“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter instagram pinterest

Focupix HDVio Electric Screen with RF Remote

by May 05, 2008
Focupix Electric Screen with RF Remote

Focupix Electric Screen with RF Remote

  • Product Name: HDVio 16:9 Electric Screen
  • Manufacturer: Focupix
  • Distributor: HTDepot.com
  • Performance Rating: StarStarStarStarhalf-star
  • Value Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
  • Review Date: May 05, 2008 08:10
  • MSRP: $ 399

  • Screen material: High Contrast Grey
  • Fabric: anti-static, anti-acid fabric (prevents dust accumulation, mildew proof)
  • Format: 16:9
  • Case Material: aluminum, titanium grey
  • Remote: RF (Radio Frequency)
  • Size: 110" diagonal (96" x 54")
  • Viewable size: 104" (91" x 51")
  • End-to-end size: 102" x 65"
  • Includes: Block wall mounting hardware

Pros

  • Super easy to install
  • RF remote with wired backup
  • Flexible power options
  • Quiet operation

Cons

  • No IR or 12VDC trigger control
  • Doesn't include hardware for stud installation

Introduction

We were more than skeptical when we first heard of the Focupix electric screens. Their retail price hovered around $799 for a 104-inch screen, however the typical street price was just $329.99. With a retail drop-off that steep we wondered how on earth anyone could pack enough equipment into the box to make this screen actually function. It turns out these electric screens must be easier to make than I thought. The overall quality and performance of the Focupix HDVio screen had us rethinking what an electric screen should truly cost the average consumer.
About the author:
author portrait

Clint Deboer was terminated from Audioholics for misconduct on April 4th, 2014. He no longer represents Audioholics in any fashion.

View full profile

Confused about what AV Gear to buy or how to set it up? Join our Exclusive Audioholics E-Book Membership Program!

Recent Forum Posts:

BMXTRIX posts on May 19, 2009 10:41
neokeelo, post: 568815
No I purchased the regular 110 grey one.

This one –? Product Code: FHV169AX-110-GY

I think if I keep it rolled up most of the time I wont get any waves for a very long time. It seems like waves develop more on manual pull down screens. I hope this is the case.

No, this is not the case. Rolling a screen up, or leaving it down full time has no bearing on it getting waves in the material. Non-tensioned screens get waves in them 100% of the time. They can have waves out of the box, or they will typically start to get waves within the first twelve months of use.

This is across the board, from every single screen that I have seen over the past ten years and is consistent with reports given by others who have owned electric and manual screens as well.

There are some BETTER non-tensioned screens out there, but they are often in the same price range as the tensioned Focupix or an Elite tensioned model.

While you did get a good price, you will get waves in that screen and that will make the screen a fair bit worse than just using a wall to project onto in due time.
westcott posts on May 19, 2009 08:48
neokeelo, post: 568815
No I purchased the regular 110 grey one.

This one –? Product Code: FHV169AX-110-GY

I think if I keep it rolled up most of the time I wont get any waves for a very long time. It seems like waves develop more on manual pull down screens. I hope this is the case.

Wow, I thought my memory was failing or Alzheimers was kicking in early until I checked the original dates. This thread is almost exactly a year old!!!!

Man, don't scare us old people like that. Our weak hearts can barely operate a remote.
neokeelo posts on May 19, 2009 04:40
No I purchased the regular 110 grey one.

This one –? Product Code: FHV169AX-110-GY

I think if I keep it rolled up most of the time I wont get any waves for a very long time. It seems like waves develop more on manual pull down screens. I hope this is the case.
BMXTRIX posts on May 18, 2009 11:09
Did you get the tab-tensioned version? I'm really interested in hearing about how you do/don't like it. I put up one of their fixed frame screens and while the quality of the entire thing was nowhere near what Carada delivers, it was good for those on really tight budgets.
neokeelo posts on May 17, 2009 02:46
I just purchased the 110" screen. I will post some pictures after I receive it and get it installed.
Post Reply