“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter instagram pinterest

Recently Reviewed Remote Controls

Recent Reviews

Recent Previews

Universal Remote Reviews Review

Roomie Remote Review: An iOS Remote That Can Do Almost Anything

— August 16, 2013 09:15

Roomie Remote Review: An iOS Remote That Can Do Almost Anything

In our review of the Roomie Remote we found it to be one of the most capable iOS remotes on the market, though it's not without its flaws. Read on for the full review.

Universal Remote Reviews Review

Peel iPhone, iPod, iPad Remote Control Review

— May 19, 2011 04:30

Peel iPhone, iPod, iPad Remote Control Review

I've witnessed many advanced devices in the audio-video world. Peel is a new company with an iPhone, iPod, iPad-based remote control system that revolutionizes the way you'll want to watch TV.

Universal Remote Reviews Preview

Ray Super Remote Product Preview

— April 29, 2016 00:00

Ray Super Remote Product Preview

The Ray Super Remote is a "smart" remote in a more civilized time of smart phones/tablets that allows full control of your home theater and security system with an easy to use touch screen interface.

Universal Remote Reviews Review

Universal Remote MX-450 Remote Control Review

Frank McCaulley — February 11, 2009 10:26

Universal Remote MX-450 Remote Control Review

Universal Remote has delivered PC free programming in a beautiful and solid package. With minimal time invested, a typical setup can be programmed in a matter of minutes. With little more than a

Universal Remote Reviews Preview

NEEO Universal Thinking Remote and Smart Home Controller Preview

— February 17, 2016 00:00

NEEO Universal Thinking Remote and Smart Home Controller Preview

The NEEO Thinking Remote is a Universal Remote and Smart Home controller, and the most funded smart home project on Kickstarter. The perfect remote? We got to see it in action at CES 2016 to show you.

Universal Remote Reviews Review

Niles iC2 Remote Control Review

— December 12, 2008 14:22

Niles iC2 Remote Control Review

The Niles iC2 remote control offers an option for those of us who prefer hard button remotes over the sea of touchscreen-based remotes that have flooded the market. For years, the original

Universal Remote Reviews Preview

Pronto with Peel Smartphone/Tablet Remote Preview

— March 15, 2015 00:00

Pronto with Peel Smartphone/Tablet Remote Preview

The Pronto with Peel is a smartphone/tablet-based universal remote that provides customized TV-listings, program recommendations, social media integration, and IR remote and extender functions.

Universal Remote Reviews Review

Philips Prestigo SRU8015

— September 25, 2008 07:29

Philips Prestigo SRU8015

Philips is well known for their Pronto line of remote control products, but they also make a rather large lineup of handheld universal remote controls. The new Prestigo line represents Philips foray

Universal Remote Reviews Preview

Logitech Harmony Ultimate & Smart Control Remotes Review

— October 29, 2013 08:20

Logitech Harmony Ultimate & Smart Control Remotes Review

Review: The Logitech Harmony Ultimate & Harmony Smart Control Remotes have reinvented Harmony yet again and brought them to the forefront of user-based remote control programming for the home theater.

Universal Remote Reviews Review

Logitech Harmony One Remote Control Review

— September 21, 2008 22:40

Logitech Harmony One Remote Control Review

When a new Logitech Harmony Remote arrives on the scene I like to review it to update readers on the latest models in the line-up. With the introduction of the Harmony One universal remote I felt

Universal Remote Reviews Preview

iRule iOS and Android WiFi Universal Remote Control System

— November 11, 2012 19:15

iRule iOS and Android WiFi Universal Remote Control System

iRule is an iOS or Android app that works on just about any device and delivers a pretty robust software interface so you can roll your own remote. And it works with Global Cache and other hardware.

Universal Remote Reviews Review

RF Universal Remote Control Review: TX-1000 Medius

— August 18, 2006 20:00

RF Universal Remote Control Review: TX-1000 Medius

When I was asked if I would be interested in reviewing a universal remote, I said what I always say, “Sure, send it.” But honestly, I had mixed feelings. There is something empowering in having a

Universal Remote Reviews Preview

Universal Remote Control MRX-20 Network Controller CEDIA Preview

— September 06, 2012 21:15

Universal Remote Control MRX-20 Network Controller CEDIA Preview

Universal Remote Control's MRX-20 network controller is a brand new whole home network control system and what they've done this time around is offer an alternative to the MRX-10.

Universal Remote Reviews Review

Universal Remote Control MX-950 Aurora Review

— December 19, 2005 19:00

Universal Remote Control MX-950 Aurora Review

My current remote control is Universal Remote's Home Theater Master MX-700. This is an excellent remote control, but was somewhat less impressive once I moved all of my home theater source components

Universal Remote Reviews Preview

iPhone-based Remote Controls Review

— April 24, 2012 10:05

iPhone-based Remote Controls Review

This is a weird review. We are looking at iPhone-based remote controls. Some may not even look like remote controls, but they are. So for this video, we're not reviewing a product, but a genre.

Universal Remote Reviews Review

Logitech Harmony 880 Remote Control Review

— December 07, 2005 19:00

Logitech Harmony 880 Remote Control Review

We continue to update our readers on the new remote control models from Logitech's Harmony line. Their newest consumer remote, the Harmony 880, departs from the norm and adds a 128x160 pixel full

Universal Remote Reviews Preview

Sunfire Universal Subwoofer Wireless Kit First Look

— May 25, 2011 05:35

Sunfire Universal Subwoofer Wireless Kit First Look

The Sunfire Universal Subwoofer Wireless Kit costs $80 each for the transmitter and receiver and has the ability to pair two receivers with a single transmitter. Color us intrigued.

Universal Remote Reviews Review

Wireless RF Remote Control Extender Review

— April 10, 2005 20:00

Wireless RF Remote Control Extender Review

Very seldom do I catch myself uttering the word "genius" silently to myself as I'm reviewing a piece of equipment. I have to say, I had my doubts about the Remote Control Extender when it was first

Universal Remote Reviews Preview

ELAN "Killer Combo" Home Control Solution First Look

— May 21, 2011 10:15

ELAN "Killer Combo" Home Control Solution First Look

The ELAN "Killer Combo" of the HR2 remote and HC4 Media Controller is a home control system and it runs only $1860. ELAN looks to make you a customer with this deal. Will it work?

Universal Remote Reviews Review

Logitech Harmony 676 Remote Control Review

— December 10, 2004 19:00

Logitech Harmony 676 Remote Control Review

We reviewed the Logitech Harmony H688 remote back in July and gave it rave reviews for its excellent ergonomics, programming and programming user interface. As Logitech releases more remote control

Universal Remote Reviews Preview

Universal Remote Control RF20 Preview with MRF100B

— October 19, 2010 09:55

Universal Remote Control RF20 Preview with MRF100B

Universal Remote's RF20 is one of the solutions for basic home control. Now there are several things that make this remote stand out, but the most visual thing is that it has a backlit LCD screen

Universal Remote Reviews Review

Harmony 688 Remote Control Review

— July 15, 2004 20:00

Harmony 688 Remote Control Review

The Harmony H688 was going to provide a new experience in that the application programming interface is online and the remote is arranged by activity, rather than by device. This review details the

Universal Remote Reviews Preview

Denon Remote Control App for '11 Series First Look

— October 11, 2010 02:10

Denon Remote Control App for '11 Series First Look

The Denon app is free and it works over your network but it has only very basic functionality at this time. If you have a AVR-4311CI, AVR-A100, AVR-3311CI, or AVR-991, download it now.

Universal Remote Reviews Review

Universal Remote MX-700 Home Theater Master Review

— February 21, 2004 19:00

Universal Remote MX-700 Home Theater Master Review

When I first heard I was to receive an MX-700 remote control to review I was mildly receptive. I was fairly happy with my Yamaha learning remote control, one that came with the RX-V3000 receiver I

Universal Remote Reviews Preview

Philips Pronto TSW9500 In-wall Control Panel First Look

— September 25, 2010 20:00

Philips Pronto TSW9500 In-wall Control Panel First Look

Philips Pronto previewed its new TSW9500 in-wall control panel. The TSW9500 is the first in-wall solution offered by Pronto and has been designed to utilize the same configurations of prior remotes.