“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter Google Plus instagram pinterest

Legacy Audio Focus SE Floorstanding Speaker Review

by April 08, 2013
Legacy Audio Focus SE Loudspeakers

Legacy Audio Focus SE Loudspeakers

  • Product Name: Focus SE Loudspeakers
  • Manufacturer: Legacy Audio
  • Performance Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
  • Value Rating: StarStarStarStarhalf-star
  • Review Date: April 08, 2013 18:40
  • MSRP: $ 9,650 (basic finish)/pair
  • Buy Now
  • System Type: 6 driver, 4 way
  • Tweeter: Dual Air Motion Tweeter System- 1" AMT Super Tweeter
  • Midrange: Dual Air Motion Tweeter System- 4" AMT Tweeter
  • Midwoofer: (2) 7" Rohacell reinforced-Silver Graphite, cast frame
  • Subwoofer: (2) 12" spun aluminum diaphragm, rubber surround, total enclosed neo motor, long throw suspension, with cast frame
  • Low Frequency Alignment: Assisted 6th order Butterworth, vented
  • Freq. Response (Hz, +/-2dB): 18-30K
  • Impedance: 4 Ohm
  • Sensitivity: (Room, [email protected] 2.83V) 95.4 dB
  • Recommended Amplification: 10 - 500 Watts
  • Crossover: 120, 2.8K, 8K

Pros

  • True full-range speaker
  • Wonderful highs
  • Exceptional treble smoothness
  • Detailed midrange

Cons

  • Plastic speaker grille pegs

Introduction

When the Legacy Focus SE loudspeakers came in, the debate raged once more in my mind: How influenced should I be by build quality? How much should I allow myself to get excited by the sound of a truly full-range speaker that can play low enough to make a pipe organ sound authentic? Or should I be more impressed and excited about speakers with enough dynamic headroom to handle the delicacy of a five piece jazz ensemble as well as a full orchestra? Legacy Audio's Focus SE speakers aren't exactly new, but Bill Dudleston's 25th anniversary edition adds the dual Air Motion tweeter (AMT) and super tweeter to make this something special indeed. At just under $10k/pair there is a lot of speaker in the Focus SE. So, read the review and find out if these are the right speakers for you.

Confused about what AV Gear to buy or how to set it up? Join our Exclusive Audioholics E-Book Membership Program!

 

About the author:

Clint Deboer was terminated from Audioholics for misconduct on April 4th, 2014. He no longer represents Audioholics in any fashion.

View full profile

Recent Forum Posts:

Art Vandelay posts on March 07, 2017 05:34
Sonic Guild, post: 1175682, member: 81934
Are they on the warm side or just neutral? I can't stand bright speakers, any thoughts?


I heard them at my local store which is a Legacy dealer, and really liked them.

I certainly wouldn't label them as reserved in the treble, but to my ears they're not overly bright or etched sounding, though I can still imagine them sounding a bit bright in a reflective room.

With some Legacy speakers in the past I've been aware of a slight discontinuity in the treble due to the high crossover point to the super tweeter, but with this latest SE model it was difficult to fault the treble at all.
Sonic Guild posts on March 02, 2017 14:43
Are they on the warm side or just neutral? I can't stand bright speakers, any thoughts?
Thunder240 posts on August 28, 2016 08:56
Clint, if you still have your notes from your listening sessions 3 years ago, can you compare to the Salk SS8, which the intro to your review you stated were in your house immediately prior to the Focus SEs? Also, any chance you can offer a comparison to the XTZ 100.49 Divine? These have been reviewed before on Audioholics, though I don't recall who was the reviewer.

Of course if anyone else is able to offer a comparison besides Clint, feel free to chime in.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
David C. Snyder posts on August 21, 2016 18:40
Bderringer, post: 1088846, member: 74612
Do these still have plastic speaker grille pegs?

Sadly, yes. Unquestionably the lowest quality aspect of these loudspeakers. The pegs are necessary to support the weight of the fairly elaborate wood and fabric grills, but metal pegs sliding into rubber sockets might have been nicer than the plastic pegs and sockets. I have one socket that sometimes comes out with the peg. One of these days, I'll put some glue on it so that it stays put.
David C. Snyder posts on August 21, 2016 18:37
bjski, post: 963089, member: 64396
Anyone know if Legacy is going to update the previous version of the Focus SE to the new tweeter's?

I'm joining this thread three years late, but Legacy updated the previous planar ribbon tweeters in my original issue FOCUS SE to the new AirMotion tweeters. Cost of the upgrade is about $2k but well worth it in my opinion.


before


after

Same loudspeakers, but obviously different systems and rooms since I had the upgrade done as part of a move out to the west coast. If you have not done this yet, definitely give Doug Brown or your Legacy Audio dealer a call.
Post Reply