“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter instagram pinterest

Klipsch Synergy F-30 Speaker System Review

by August 25, 2011
Klipsch Synergy F-30 Speaker System

Klipsch Synergy F-30 Speaker System

  • Product Name: Synergy F-30 Speaker System
  • Manufacturer: Klipsch
  • Performance Rating: StarStarStarStar
  • Value Rating: StarStarStarStar
  • Review Date: August 25, 2011 04:35
  • MSRP: $ 2,360 (w/SW-110 sub)
  • Buy Now
F-30 Floorstanding Speakers ($1050/pair)
Crossover: 1700Hz
Dimensions: 16" x 42" x 9.5"
Enclosure: Bass-reflex, front-firing port
Finish: Black Ash vinyl
Freq. Response: 35Hz-23KHz ± 3dB
Tweeter: 1" (2.54cm) Aluminum driver in 90° x 60° Tractrix Horn
Woofers: Dual 8" (20.3cm), magnetically shielded IMG
Inputs: Dual binding posts / bi-wire / bi-amp
Impedance: 8-ohms
Power: 150W RMS / 600W Peak
Sensitivity: 97.5dB @ 2.83V / 1m
Weight: 60lbs (27.2kg)

C-20 Center Speaker ($310)
Crossover: 2150Hz
Dimensions: 6.5" x 7.5" x 19.8"
Enclosure: Sealed
Finish: Black pica
Freq. Response: 82Hz-23KHz ± 3dB
Tweeter: 1" (2.54cm) Aluminum driver in 90° x 60° Tractrix Horn
Inputs: Binding posts
Woofers: Dual 5.25" (13.3cm), magnetically shielded IMG
Impedance: 8-ohms
Power: 100W RMS / 400W Peak
Sensitivity: 95.5dB @ 2.83V / 1m
Weight: 10lbs (4.5kg)
S-20 Surrounds Specifications ($499.99 pair)
Dimensions: 5.5" x 6.9" x 14.3"
Enclosure: Sealed
Finish: Black Ash vinyl
Freq. Response: 82Hz-23KHz ± 3dB
Tweeters: Dual 1" (2.54cm) Aluminum drivers in 90° x 60° Tractrix Horn
Woofer: 5.25" (13.3cm), magnetically shielded IMG
Inputs: Binding posts
Impedance: 8-ohms
Power: 100W RMS / 400W Peak
Sensitivity: 91dB @ 2.83V / 1m
Weight: 7lbs (3.2kg)

SW-110 Subwoofer ($499.99)
Amp: Bash Digital Hybrid
Power: 200 watts continuous @ <2% THD; 450 watts dynamic
Dimensions: 17" x 14" x 12.5"
Enclosure: Bass-reflex, front-firing slot port
Finish: Black pica
Freq. Response: 28Hz-120KHz ± 3dB
Max output: 113dB @ 30Hz
Woofer: 10" Active non-resonant Woven Fiberglass driver
Inputs: L/R Line-level RCA jacks, L/R High-level speaker binding posts, WA port
Impedance: 8-ohms
Power: 150W RMS / 600W Peak
Sensitivity: 104dB @ 40Hz
Weight: 35lbs (15.9kg)

 

Pros

  • Excellent imaging
  • Clean highs
  • Dynamic, punchy bass

Cons

  • Kind of boxy
  • Vinyl veneer is plain-looking
  • Driver size spec misleading on sub

Introduction

We review speakers from a variety of manufacturers, however Klipsch is one of the top-selling brands in America. The reason for that is they make products which play loud and have plenty of bass. They also have an incredibly good presence in both the custom installation and brick and mortar channels. Klipsch is everywhere. Of course, so is Bose, so it begs the question: Is a new Klipsch Synergy Series F-30 Home Theater Speaker System really something to get excited about, or not? We've played around with Klipsch in the past, even including the speakers in our most recent tower speaker shootout, and honestly they did really well. This time around we were looking at the new F-30 Floorstanding speakers, along with a full complement of surrounds, a center and a new S-110 10-inch subwoofer. That's a pretty nice matched system - and for around $2360, it's at a great price point for those looking to get into some serious 5.1 surround sound.
About the author:
author portrait

Clint Deboer was terminated from Audioholics for misconduct on April 4th, 2014. He no longer represents Audioholics in any fashion.

View full profile

Confused about what AV Gear to buy or how to set it up? Join our Exclusive Audioholics E-Book Membership Program!

Recent Forum Posts:

solarux posts on November 21, 2012 13:24
… much better now

Hey all, thanks for the tips here.
I finally exchanged my (Klipsch) KW-100 with an SW-112 subwoofer to better match my pair of Klipsch Synergy F-30's,
…and the difference is audibly noticeable. <- jaw-dropping !
I also heard an SW-110, and I'm confident it too could have easily done the job, but since I'm just running a “2.1” setup right now, the SW-112 and the Marantz CD6004 was the affordable limit, it all fit the bill nicely, for now.

The previous “KW-100” paired with the “F-30's” was just a bad package deal from BB (BestBuy), but that was my fault, haha, but thats ok, I'm learning quick about sub's.

I also tried setting my Yammy RX-V661 manually to:
Front -> “Small”
(sub)Bass Out -> “Subwoofer only”.
…but that only seemed to hold back the F-30's a bit, for some reason ?

Instead, Front -> “Large”, and (sub)Bass Out -> “Both” on the Yammy, provided the best sound for us.
- definitely gonna try and get a “YPAO” mic to help balance our rooms though.

No doubt, there is even bigger and better out there, but right now, for wifey's Opera, and our Jazz, and Blues, we have NEVER had it so good, sound-wise.
solarux posts on November 20, 2012 13:27
markw, post: 924973
For what it's worth, we have a “rickster71” posting here for several years now and your moniker could easily be confused with his. Since you're new and have only a handful (literally) of posts, i thought you might want to know that.

just sayin'

nope, I'm just another new kid on the block, forum-wise, here that is.
solarux posts on November 20, 2012 13:24
shadyJ, post: 924967
Hey Rickster, if you can swing up to the Klipsch Sw-115, that would be a far more formidable subwoofer. Its something to look into, anyway.

I hear you bud, and I'd luv to, but “could” is the word money-wise at this point, unfortunately, but we'll see,
EDIT: geeezus, they're well over a $1000.00 here (in Canada) ?! - ouch.
haha.
markw posts on November 20, 2012 13:15
For what it's worth, we have a “rickster71” posting here for several years now and your moniker could easily be confused with his. Since you're new and have only a handful (literally) of posts, i thought you might want to know that.

just sayin'
solarux posts on November 20, 2012 13:08
agarwalro, post: 924678
Maybe the recording does not have the kind of bass you are expecting. Do you get the desired slam when playing techno or movies known to have good LFE use?

Hi,
and sorry to keep you guys off-topic here, but ya, I was trying a few different bass-filled CD's as well as downloading/burning some extremely heavy bass mixes, and it felt/heard like the KW-100 couldn't quite keep up with the F-30's, they felt like they were clipping/flapping ? -sry for the poor adverbs here.

Then again, I just feel (and recently learned) that the Sub-woof should just do its job (for the below (~80 <- 100 Hz), only when it's needed, and not sound like it's “clipping” just to keep up with my (Klipsch) F-30's ?
Now, could it be the way my Yamaha RX-V661 Sub-woof out feeds the LFE/in on the KW-100 sub-woof ?, - is it bad?, I dunno?.

So, I'm doing what I think is best at this point, (since I don't have a “YPAO” for AUTO sound alignment), by throwing a hopefully “better” sub at it, (Klipsch SW-112), and hear it all again, and again, and again, …
Gawd, I guess I'm just throwing money at it, which I agree, is a bad way to “…process of elimination…”
Post Reply