“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter Google Plus instagram pinterest

Sonus Faber Chameleon Speaker Collection Preview

By

Summary

  • Product Name: Chameleon Speaker Collection
  • Manufacturer: Sonus Faber
  • Review Date: June 29, 2015 14:30
  • MSRP: $1,999/pair - Floor; $899/pair - Bookshelf; $549.00 - Center
  • First Impression: Pretty Cool
  • Buy Now

Floor model  - Chameleon T

Crossover Frequency: 2.5kHz and 250Hz

Frequency response: 38Hz - 25kHz

Suggested Amplifier Power Output: 40W - 300W

Sensitivity: 90dB

Impedance: 4 ohm

Dimensions: 41.7" (H) × 10.6" (W) × 14" (D)

Availability: April 2015

 

Bookshelf  - Chameleon B

Crossover frequency: 2500Hz

Frequency Response: 50Hz - 25kHz

Suggested Amplifier Power Output: 30W - 150W

Sensitivity: 87dB

Impedance: 4 Ohm

Dimensions: 12.4" (H) × 7" (W) × 11" (D)

Availability: April 2015

 

Center - Chameleon C

Crossover frequency between tweeter and midrange: 2kHz

Frequency Response: 50Hz - 25kHz

Suggested Amplifier Power Output: 30W - 150W

Sensitivity: 87dB

Impedance: 4 Ohm

Dimensions: Same as Chameleon B (according to the manufacturer)

Availability: April 2015

 

Executive Overview

Sonus Faber has announced their newest Chameleon Speaker Collection Series. These new models have been designed for both stereo and multi-channel applications and consists of three models: Chameleon T (floorstanding), standmount speaker Chameleon B (bookshelf), and the Chameleon C (center). According to Sonus Faber, the Chameleon speakers place themselves at the bottom of Sonus Faber's price segment and will be a direct competitor to price ratio most affordable Venere models in their respective categories despite the Chameleon series are handcrafted in Vicenza, unlike the Venere.  The overall design of the Chameleon Series is characterized by simple and clean lines. The cabinet has a slightly trapezoidal shape with rounded corners that bring to mind Sonus Faber's earliest models. The three speakers that make up the Sonus Faber Chameleon collection offer solutions for both stereo music lovers as well as for those who want to create a multichannel system for a variety of listening experiences. The entire cabinet is covered in leather, drivers flange is embellished with aluminum trims and side walls have a structure that houses the exchangeable side panels thanks to a system of pins which allows their simple removal and replacement.

chameleonfinish.jpg

Lets start with the floor model, the Chameleon T. This is a three-way ventilated construction featuring a 1" tweeter and a 6-inch midrange assisted by two 7" woofers. These would  certainly be our choice speaker in the series to review and see if it lives up to its medium/large environment range from the company profile.

chameleonfloor.jpg

Next, we have the Chameleon B which is a two-way, vented construction, and shares the same tweeter and midrange drivers found in the Chameleon T. Of course, not having dual bass drivers and a smaller cabinet means this speaker won't play as loud or deep as its larger Chameleon T brother.  However since it uses the same drivers and design philosophy, they should be timbre matched for a multi-channel configuration should one decide to use the T's for the front channels and the B's for the surrounds.

chameleon book.jpg

Last we have $899/pair the Chameleon C as center speaker. This one is a bit different from the rest because it is a closed construction design. It also features a 1" tweeter and double 6-inch midrange / bass drivers. In reality only one of them is a mid-bass driver where the second is a what we call a slave or passive bass.

chameleon center.jpg       centerrear.jpg

And what about looks? Well, that hasn't been an issue with Sonus Faber speakers. I personally find their speakers to be among the best looking speakers on the market. With the Chameleon speakers they have raised the bar yet again as they come with removable side panels that you can easily change to match them with their surrounding environment. There are six  different finishes available to choose from: white, black, metal blue, metal grey, orange, and red  (sold separately). I don't know about you, but this is something I appreciate very much. I'll take red please!

chameleon1.jpg

 
With the Chameleon speakers collection, Sonus Faber aims to bring to a wider, contemporary audience all the elements that made the Vicenza based company what it is today.  Given the pedigree of this brand, I believe we can expect good things from these beautiful speakers. Sonus Faber is known for its innovative style and design, quality of sound and craftsmanship approach to construction. Will they sound as good as they look? We don't know.... yet. We'll have to wait like everyone else. Let us know what you think about the new Chameleon Speakers and don't forget to share this with your friends!

Confused about what AV Gear to buy or how to set it up? Join our Exclusive Audioholics E-Book Membership Program!

About the author:

Tony is our resident expert for lifestyle and wireless products including soundbars. He does most of the reviews for wireless and streaming loudspeakers and often compares soundbars in round ups and helps us cover the trade shows.

View full profile

Recent Forum Posts:

gene posts on June 29, 2015 22:41
Dennis Murphy, post: 1088034, member: 29480
They certainly look elegant. But I didn't follow the comment about the 2-way needing a higher crossover point because it lacked the dual bass units. All else equal, I would expect the crossover point on the 3-way to be higher than on the 2-way, since you generally need a fairly wide pass band on the midrange to achieve a flat response in a 3-way. I checked the specs on the 2-way, but the listed crossover point is 50 Hz, which is some kind of typo. The crossover frequency on the center is, as expected, lower than on the 3-way (2000 Hz vs. 2500 Hz).
Sloppy peer reviewing on my part. Thanks Dennis. It appears the xover pt for the bookshelf and tower is the same (2500Hz).
Dennis Murphy posts on June 29, 2015 21:39
gene, post: 1088011, member: 4348
Sonus Faber has announced their newest Chameleon Speaker Collection Series. This new series has been designed for both stereo and multi-channel applications and consists of three models: Chameleon T (floorstanding), standmount speaker Chameleon B (bookshelf), and the Chameleon C (center). The Chameleon speakers place themselves at the bottom of Sonus Faber's price segment and will be a direct competitor to price ratio most affordable Venere models in their respective categories despite the Chameleon series are handcrafted in Vicenza, unlike the Venere.



Read: Sonus Faber Chameleon Speaker Collection Preview
They certainly look elegant. But I didn't follow the comment about the 2-way needing a higher crossover point because it lacked the dual bass units. All else equal, I would expect the crossover point on the 3-way to be higher than on the 2-way, since you generally need a fairly wide pass band on the midrange to achieve a flat response in a 3-way. I checked the specs on the 2-way, but the listed crossover point is 50 Hz, which is some kind of typo. The crossover frequency on the center is, as expected, lower than on the 3-way (2000 Hz vs. 2500 Hz).
TheWarrior posts on June 29, 2015 20:47
Leather!?

“Sorry Bill, can't go out tonight. Gotta stay home and moisturize my speakers!”

That said, that is a very aggressive price point for them! I hope the use of leather is enabling them to save in production costs over woodworking and endless days of clear coating. Having worked with leather, I hope its thick enough and that they padded the edges where they hide the seams so that over time, and a careless owner, won't see those edges start to discolor or crack!

I'd offer a sample of Dax Lanolin to go with it! Best leather moisturizer period!
gene posts on June 29, 2015 19:08
Sonus Faber has announced their newest Chameleon Speaker Collection Series. This new series has been designed for both stereo and multi-channel applications and consists of three models: Chameleon T (floorstanding), standmount speaker Chameleon B (bookshelf), and the Chameleon C (center). The Chameleon speakers place themselves at the bottom of Sonus Faber's price segment and will be a direct competitor to price ratio most affordable Venere models in their respective categories despite the Chameleon series are handcrafted in Vicenza, unlike the Venere.



Read: Sonus Faber Chameleon Speaker Collection Preview
Post Reply