“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter instagram pinterest

Lexicon BD-30 Blu-ray Player (Oppo BDP-83 Clone) Review

by January 15, 2010
Contributors:
Lexicon BD-30 BD Player

Lexicon BD-30 BD Player

  • Product Name: BD-30 Blu-ray Player
  • Manufacturer: Lexicon
  • Performance Rating: StarStarStarStarhalf-star
  • Value Rating: half-star
  • Review Date: January 15, 2010 14:30
  • MSRP: $ 3500
  • Buy Now
Analog Audio: 7.1ch or 5.1ch, stereo

Digital Audio: Coaxial, Optical
HDMI Audio: Stereo, up to 7.1ch high-resolution PCM, up to 5.1ch DSD, bitstream or LPCM conversion of Dolby Digital, Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD, DTS, DTS-HD High Resolution Audio, and DTS-HD Master Audio.

Analog Video: Composite, Component Video (Y/Pb/Pr, 480i/480p, 720p/1080i available for non-restricted content only)

Digital Video: HDMI with HDCP (NTSC: 480i/480p/720p/1080i/1080p/1080p24, PAL 576i/576p/720p/1080i/1080p/1080p24)

BD Profile: BD-ROM Version 2 Profile 2 (also compatible with Profile 1 Version 1.0 and 1.1)
Internal Storage: 1GB

Disc Types: BD-Video, DVD-Video, AVCHD, DVD-Audio, SACD, CD, HDCD, Kodak Picture CD, CD-R/RW, DVD&plsmn;R/RW, DVD&plsmn;R DL, BD-R/RE

Frequency: 20Hz - 20kHz (&plsmn;0.4dB)

Signal-to-Noise Ratio: >110dB (A-weighted)

THD+N: THD+N: <0.002% (1kHz at 0dBFS, 20kHz LPF)

Power Consumption: 35W (0.5W Standby)

Dimensions: 438mm × 329mm × 89mm (17¼ × 12 15/16 × 3½ inches)

Weight: 7.4kg / 16.3lbs

Pros

  • One of the best Blu-ray players we've tested

Cons

  • It's an Oppo BDP-83 with a $3000 premium
  • Questionable value to THX certification

 

It's an Oppo BDP-83. Normally we'd launch into a statement like this with more tact. We may, for example, wax eloquent about the Lexicon BD-30's beautiful chassis or it's billet aluminum front face. We could tell you about the heft of the unit, or the fact that comes double boxed with enough padding to warrant throwing it off the FedEx or UPS truck while it's still moving. While all of that is true, the Lexicon BD-30 is still an Oppo BDP-83 Blu-ray Player. And what's more, it's not just using the same parts - they actually stuck the player inside - chassis and all. This would be OK, were it not for the $3000 premium and THX certification. As Sherlock Holmes would say: The game is afoot!

In this article we prove this by showing objective measurements, pictures and even responses from THX. Lexicon has since then discontinued this player and in fact no longer "makes" Blu-ray players. In fact, THX ALSO stopped certifying Blu-ray player analog outputs. Read on.

Confused about what AV Gear to buy or how to set it up? Join our Exclusive Audioholics E-Book Membership Program!

About the author:

Clint Deboer was terminated from Audioholics for misconduct on April 4th, 2014. He no longer represents Audioholics in any fashion.

View full profile

Recent Forum Posts:

Methodical posts on July 27, 2016 19:34
I know this is real, real old, but wow. Good investigative work. I definitely appreciate it and would be pissed if I paid that premium of a price for a bootleg unit.
cvhcox posts on October 08, 2011 22:08
Oppo vs. Lexicon.

Dear Audioholics:

A couple of questions about your reviews and company. Do you get paid advertising on your web site magazine by the companies whose equipment you review, for instance from Oppo and Lexicon?

Do they send you samples gratis for review or do you purchase the equipment using your own funds? If ‘loaned’ do you have to return the equipment?

As a former subscriber of Hi Fidelity, Stereo Review and Consumer Reports your answers will allow me to properly judge your impartiality. After reading your comments about Lexicon, and their apparent outright fraud, you treated them far more civilly than I would have.

Chris
j_garcia posts on September 01, 2011 13:37
debauchee69, post: 828429
The business of America is BUSINESS and the foundation of American Business is INTEGRITY. Once it is questioned, it is never recovered (e.g. Portfidio Tequila, Beeches ‘Apple Flavoured’ Apple juice', etc.).

Everyone uses everybody's parts and designs and that is a given in the Electronics business, especially the high-end consumer electronics business. Lexicon didn't do that—they took a $500.00 unit and dropped it into a $3,500.00 unit and palmed it off as their own!!!

I don't have a problem taking one company's product and tweeking it to make it better. ModSquad made a ton of money tweeking ordinary MAGNAVOX CD players and the well heeled consumer paid out the nose for said tweeks.

I have a problem with Lexicon taking a $500.00 OppoBD83 andpalming it off as their own. There is no excuse for what Lexicon did—they could have put in point to point 9999.9 silver wire and leads, put in better caps and beefed up the suspension or power supply and still pocket about $2K. Lexicon didn't do that—it slapped on a $65.00 aluminum front place and a darker blue lt and called it a $3,500.00 Lexicon. In my mind, that is called t-h-e-f-t!!!

There is another villian in this (I can't really spank OPPO because they could claim ignorance in the con and I wouldn't be able to say otherwise ALTHOUGH THEY HAD AN OBLIGATION TO INSPECT THE LEXICON DB30 AND ASK WTF?!!) and that villian is Mr. George Lucus (THX Certification).

Lucus is the GATEKEEPER OF THE PROCESS. Had THX did its job with due dilligence in testing, THX would have prevented this con taking place. You can't blame OPPO because no OPPO piece is THX certified. Had LexicIon spent the money to bring the OPPO BD83 into THX spec, it could justify the $3K expense (kinda sorta). I now question the integrity of the THX badging process—since the specs aren't published (propriety info) how do we know ANY THX badge meets THX specs?

Why am I wringing my hands over this? I just came into a sizeable amount of money and I have allocated $50K just on my Home Cinema and another $200K on my ‘Music Conservatry’ (Mr. Plumb, the Candlestick, yada,yada,yada). Go on, ask me if I will be using Lexicon products? Ask me if I will bother with THX certification?!!! This is why America is in decline—profits over integrity!

Maybe you didn't notice, but this thread is over a YEAR old. The story is old and the flames have long since died out and new grass has already grown. Oppo doesn't even make the 83 anymore… So you are wringing your hands for no reason. OR, you are just spamming for no reason.
debauchee69 posts on September 01, 2011 01:19
When Businesses Fleece Americans, America gets Fleeced

santeini, post: 703268
Curiosity killed the cat,greed killed ………………….?

The business of America is BUSINESS and the foundation of American Business is INTEGRITY. Once it is questioned, it is never recovered (e.g. Portfidio Tequila, Beeches ‘Apple Flavoured’ Apple juice', etc.).

Everyone uses everybody's parts and designs and that is a given in the Electronics business, especially the high-end consumer electronics business. Lexicon didn't do that—they took a $500.00 unit and dropped it into a $3,500.00 unit and palmed it off as their own!!!

I don't have a problem taking one company's product and tweeking it to make it better. ModSquad made a ton of money tweeking ordinary MAGNAVOX CD players and the well heeled consumer paid out the nose for said tweeks.

I have a problem with Lexicon taking a $500.00 OppoBD83 andpalming it off as their own. There is no excuse for what Lexicon did—they could have put in point to point 9999.9 silver wire and leads, put in better caps and beefed up the suspension or power supply and still pocket about $2K. Lexicon didn't do that—it slapped on a $65.00 aluminum front place and a darker blue lt and called it a $3,500.00 Lexicon. In my mind, that is called t-h-e-f-t!!!

There is another villian in this (I can't really spank OPPO because they could claim ignorance in the con and I wouldn't be able to say otherwise ALTHOUGH THEY HAD AN OBLIGATION TO INSPECT THE LEXICON DB30 AND ASK WTF?!!) and that villian is Mr. George Lucus (THX Certification).

Lucus is the GATEKEEPER OF THE PROCESS. Had THX did its job with due dilligence in testing, THX would have prevented this con taking place. You can't blame OPPO because no OPPO piece is THX certified. Had LexicIon spent the money to bring the OPPO BD83 into THX spec, it could justify the $3K expense (kinda sorta). I now question the integrity of the THX badging process—since the specs aren't published (propriety info) how do we know ANY THX badge meets THX specs?

Why am I wringing my hands over this? I just came into a sizeable amount of money and I have allocated $50K just on my Home Cinema and another $200K on my ‘Music Conservatry’ (Mr. Plumb, the Candlestick, yada,yada,yada). Go on, ask me if I will be using Lexicon products? Ask me if I will bother with THX certification?!!! This is why America is in decline—profits over integrity!
metalhalide posts on March 26, 2010 17:17
THX reply

“The major focus of the THX Certified Blu-ray Disc Player certification is on video performance.”

Uhh, then why does THX do that cute little short with the robot and the cow-sound-can at the beginning? Seems like audio.
Post Reply