“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter instagram pinterest

Oppo BDP-93 Universal 3D Blu-ray Player Full Review

by March 15, 2011
Oppo BDP-93 Universal 3D Blu-ray Player

Oppo BDP-93 Universal 3D Blu-ray Player

  • Product Name: BDP-93 Universal 3D Blu-ray Player
  • Manufacturer: Oppo Digital
  • Performance Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
  • Value Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
  • Review Date: March 15, 2011 05:05
  • MSRP: $ 499
  • Buy Now

Disc Types: BD-Video, Blu-ray 3D, DVD-Video, AVCHD, DVD-Audio, SACD, CD, Kodak Picture CD, CD-R/RW, DVD±R/RW, DVD±R DL, BD-R/RE
BD Profile: Profile 2.4 Profile 5 for 3D (and lower)
Internal Storage: 2GB (1GB for BD-Live persistent storage and varies with system usage)
Audio output: HDMI, 7.1ch or 5.1ch, stereo, Coaxial/Optical digital
HDMI Audio support: (up to) 7.1ch high-resolution PCM, (up to) 5.1ch DSD, bitstream/LPCM Dolby Digital, Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD, DTS, DTS-HD High Resolution Audio, and DTS-HD Master Audio
Video output: Composite, Component, HDMI x 2
Audio response: 20Hz - 20kHz (±0.3dB); 20Hz - 96kHz (+/-2.0dB)
SNR: >110dB (A-weighted)
Total Harmonic Distortion: < 0.002% (1kHz at 0dBFS, 20kHz LPF)
Power Consumption: 35W (0.5W Standby)
Dimensions: (16-7/8" x 12-1/4" x 3-1/8" (430mm x 311mm x 79mm)
Weight: 10.8 lbs (4.9kg)

Pros

  • Exceptional video quality
  • Flexible, dual HDMI outputs
  • Wi-Fi connectivity
  • Embarrasses most reference BD players

Cons

  • No Hulu Plus
  • Home Menu not "automatic"
  • Immature DLNA networking

Introduction

How do you upgrade the number one solution for Blu-ray on the market? It's hard, but Oppo Digital did it by adding 3D Blu-ray capability to their new BDP-93 (still) Universal Blu-ray player. Oh, and they changed the chassis to eliminate the one thing Lexicon's Oppo seemed to improve on their player last year. Plus they also added more network functionality in the form of Netflix and Blockbuster on Demand streaming movie services. Come to think of it, they switched over to the ever-increasingly, highly regarded Marvell QDEO video processor and even added a second flexible HDMI output that can be used for dual monitors, or for sending just audio to an AV receiver. Oh, and the player supports wireless-N networking out of the box. Holy cow, they did a lot, and I'm still in the intro of the review. Hold tight, this may take a while.

Confused about what AV Gear to buy or how to set it up? Join our Exclusive Audioholics E-Book Membership Program!

 

About the author:

Clint Deboer was terminated from Audioholics for misconduct on April 4th, 2014. He no longer represents Audioholics in any fashion.

View full profile

Recent Forum Posts:

j_garcia posts on May 22, 2012 23:23
jlettie, post: 886220
Hi
I'm in the market for the Oppo BDP-93. The main problem you are purchasing the Oppo brand blind. There are no high end A/V stores that sell the Oppo brand. The company has been pushing the both BDP-93 and 95. Oppo claims the 95 has the superior DACs for music.I cannot afford the the 95. When I setup my entertainment system I want to minimize the number of cables. I'm interested in finding out if I connect the BDP-93 HDMI1 output to HDMI IN on the receiver, HDMI OUT from the receiver to the HDMI IN on the TV. What will be the picture Quality? If I wish to play CDs from the Oppo through the receiver, how will the music sound? Do you believe the quality of the sound would be superior to any other Blu Ray player on the market? I'm not including the Oppo BDP-95.

Did you even take the time to read the review? It should MORE than answer all of your questions. If not, there are literally dozens of professional reviews and possibly thousands of user reviews.
Hocky posts on May 22, 2012 08:24
jlettie, post: 886220
Hi
I'm in the market for the Oppo BDP-93. The main problem you are purchasing the Oppo brand blind. There are no high end A/V stores that sell the Oppo brand. The company has been pushing the both BDP-93 and 95. Oppo claims the 95 has the superior DACs for music.I cannot afford the the 95. When I setup my entertainment system I want to minimize the number of cables. I'm interested in finding out if I connect the BDP-93 HDMI1 output to HDMI IN on the receiver, HDMI OUT from the receiver to the HDMI IN on the TV. What will be the picture Quality? If I wish to play CDs from the Oppo through the receiver, how will the music sound? Do you believe the quality of the sound would be superior to any other Blu Ray player on the market? I'm not including the Oppo BDP-95.

It'll be pretty much the same as any quality bluray player.
jlettie posts on May 21, 2012 19:23
Possible purchaser of Oppo BDP-93

Hi
I'm in the market for the Oppo BDP-93. The main problem you are purchasing the Oppo brand blind. There are no high end A/V stores that sell the Oppo brand. The company has been pushing the both BDP-93 and 95. Oppo claims the 95 has the superior DACs for music.I cannot afford the the 95. When I setup my entertainment system I want to minimize the number of cables. I'm interested in finding out if I connect the BDP-93 HDMI1 output to HDMI IN on the receiver, HDMI OUT from the receiver to the HDMI IN on the TV. What will be the picture Quality? If I wish to play CDs from the Oppo through the receiver, how will the music sound? Do you believe the quality of the sound would be superior to any other Blu Ray player on the market? I'm not including the Oppo BDP-95.
cpp posts on April 02, 2012 22:43
Is it possible to use the unit without any video connections just for CD and SACD playback
yep on the remote of the OPPO use the pure direct button

Sure press ‘Pure Audio’ that will remove the video.
j_garcia posts on April 02, 2012 15:31
Dave23, post: 876281
Considering this unit just for CD and SACD playback for the near term and using it in my home theater setup later on. Is it possible to use the unit without any video connections just for CD and SACD playback or do you have to use the on-screen GUI?

For multichannel SACD you will need to hook it up and configure it once for levels and default preferences. After that, you shouldn't need to have it hooked up.
Post Reply