“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter instagram pinterest

Epson 6500UB LCD Projector Review

by May 19, 2009
Epson 6500UB projector

Epson 6500UB projector

  • Product Name: PowerLite 6500 UB LCD Projector
  • Manufacturer: Epson America
  • Performance Rating: StarStarStarStar
  • Value Rating: StarStarStarStar
  • Review Date: May 19, 2009 11:05
  • MSRP: $ 2499 (after rebate)
  • Buy Now
  • Brightness: 1600 ANSI lumens (Dynamic mode)
  • Contrast: Up to 75,000:1 (full on/off)
  • Resolution: 1920 x 1080 native HD resolution
  • Aspect Ratio: Widescreen native 16:9 aspect ratio (4:3 resized)
  • LCD Panel: 3 x 0.74" D7 C2Fine
  • Optical System: Dichroic mirror separation and prism combine method
  • x.v.Color support
  • Video Inputs: HDMI 1.3a x 2, component, composite, S-video, and PC/RGB (HD15)
  • Video Processing: HQV Reon-VX; Pixelworks DNX; 120 Hz FineFrame
  • Control: RS-232C, IR remote, 12 VDC trigger output
  • Projection Lens: Fujinon lens F/2.0 - 3.17, manual focus & zoom (1 - 2.1)
  • Lens Shift: Vertical and horizontal (96% vertical, 47% horizontal)
  • Lamp: 200W UHE (ultra high efficiency) E-TORL; 4000 hours (low mode)
  • Power Supply: 100-120 volts, 3.3A
  • Power Consumption: 285W (high); 0.2W (standby)
  • Operating Temperature: 32 - 104 degrees F (0 - 40 degrees C); 20-80% humidity (no condensation)
  • Fan: 22-30dB operation (in low mode)
  • Remote Control: Backlit w/batteries included
  • Standard Accessories: Power cord, Wireless remote control unit, batteries for remote control
  • Warranty: 2 year parts and labor limited warranty, 90-day lamp warranty, including overnight replacement services and exclusive Epson PrivateLine toll-free technical support (U.S. and Canada only)
  • Dimensions: 5.4" x 17.7" x 14.2" in (136 x 450 x 360 mm)
  • Weight: 16.5 lbs (7.5 kg)

Pros

  • Excellent blacks
  • Super low standby power consumption
  • 2.1x zoom Fujinon lens
  • Quiet

Cons

  • Significant lag during gaming
  • 120Hz FineFrame mode unstable with fast motion footage and games
  • Limited digital zoom modes

Introduction

It's always surprising to me to see new projectors hit the market with better and better performance and less and less compromise - and at prices often identical to, or even lower than, just a year prior. It's like going out and buying a house with an extra 500 square feet and better upgrades than your own for 20% less than you paid a year ago. Come to think of it, just about anyone can do that right now. In either case, projectors like the Epson PowerLite Home Cinema 6500UB has more features, bulb life, and overall image quality than its predecessor and seems to be a real market leader in terms of performance and value. If you thought the Home Cinema 1080UB projector was a deal, hold onto your DVDs and read on…

Confused about what AV Gear to buy or how to set it up? Join our Exclusive Audioholics E-Book Membership Program!

About the author:

Clint Deboer was terminated from Audioholics for misconduct on April 4th, 2014. He no longer represents Audioholics in any fashion.

View full profile

Recent Forum Posts:

majorloser posts on August 28, 2009 11:27
BMXTRIX, post: 615670
I'm hoping we might start seeing far truer blacks (LCoS levels) with brightness that can hit 2,000+ lumens accurately.

And for prices well under $2K

(never hurts to dream)
BMXTRIX posts on August 27, 2009 21:29
cjsxv2, post: 615445
I currently have the Epson 1080ub. I previously had an Epson 1080, before that an Epson 7800P. When upgrading to new projectors the largest improvement Inoticed was from the Epson 1080 to the 1080ub. Ive seen a Epson 6500 as my friend has had one for a little while now. I didnt notice much difference at all between his 6500 and my 1080ub…. but maybe he doesnt have it calibrated properly. Has anyone else upgraded from a 1080ub to a 6500 and noticed “noticably” difference?
The reports from the pro sites which have tested both indicate that the difference in quality between the 1080UB and the 6500 is subtle. As is going to be the case for a while I expect, the improvements we see over the next few years for 1080p home theater projectors will be found through lower pricing and brighter models with similar contrast ratios.

I'm hoping we might start seeing far truer blacks (LCoS levels) with brightness that can hit 2,000+ lumens accurately.
cjsxv2 posts on August 27, 2009 13:30
I currently have the Epson 1080ub. I previously had an Epson 1080, before that an Epson 7800P. When upgrading to new projectors the largest improvement Inoticed was from the Epson 1080 to the 1080ub. Ive seen a Epson 6500 as my friend has had one for a little while now. I didnt notice much difference at all between his 6500 and my 1080ub…. but maybe he doesnt have it calibrated properly. Has anyone else upgraded from a 1080ub to a 6500 and noticed “noticably” difference?
dDavid posts on June 12, 2009 00:08
Clint,
I enjoyed your review of the Epson 6500UB. I am looking to replace my Yamaha LPX-500 with something with 1080 and better blacks. I have been looking at the Epson 6500UB and the BenQ W5000. I noticed you reviewed both and would like to know which you prefer? I am projecting from a ceiling mount 10'3“ back onto a 82” Firehawk screen in a living room with 96% light control (100% at night!)

Thanks!

David
ggraef posts on May 24, 2009 14:53
Measuring lag

So how do you measure lag? There is a lengthy thread at AVSForum with interesting lag testing methodology and results… Since I'm considering a 6500 upgrade I'm curious how it compares to my current projector…

Thanks!
GErry
Post Reply