“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter instagram pinterest

DALI LEKTOR 8 Floorstanding Speaker Review

by February 18, 2009
DALI LEKTOR 8 Floorstanding Speakers

DALI LEKTOR 8 Floorstanding Speakers

  • Product Name: LEKTOR 8
  • Manufacturer: DALI
  • Performance Rating: StarStarStarStar
  • Value Rating: StarStarStarStar
  • Review Date: February 18, 2009 11:55
  • MSRP: $ 1800/pair
  • Buy Now

Frequency range+/- 3dB [Hz]:

38.5Hz - 27kHz

Sensitivity (2,83 V/1 m) [dB]:

89.5Hz

Nominal impedance[ohms]:

6

Maximum SPL[dB]:

112dB

Recommended amplifier power [Watts]:

40 - 180

Crossover frequencies:

600 / 3500

Crossover principles:

3-way

High frequency driver:

Soft textile dome

Enclosure type:

Bass reflex

Bass reflex tuning frequency [Hz]:

36

Connection input(s):

Single wire

Magnetic shielding:

Semi magnetic shielded

Loudspeaker dimensions including base and grille:

251 X 1059 X 370

Loudspeaker weight including base and grille [kg]:

24.2

Accessories included:

Manual
Rubber "bumpers"
Spikes M8

Pros

  • Looks
  • Plenty of bass
  • Wide soundstage
  • Great for larger rooms
  • Excellent off axis response

Cons

  • Bass can be overdone at times
  • No real option for non-carpeted floors
  • Imaging could be tighter

Introduction

DALI may not exactly be a household name in speakers - at least not in America - but they should be. The LEKTOR 8's would be right at home in a medium to large room and present a very easy load to amplifiers. The excellent off axis response makes placement a breeze. The real strength of these speakers is the soundstage. Wider than your room (or so it seems), the DALI Lekors wrap the music around you even in a two channel setup. For the price, the DALI's definitely represent a top tier offering.
About the author:
author portrait

As Associate Editor at Audioholics, Tom promises to the best of his ability to give each review the same amount of attention, consideration, and thoughtfulness as possible and keep his writings free from undue bias and preconceptions. Any indication, either internally or from another, that bias has entered into his review will be immediately investigated. Substantiation of mistakes or bias will be immediately corrected regardless of personal stake, feelings, or ego.

View full profile

Confused about what AV Gear to buy or how to set it up? Join our Exclusive Audioholics E-Book Membership Program!

mistergsf posts on March 16, 2009 15:51
Wafflesomd, post: 525613
The xover looks disappointing as well as the stamped basket woofers. Even the $150 Berry 2030p's have a better xover and cast baskets.

Just from the look of things, I would not pay $1800 for those.

Hearing is believing and looks can be deceiving. Trust me, I auditioned these speakers and was totally blown away. I own a pair.
mistergsf posts on March 16, 2009 15:44
Wafflesomd, post: 525613
The xover looks disappointing as well as the stamped basket woofers. Even the $150 Berry 2030p's have a better xover and cast baskets.

Just from the look of things, I would not pay $1800 for those.

Hearing is believing and looks can be deceiving! Trust me, I just auditioned these speakers this weekend and was totally blown away I bought them.
DaleAV posts on March 04, 2009 10:58
After reading the full review, I do have wonder about using iron core inductors.
But then there are decent speakers using air-core, that are far from high-end.
But I don't know any mid to high-end that would not use air core.
The caps are another thing. Dali typically uses Bennic caps which are considered upgrades, but not really audiophile.
Again, have not heard these for myself, but based on ‘hardware’ alone consider the Dali Ikon 6 sold for the same price ($1750) I think they are higher now…and has cast baskets, air-core inductors, superior finish from what I can gather, not to mention the ribbon-dome tweeters used by Helicon vs. just the domes in the Lektor…well, I guess times are tough.
For that matter even my OnWalls and center use the same ribbon/dome config.
DaleAV posts on March 04, 2009 09:25
Wafflesomd, post: 525613
The xover looks disappointing as well as the stamped basket woofers. Even the $150 Berry 2030p's have a better xover and cast baskets.

Just from the look of things, I would not pay $1800 for those.

The ‘Ikons’ have cast baskets, etc. But there are some great speakers out there with stamped baskets that sound very fine indeed ( KEFs come to mind), as well as mediocre ones with shiny aluminum castings.
Drag0nFly posts on February 28, 2009 18:37
Tom Andry, post: 525818
If you can swing three floorstanders up front, that might be a good option. You'll have to check with Dali if they even sell them individually (they might not).

That being said, we're doing a shootout of $1500-$2000 floorstanding speakers at the end of the month (look for the article some time in March). I'd wait until then before I made any purchasing decisions in this price range.

It would be great if you were able to review the Mentor 8s as well (been waiting quite a while for that actually); but I guess they fall a little out of the $1500-$2000 price range… Dali's been among my favorite speakers for some 15 years, and it would be intriguing to see how they stack up against the mid-to-high-end competition these days.

Tom Andry, post: 525818
One thing to say about DALI - they not only agreed to be in the shootout, they practically insisted on it. That shows me that they believe in their speakers if nothing else. I look forward to seeing how they do.

That makes two. Interesting review btw.
Post Reply