“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter instagram pinterest

Optoma EP749 DLP Projector Review

by Scott Ceretti September 27, 2007
Optoma EP749 DLP Projector

Optoma EP749 DLP Projector

  • Product Name: EP749 DLP Projector
  • Manufacturer: Optoma
  • Performance Rating: StarStarStarStar
  • Value Rating: StarStarStarStar
  • Review Date: September 27, 2007 15:31
  • MSRP: $ 999
  • Buy Now

Display Technology: Single 0.55” DDR DMD™ DLP Technology by Texas Instruments

Resolution: XGA (1024 x 768), Maximum interpolated resolution SXGA+ (1400 x 1050)

Brightness (Typical): 2500 Lumens

Contrast Ratio: 2200:1 (Full On/Full Off)

Lamp Life: Estimated at 2000/3000 Hours (standard/economy)

Lamp Type: 230W SHP

Throw Ratio: 1.93-2.13:1 (Distance/Width)

Image Size (Diagonal): 34.67” to 305” (0.9 to 7.7 m)

Noise Level (standard/economy): 33dB/28dB

Remote Control: Fully Featured IR Remote w/ Laser Pointer

Monitor Loop Through: D-Sub 15 VGA Output (Functional in Both Normal and Standby Modes)

Projection Distance: 4.8’ to 39.4’ (1.5 to 12 m)

Computer Compatibility: XGA, SVGA, VGA, SXGA+ Resized, VESA, PC & Macintosh Compatible

Video Compatibility: NTSC, PAL, SECAM, EDTV (480p), HDTV (576i/p, 720p, 1080i)

Aspect Ratio: 4:3 Native, 5:4 &16:9 compatible

Projection Lens: F = 2.35 ~ 2.47, f = 21.83 ~ 23.81 mm, 1.1x Manual Zoom and Focus

Audio: One Internal 2-Watt Speaker

Weight: 4.4 lbs (2.0 kg)

Dimensions (W x H x D): 9.3” x 3.8” x 8.2” (238 x 96 x 210 mm)

Keystone Correction: ± 16 degrees vertical

Horizontal Scan Rate: 31.5 to 80 kHz

Vertical Refresh Rate: 56 to 85 Hz

Power Supply: AC Input 100 - 240V, 50-60Hz

Power Consumption: 300 Watts, < 7W Standby power

Operating Temperature: Operating: 5 to 35°C, 80% humidity (Max)
Storage: -20 - 60°C, 80% humidity (Max)

Displayable Colors: 16.7 Million, 256 shades of gray

Projection Method: Front, Rear, Ceiling Mount, Table Top

Uniformity: 85%

User Controls: Advanced Adjustability Options through the On-Screen Display

Security: One Kensington Lock Port

I/O Connectors: DVI-D w/HDCP, D-Sub 15, VGA for Monitor Loop Through, S-Video, Composite Video, Audio Mini-Jack, RS-232

Standard Accessories: AC Power Cord, VGA to VGA Cable, RS-232 Cable, Composite Video Cable, Remote Control, Batteries for Remote, CD-ROM User’s Manual, Quick Start Guide, Warranty Card, Lens Cap and Carrying Case

Optional Accessories: 15-pin to 3 RCA Component-HDTV Adapter, S-Video Cable, DVI to HDMI Adapter, GrayWolf II Series Screens, Ceiling Mount and Gold Service Warranty

Warranty: 1 Year Limited Parts and Labor, 90 Days on Lamp


Pros

  • Very Quiet Operation
  • Compact size
  • Convenient Carrying Case
  • Excellent Black Level Control
  • Great Quality under $1k

Cons

  • Jaggies on Standard and High Definition Settings
  • Default whites oversaturate and wash out images
  • No HDMI input
  • Remote not backlit

Introduction

I was thrilled to get my hands on this projector for my first review for the good folks at Audioholics. Understanding that this projector is intended to be a data projector more than a home theater projector, I wasn’t expecting great performance from it in that particular use. Wow, was I in for a surprise once I got started. At under $1000, this little projector is a real gem for either work or play. If you’re in the market for a powerful yet small and transportable projector under the $1000 mark… seriously consider this one.

Confused about what AV Gear to buy or how to set it up? Join our Exclusive Audioholics E-Book Membership Program!

Recent Forum Posts:

BrianATS posts on August 29, 2011 13:26
Wow, it has been a while . Just thought I'd comment because it's been a projector that lasts for years.
BrianATS posts on August 29, 2011 13:22
Wow, it has been a while . Just thought I'd comment because it's been a projector that lasts for years.
BMXTRIX posts on August 26, 2011 16:35
Holy Necrobump!

Had to go back 4 years to dig this one out of the gutter.
AcuDefTechGuy posts on August 26, 2011 11:11
When I see the name “Optoma”, I run the opposite direction!

It doesn't matter if it is a projector or a projector screen.

I run the heck in the opposite direction!
BrianATS posts on August 26, 2011 10:32
I agree with the performance on this model, it's been reliable for years for us. The connections on it are great for a lot of different devices.. laptop, dvd player, etc. I wish there was an HDMI input or the adjustable foot was a little better constructed, but still an overall great choice for presentation. Good review!
Post Reply