“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter instagram pinterest

Denon DVD-A1UDCI Universal Blu-ray Player Review

by October 21, 2009
Denon DVD-A1UDCI Blu-ray Player

Denon DVD-A1UDCI Blu-ray Player

  • Product Name: Denon DVD-A1UDCI Universal Blu-ray Player
  • Manufacturer: Denon
  • Performance Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
  • Value Rating: StarStarhalf-star
  • Review Date: October 21, 2009 00:00
  • MSRP: $ 4,500
  • Buy Now
  • Plays Blu-ray DVD-Audio/Video, SACD, HDCD, DVD-R & DVD-RW, and DivX (v6.0) discs, CD-R & CD-RW, and MP3 & WMA CDs, digital photo CDs (JPEG/Kodak/Fuji)
  • Selectable output resolution and upconversion: 720p/1080i/1080p signals available through HDMI outputs; 720p/1080i signals available through HDMI or component video
  • Silicon Optix HQV Realta video processor
  • Supports BonusView bonus features and BD-Live found on some Blu-ray discs
  • Built-in audio decoding for Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio, DD/DTS, PLIIx & DTS Neo:6
  • Up to 7.1-channel uncompressed PCM output via HDMI
  • Bitstream audio output via HDMI for Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD, DTS-HD, and DTS-HD Master Audio
  • Dual HDMI digital outputs permit sending video with up to 1080p resolution to two displays simultaneously
  • AV Pure Direct mode lets you assign one HDMI output to video and one to audio
  • HDMI version 1.3a with Deep Color and x.v.Color™ support
  • Advanced AL32 processing for greater audio dynamic range
  • 192kHz/32-bit audio digital-to-analog converters for all channels
  • 1 set of A/V outputs (composite video, S-video, and component video)
  • 7.1-channel RCA audio outputs
  • balanced 3-pin XLR stereo audio outputs
  • coaxial and optical digital audio outputs
  • Denon Link jack (4th Edition) passes DVD-Audio, SACD, and CD signals to compatible Denon components
  • SD memory card slot for digital video/photo/music playback
  • RS-232C port for third part controllers
  • IR input and output for remote repeater systems
  • Ethernet port for downloading BD-Live bonus material and possible future upgrades
  • detachable power cord
  • 7-block construction protects against cross-interference between circuits
  • newly designed disc mechanism protects against magnetic influences, dust, and external vibration
  • S.V.H. (Suppress Vibration Hybrid) loader ensures stable disc rotation
  • remote control
  • 17-1/8"W x 5-15/16"H x 17-13/16"D
  • weight: 41 lbs. 11 oz.





Pros

  • Phenomenal picture and sound quality
  • Superb build quality
  • Makes for a perfect combo with Denon Separates
  • High end appeal

Cons

  • No audio/video streaming support for Netflix, Pandora, Youtube, etc
  • Very complex to setup
  • Excessive load times on some Blu-ray discs
  • Uber expensive

Introduction

The Denon DVD-A1UDCI Universal Blu-ray player exemplifies flagship performance and status from a company that continually strives to be the leader in high performance audio gear and transports. It flawlessly plays every disc format currently relevant in the marketplace. The fact that every output is always active on this player gives an end user and/or installer almost endless configuration options on how one could utilize this player. Whether I played back a Blu-ray, SACD, DVD-A or standard DVD, I was always in shock and awe at the end result. During this review process, I got a glimpse of a feeling professional car reviewers get when they have the opportunity to test drive that $300k Ferrari, only I didn’t have change my pants at the end of the test drive. Awesome product!
About the author:
author portrait

Gene manages this organization, establishes relations with manufacturers and keeps Audioholics a well oiled machine. His goal is to educate about home theater and develop more standards in the industry to eliminate consumer confusion clouded by industry snake oil.

View full profile

Confused about what AV Gear to buy or how to set it up? Join our Exclusive Audioholics E-Book Membership Program!

Recent Forum Posts:

jomark911 posts on November 15, 2009 18:14
As is in every other player.The difference is when used together with dl4 , that eliminates jitter.
High Fidelity posts on November 14, 2009 11:36
DEnon Blu-Ray players more importantly what is the audio like via HDMI.
tn001d posts on November 10, 2009 13:41
How does this player compare to the Denon 4010 blu-ray player. I love the tank size disc players that denon makes
Seth V posts on November 10, 2009 02:54
jomark911, post: 644162
Guys clearly the player is in a leaque of it's own , regarding either video or audio performance.
But specifically audio through balanced outs is phenomenal.

I totally agree! This players performance is superb! This is the best PQ and sound I've yet experienced from a Blu-ray player. And the fully balanced analog section is indeed phenomenal!

I've had my A1UDCI for 3 months now, and it puts a smile on my face every time I use it. It's an awesome machine!


Seth
Boerd posts on November 09, 2009 18:44
gliz, post: 638121
is a player like this really that much better than say the new Oppo?

I doubt it; probably some specs are better but I really doubt you would actually see differences. My, oh my - 4500$ for a blu ray player? That must be the “lottery winner edition”. For me it doesn't make sense.
Post Reply