“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter instagram pinterest

Velodyne Digital Drive DD-15+ Subwoofer Review

by June 09, 2011
Velodyne DD-15+ Subwoofer

Velodyne DD-15+ Subwoofer

  • Product Name: DD-15+ Subwoofer
  • Manufacturer: Velodyne
  • Performance Rating: StarStarStarStarhalf-star
  • Value Rating: StarStarStarhalf-star
  • Review Date: June 09, 2011 16:05
  • MSRP: $ 3999 (sold direct)
  • Buy Now

Velodyne DD-15+ Specifications

  • Driver:   15” forward-firing
  • Amplifier (ClassD): 3000 watts Dynamic, 1250 watts RMS Power
  • Frequency Response: Overall 9.0 – 300 Hz (+/- 3 dB) 14.6 – 120 Hz
  • THD: <0.5% (typical)
  • High Pass Xover: 80 or 100 Hz at 6 dB/octave
  • Low Pass Xover: 40 Hz to 199 Hz (variable in 1 Hz crossover increments) selectable slope Default: 80 Hz @ 24 dB/Octave
  • Phase: 0 to 180 degrees (variable in 15 degree increments)
  • Polarity Adjustable: (+/-)
  • Magnet Structure:  39.7 lbs.
  • Voice Coil: Six-layer, 75mm
  • Cone: Fiberglass Rohacell Laminate

Inputs/Outputs

  • LFE (Mono) Line level (RCA), Nominal Impedance 47K,
  • Balanced (XLR), Nominal Impedance 10K
  • Input (L&R) Line level (RCA & XLR)
  • Microphone Balanced (Mini-XLR, cable included)
  • Speaker Bare wire, banana plugs, or spade lugs Level (L&R)
  • Thru (L&R) Line level (RCA & XLR) outputs
  • Output (L&R), High-Pass Line level (RCA & XLR)
  • Included Full feature remote control, DD+ accessory Accessories kit and video cable
  • Finishes:  Black gloss ebony, satin cherry or walnut

 Physical

  • Dimensions (H/W/D): 20” x 18.1” x 22.5” (includes feet (51 x 46 x 57 cm) and connectors)
  • Shipping Weight: 120 lbs.(approx)
  • Warranty: Three years (electronics) / (parts/labor) Five years (drivers)

Pros

  • Superb performance in a moderate box size
  • Excellent aesthetics
  • Tons of configurability options to ease installation

Cons

  • Pricey
  • Coarse resolution of included setup software limits its usefulness

Introduction

Based on our exhaustive testing, it's clear that Velodyne's new Digital Drive Plus series of subs deliver as promised and even exceed some of their own output claims made to us. You stick a robust 15" driver in an inert sealed enclosure with a hulking power amp and masterful servo and compressor, and you've got the recipe for good subwoofing which very few sealed competitors can compete with both in sheer output and pristine fidelity. The DD-15+ has proven to be a worthy successor to the venerable DD-15 that started the whole Digital Drive series nearly 8 years ago. The hefty price tag is about the only downside to this fabulous product, and the end user must decide if it's worth forking over the cash to don the Velodyne name in their theater room. If I were their competition, I'd be worried that Velodyne has just put most of them in checkmate with this very impressive line of well engineered Digital Drive Plus subwoofers. Highly recommended!

Confused about what AV Gear to buy or how to set it up? Join our Exclusive Audioholics E-Book Membership Program!

About the author:

Gene manages this organization, establishes relations with manufacturers and keeps Audioholics a well oiled machine. His goal is to educate about home theater and develop more standards in the industry to eliminate consumer confusion clouded by industry snake oil.

View full profile

Recent Forum Posts:

Irvrobinson posts on December 13, 2019 11:58
Irvrobinson, post: 1223000, member: 6847
Or perhaps Velodyne is sold off. To a lot of people the brand is still valuable.

I guessed correctly…
panteragstk posts on December 04, 2017 12:37
harq-al-ada, post: 1223015, member: 84252
Think? You don't actually know? Guessing? Really?

Looks? Really? You don't actually know? Guessing? Really?
Seem? You don't actually know? Guessing? Really?

A lot of guessing and nothing to suggest anything other than stirring the pot for a few page views. Get back to us when you do know what you're talking about…

Thanks for bringing up a 5 year old thread to show us how much of a fanboy you are. That coupled with insulting one of our very knowledgeable members is not a good way to start. If what we have to say upsets you because you think Velodyne is somehow the god of subs, you may want to find another forum to annoy.
KEW posts on December 03, 2017 21:15
Irvrobinson, post: 1223102, member: 6847
Sometimes, James, your sense of humor goes over my head.
He is in a mood tonight!
Not sure if he is on his meds, off his meds, or just got a “wild hair…”
shadyJ, post: 1223090, member: 20472
Personally I do prefer listening the speakers from the rear, it makes for an extremely warm sound that I prefer. People who listen to speakers that are facing them do not have an appreciation for good sound and are not true music lovers!

I like it!
Irvrobinson posts on December 03, 2017 20:38
shadyJ, post: 1223099, member: 20472
Hey that is not a cool thing to say, man. I pay MSRP for everything because I do not want to cheat anyone! Even when the dealer is really trying to give me a discount I still insist on paying full MSRP! No one will be able to accuse me of not carrying my weight!

Sometimes, James, your sense of humor goes over my head.

If one buys internet direct there's no negotiating. The price is the price.
shadyJ posts on December 03, 2017 20:25
Mikado463, post: 1223091, member: 78272
I've got a DD-15 in my kit, it has performed flawlessly for the past 7 years. As for msrp…….anybody that pays ‘msrp’ for anything should be institutionalized.
Hey that is not a cool thing to say, man. I pay MSRP for everything because I do not want to cheat anyone! Even when the dealer is really trying to give me a discount I still insist on paying full MSRP! No one will be able to accuse me of not carrying my weight!
Post Reply