“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter instagram pinterest

BenQ Joybee GP1 LED Projector Review

by June 16, 2009
Joybee GP1 LED Projector

Joybee GP1 LED Projector

  • Product Name: Joybee GP1 LED Projector
  • Manufacturer: BenQ
  • Performance Rating: StarStarStarStar
  • Value Rating: StarStarStarStar
  • Review Date: June 16, 2009 08:06
  • MSRP: $ 499
  • Buy Now
  • DLP Technology
  • 3LED Light source
  • Resolution: SVGA (858X600)
  • Light output: 100 lumens
  • Contrast: 2000:1
  • F=2; f=17.7mm
  • HDTV compatibility: 480i/p, 576i/p, 720p, 1080i
  • Color space: 120% NTSC
  • Bulb life: 20,000 hours
  • USB Reader
  • Audio 1x 2W speaker
  • Dimension: 5.3" X 2.1" X 4.7"
  • Weight: 1.4 lbs (0.64kg)
  • MSRP: $499
  • Warranty: 1 year

Pros

  • Small footprint
  • Bright LED output
  • Great for portability

Cons

  • Fixed lens
  • Large external power supply
  • Included case only holds main projector unit

Introduction

Projectors have gone through several iterations in the time I've been around. From old, clunky CRT systems to DLP and LCD systems, projectors have gotten brighter, smaller and more feature-rich. But with the introduction of the BenQ Joybee GP1, LED lighting is now taking front projectors where they have never been. With LED lighting, even a DLP projector can be smaller, lighter and more versatile than its UHP or similarly lighted counterparts. The projector is literally smaller than a stack of CDs, smaller than a Mac Mini, and smaller than my outstretched hand. Yet this incredibly tiny projector puts out 100 lumens from its single LED lamp, making it bright enough to light up an 80 inch screen in a darkened room.
About the author:

Clint Deboer was terminated from Audioholics for misconduct on April 4th, 2014. He no longer represents Audioholics in any fashion.

View full profile

Confused about what AV Gear to buy or how to set it up? Join our Exclusive Audioholics E-Book Membership Program!

Recent Forum Posts:

skpro posts on May 20, 2010 11:10
I bought the AAXA P2 Pico Projector. This pocket projector is pretty good, 33 lumen output at 800x600 resolution. For this I paid $319, i think its not expensive.

Check it out under products/p2_pico_projector.
Corporate Gifts posts on November 18, 2009 05:35
I have an Epson that did that same thing - a blue “bleed” on one side. I ended up replacing the projector because it turned out to be a bad LCD “engine” (the whole LCD assembly inside) which cost $2700 to replace.

It most definitely will need to be serviced by Benq.
BMXTRIX posts on November 01, 2009 00:40
ProjectZ, post: 641433
I see these smaller projectors as an alternative to the bigger ones. It's like sometimes you just want a cup of coffee instead of the whole coffee brewing machine. One is small, cheap and portable, the other isn't so portable but has a lot more uses. Both give you the same thing. Hope this analogy makes sense…lol :P
I've got another one…

It's like a motorcycle.

On the one hand, you need your car to get around to your office in the rain with all your files, laptop, and picking up clients and getting around. So, the motorcyle doesn't work for you. (business projector)

On the other hand, you need the mini-van to take the kids out, go to the grocery store, get to PTA meetings, and to go on the family vacation. (home theater projector) So, the motorcyle won't work for you.

It doesn't mean that the motorcycle doesn't get used, and isn't fun. It just is used for very limited, and very specific purposes which only are useful for a handful of people.

As long as people are fully aware of the limitations which the motorcycle has, then there isn't a problem. The problem comes in when people try to put the 12 bags of groceries, or the three people they are picking up for a meeting onto the back of the motorcycle… and then are suprised when they don't fit.
ProjectZ posts on October 30, 2009 18:16
I see these smaller projectors as an alternative to the bigger ones. It's like sometimes you just want a cup of coffee instead of the whole coffee brewing machine. One is small, cheap and portable, the other isn't so portable but has a lot more uses. Both give you the same thing. Hope this analogy makes sense…lol :P
JasonKoval posts on October 27, 2009 16:49
Sival has another LED 720p Mini porjector

check isival.com under projectors/mini-projector-mp720b1. support HDMI and 1080p, impressive.
Post Reply