“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter instagram pinterest

Oppo BDP-83 Universal Blu-ray Player Review

by June 03, 2009
Oppo BDP-83 Blu-ray Disc Player

Oppo BDP-83 Blu-ray Disc Player

  • Product Name: BDP-83 Blu-ray Disc Player
  • Manufacturer: Oppo Digital
  • Performance Rating: StarStarStarStarhalf-star
  • Value Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
  • Review Date: June 03, 2009 00:25
  • MSRP: $ 499
  • Buy Now

 

  • Disc Types: BD-Video, DVD-Video, AVCHD, DVD-Audio, SACD, CD, Kodak Picture CD, CD-R/RW, DVD±R/RW, DVD±R DL, BD-R/RE
  • BD Profile: Profile 2.0
  • Internal Storage: 1GB (varies with system usage)
  • Audio output: HDMI, 7.1ch or 5.1ch, stereo, Coaxial/Optical digital
  • HDMI Audio support: (up to) 7.1ch high-resolution PCM, (up to) 5.1ch DSD, bitstream/LPCM Dolby Digital, Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD, DTS, DTS-HD High Resolution Audio, and DTS-HD Master Audio
  • Video output: Composite, Component, HDMI
  • Audio response: 20Hz - 20kHz (±0.4dB)
  • SNR: >110dB (A-weighted)
  • Total Harmonic Distortion: < 0.001% (1kHz at 0dBFS)
  • Power Consumption: 35W (0.5W Standby)
  • Dimensions: (16-7/8" x 13-1/4" x 3" (430mm x 336mm x 77mm)
  • Mass: 11.2 lbs (5.1kg)

Pros

  • Plays all disc formats
  • Inexpensive
  • Superb video quality
  • Embarrasses high end players

Cons

  • Slow BD-Live! performance
  • Expect some firmware updates

Introduction

Last year we reviewed the Oppo DV-983H universal DVD player which, while a couple years too late to market, was still an impressive product that redefined the price points for universal players. Now, with the only other universal Blu-ray/DVD player coming in at almost 10x the price, Oppo has finally beat the market and brings a true universal disc player to the home theater market that not only plays Blu-ray discs, but also DVD-Audio, SACD and, of course, DVD videos and CDs.

Confused about what AV Gear to buy or how to set it up? Join our Exclusive Audioholics E-Book Membership Program!

About the author:

Clint Deboer was terminated from Audioholics for misconduct on April 4th, 2014. He no longer represents Audioholics in any fashion.

View full profile

Recent Forum Posts:

j_garcia posts on April 06, 2010 20:10
Update on my issue with Max Payne BD and the new beta firmware: I dropped by their office here and they confirmed the issue. The disc plays fine with the 1224 firmware but not with the current beta release. They are looking into it. It played fine on the BD-80 with the current production firmware.
adk highlander posts on April 06, 2010 09:32
I've come across a bit of info that will be helpful to anyone using the IR input on the back of the BDP-83. It DOES NOT use a standard 3.5mm mono plug.

If you use a standard plug it can cause damage to the player.

Tip is 5v+, ring is signal and sleeve is ground and on most other setups the tip is signal and sleeve is ground.
PearlcorderS701 posts on April 05, 2010 18:38
PENG, post: 706354
PearlcorderS701, post: 706223
LOL reading your quote I realized I made a typo again. Instead of ……couldn't give up….., it should have been …..couldn't keep up…… Regardless, it is appreciated either way you understood it.

Can you try and put this comment into context again? I totally lost track of what we were talking about…:o
PENG posts on April 05, 2010 08:38
PearlcorderS701, post: 706223
PENG, post: 705924
Understood.


LOL reading your quote I realized I made a typo again. Instead of ……couldn't give up….., it should have been …..couldn't keep up…… Regardless, it is appreciated either way you understood it.
PearlcorderS701 posts on April 04, 2010 15:38
PENG, post: 705936
Assuming you are in the US is it possible for you to visit a best buy store and ask for a demo of the Pioneer BDP-320 or the higher Elite models? Those models did not fare as well as the Oppo 83 in synthetic tests but they do allow some adjustments for NR. Again, I find the XDE produces sharper pictures in general but the Pioneer and the Samsung produce smoother, slightly more noise free pictures. I only mention this again as I believe you said you prefer to have the video processing done in the player. The Edge is nice but it does cost a few bucks and it is a stand alone unit.

Sure, I can get to a local Best Buy (I am in the U.S.) and demo these players – I have heard that these offer better noise reduction (well, more effective) than most players out there. I will try and check this out; thanks for the lead.

You meant it's like the stock market months before it crashed in 2008?

You have to admit though, Oppo never really ‘hypes’ their stuff up, it has been a few enthusiastic users who might have exaggerated their superior performance to some degree. IMHO this sort of thiings happen with all sorts of products, including cars, vacuum cleaners etc., not just BD players.

I suppose there's something to be said about this.
Post Reply