a pretty robust software interface so you can roll your own remote. And it works with Global Cache and other hardware.

— November 11, 2012 19:15 in Universal Remote Reviews

Universal Remote Control MRX-20 Network Controller CEDIA Preview

Universal Remote Control MRX-20 Network Controller CEDIA Preview

Universal Remote Control's MRX-20 network controller is a brand new whole home network control system and what they've done this time around is offer an alternative to the MRX-10, wrapping a video processing system into the mix. So you can sit there on your couch and actually overlay your system control on top of video. The new GUI lets you select from cable or satellite TV, Blu-ray, AppleTV or other source device and select that from within the Entertainment menu. You can also access lights, surveillance, photos and more. URC has added two new gyro mouses that are compatible with the MRX-20, the simplified TRG-100 for a simplified interface, and the TRG-200 which gives you a much more robust control interface for advanced users. To access, for example, cable TV, you just activate the gyro mouse and point the remote where you need it - it kind of works like the popular wii remote.

Universal Remote Control's MRX-20 network controller is a brand new whole home network control system and what they've done this time around is offer an alternative to the MRX-10.

— September 06, 2012 21:15 in Universal Remote Reviews

iPhone-based Remote Controls Review

iPhone-based Remote Controls Review

This is a weird review. We are looking at an assortment of iPhone-based remote controls. Some may not even look like remote controls, but they are. So for this video, we're not reviewing a product per se, but more of a genre. Let me tell you first how it came about. There are a myriad of iPhone-based remote controls on the market right now. We don't have all of them here, but we've sampled quite a few and we've formed more than a few opinions on the topic. I wanted to do this review because, well, the remote control market is a mess right now. Most companies don't quite get it. And the range of "not getting it" goes from "could use a little work" to "completely clueless". With that said, let's review the types of iPhone remotes...

This is a weird review. We are looking at iPhone-based remote controls. Some may not even look like remote controls, but they are. So for this video, we're not reviewing a product, but a genre.

— April 24, 2012 10:05 in Universal Remote Reviews

Sunfire Universal Subwoofer Wireless Kit First Look

Sunfire Universal Subwoofer Wireless Kit First Look

Information on the Sunfire Universal Subwoofer Wireless Kit is very thin right now. But at $80 each for the transmitter and receiver and the ability to pair two receivers with a single transmitter, color us intrigued. We know they are using 2.4Ghz transmission with 16-bit resolution and a 48 khz sampling rate. Sunfire claims 100% signal accuracy up to 25 feet given their digital transmission. Without more information about how many transmitters you can have working in the same room and how they are combating interference, our excitement will have to be subdued. At least until we get our hands on a kit.

The Sunfire Universal Subwoofer Wireless Kit costs $80 each for the transmitter and receiver and has the ability to pair two receivers with a single transmitter. Color us intrigued.

— May 25, 2011 05:35 in Universal Remote Reviews

ELAN "Killer Combo" Home Control Solution First Look

ELAN "Killer Combo" Home Control Solution First Look

The problem with custom install products has, traditionally, been cost. But the ELAN "Killer Combo" of the HR2 remote and HC4 Media Controller is much more than that. It is a home control system and it runs only $1860. That means you'll be controlling not only the volume and channel, but also the lights, heating, security systems, and more. Compete with i-app support, IP interface for control from anywhere with a connection to the Internet, and up to four system support, ELAN looks to make you a customer with this deal. Will it work?

The ELAN "Killer Combo" of the HR2 remote and HC4 Media Controller is a home control system and it runs only $1860. ELAN looks to make you a customer with this deal. Will it work?

— May 21, 2011 10:15 in Universal Remote Reviews

Peel iPhone, iPod, iPad Remote Control Review

Peel iPhone, iPod, iPad Remote Control Review

I've witnessed many advanced devices in the audio-video world. Peel, a new Silicon Valley company that hit the scene this year with the help for some well-placed venture capital, is aiming to undo even the legacy of Logitech's Harmony - if they continue on the path they're one. Peel has developed an iPhone, iPod, iPad-based remote control system that literally revolutionizes the way you'll want to consume TV. So what makes the Peel special? Simple. It allows you to effortlessly set up your system, and then it organizes your options by genre, presenting you with iconic images of what's on TV and asking you the simple question: "What do you want to watch?". And it doesn't even have to ask the question, really, because it's all right there - in front of you. It's intuitive. In fact, it's stupid-easy. Head-slappingly so, in a way that makes you look around and wonder: Why TV hasn't been this way for the past 5 years?

I've witnessed many advanced devices in the audio-video world. Peel is a new company with an iPhone, iPod, iPad-based remote control system that revolutionizes the way you'll want to watch TV.

— May 19, 2011 04:30 in Universal Remote Reviews

Universal Remote Control RF20 Preview with MRF100B

Universal Remote Control RF20 Preview with MRF100B

Universal Remote's RF20 is one of the solutions for basic home control. Now there are several things that make this remote stand out, but the most visual thing is that it has a backlit LCD screen that can be customized to control up to 10 different devices. The remote comes pre-programmed to operate virtually all brands of equipment. It can also do macros, which is like having the remote issue a bunch of commands to your gear in a row so that it turns itself on properly and starts playing a DVD, for example. Read on for more...Remote controls are funny. You don't realize how important they are until you use a really good one... that's not yours... then you get remote envy. It's not pretty.

Universal Remote's RF20 is one of the solutions for basic home control. Now there are several things that make this remote stand out, but the most visual thing is that it has a backlit LCD screen

— October 19, 2010 09:55 in Universal Remote Reviews

Denon Remote Control App for '11 Series First Look

Denon Remote Control App for '11 Series First Look

We'd love to tell you that you could (theoretically) throw away your Denon remote if you have a "Network 11" receiver but that just isn't the case. The app is free and it works over your network (which is cool) but it has only very basic functionality at this time. If you have a AVR-4311CI, AVR-A100, AVR-3311CI, or AVR-991, download it now (update your firmware if it isn't working on the latter two). If you are on the fence about a purchase of one of Denon's newer or older receivers, this shouldn't really sway your decision. Likely as not you'll still be using the remote from time to time.

The Denon app is free and it works over your network but it has only very basic functionality at this time. If you have a AVR-4311CI, AVR-A100, AVR-3311CI, or AVR-991, download it now.

— October 11, 2010 02:10 in Universal Remote Reviews