“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter instagram pinterest

Yamaha RX-V463 5.1 AV Receiver Preview

By
Yamaha RX-V463

Yamaha RX-V463

Summary

  • Product Name: RX-V463 5.1-Channel Home Theater Receiver
  • Manufacturer: Yamaha Electronics
  • Review Date: April 08, 2008 10:05
  • MSRP: $349.95
  • First Impression: Gotta Have It!
  • Buy Now
  • Channels: 5
  • RMS Output Power (20Hz - 20kHz)
  • RMS Output Power (1kHz) 100W x 5
  • Total Power (20Hz - 20kHz) 500W (1kHz)
  • Dolby Digital: Dolby Pro Logic II
  • DTS : DTS Neo 6
  • iPod Compatibility
  • Compressed Music Enhancer
  • Neural Surround
  • XM HD Surround
  • XM Satellite Radio Ready
  • Component Video (In/Out) (3 / 1)
  • A/V Inputs (S-Video) 4 (3 S-Video)
  • Digital Inputs/Outputs [O: Optical, C: Coaxial] O: 2, C: 1)
  • Front A/V with Digital Input
  • Front Mini Input for Portables
  • D/A Conversion: 192 kHz / 24 bit
  • Surround Programs: 8
  • Night Listening Enhancer
  • YPAO (w/Optimizer Microphone)
  • On-Screen Display
  • Selectable Subwoofer Crossover
  • Multi-Channel Decoder Inputs: 6-Channel
  • Learning Remote Capability: Preset
  • Product Dimensions (W x H x D) 17-1/8" x 5-5/16" x 12-1/2"
  • Product Weight (lbs.) 17.6
  • Shipping Dimensions (W X H X D) 21-3/4" x 10-7/16" x 19-13/16"

Executive Overview

2008 has started off with some amazing prices and features being offered on budget A/V receivers. Just as the new high-end receivers gain new features and new technologies, so do the receivers on the low end of the price spectrum. This is the first time that basic HDMI functionality has been offered on receivers for under $350. This is a winning situation for everyone. Most would think that $350 would not get you anything of quality and in the past that would be correct; Not so anymore. The RX-V463 is a feature laden piece of gear that far from your budget receiver of the past.

With impressive audio processing power the Yamaha RX-V463 dives into territory once occupied by receivers costing twice as much or more.Those features include things such as 192kHz/24-bit DACs for all channels, 6-channel external decoder input, iPod and Bluetooth compatibility (via optional Yamaha YDS-10 YBA-10 docking modules) and YPAO for automatically optimizing the sound in your room. And if thats not enough for you then how about 3 HDTV compatible component video inputs, 8 DSP programs, a compressed music (MP3) enhancer, and the ability to view iPod song titles displayed on the front panel and OSD, Dolby Digital and DTS processing, and XM- and XM HD-ready. That is one heck of a feature set for a sub-$350 receiver.

With a rated power of 100 watts x 5 the RX-V463 is no pansy when it comes to power either. Yamaha has offered more bang for your buck than most for a while now, and this budget receiver continues in this tradition. And with Yamaha’s power ratings being very conservative, it is not unreasonable to think this little receiver will beat its rated specs. In short, there is more than enough power being offered here. rxv463back

In addition to dual HDMI switching inputs, there are three component inputs, three S-video inputs, and three composite video inputs - each with one output as well. For audio, five analog stereo inputs, 6.1 analog inputs, two TOSlink inputs and one coaxial digital input round out the receiver. The RX-V463 also has real binding posts instead of those cheap spring clip terminals that so often plague other budget units.

Like all of the newest Yamaha receivers, setup is could not be any easier with the addition of the on-screen Setup menu. This is a noteworthy feature in itself on a budget receiver. While it is not as advanced as the system found on more expensive Yamaha receivers, it is accurate and easy. Also offered is a new feature called SCENE buttons. SCENE buttons are like macros that are preprogrammed to launch a variety of commands. Build quality is very good and the unit weighs a solid 17.6 lbs. This is a great budget receiver.

Confused about what AV Gear to buy or how to set it up? Join our Exclusive Audioholics E-Book Membership Program!

Recent Forum Posts:

jtlf85 posts on July 11, 2008 08:14
Just bought the yamaha RX-V463

Hi guys, its my first post and its about this reciever. I just bought this reciever and still havent installed. I currently have a PS3 (HDMI), Cable Box (RCA), HD-DVD (HDMI), Satellite Reciever (Component). My question is the following, When i connect everything does it send the signal out of the reciever to the tv through the HDMI or Every input thats not hdmi need another output thats not hdmi? Ex. The ps3 ill conect it through the HDMI input in the reciever and output it to the tv through the hdmi output, the component cables of the sat reciever go in the reciever, do i have to concect an output for the reciever with another component cable or does it go out through the hdmi to the tv also? thanks!!
soulbreaker360 posts on July 02, 2008 19:34
accedental post
crackpipe posts on June 05, 2008 16:56
Your review helped me to buy it. Thanks again.
crackpipe posts on June 03, 2008 17:18
lazarus18, post: 409991
I have older Yamaha model - V461, but there is something very annoying. When I connect my HD-DVD player via HDMI I only get sound on my TV but not on my speakers. I have to use one more cable /optical/ to get sound.
Do you know if there is the same problem with V463 model?


The V461 is video pass-thru only.
gensler323 posts on May 13, 2008 17:25
now do all of the new yamaha x63 series pass audio via HDMI? or just the 563 and up?
Post Reply