“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter instagram pinterest

Toshiba REGZA 46LX177 LCD Review

by December 10, 2007
Toshiba REGZA 46LX177

Toshiba REGZA 46LX177

  • Product Name: REGZA 46LX177 LCD Television
  • Manufacturer: Toshiba
  • Performance Rating: StarStarStar
  • Value Rating: StarStarStar
  • Review Date: December 10, 2007 13:39
  • MSRP: $ 2699
  • Buy Now

Viewable Screen Size: 46” Diagonal

Native/Optimum Resolution: 1920 x 1080 (16.7 Million colors)

Compatible Modes

HD: 480i, 480p, 720p, 1080i, 1080p/24/60

Color Gamut: 90% NTSC

Viewing Angle: 178° horizontal/vertical

Audio

2 x 10 watt speakers,

Video Processing

Progressive Scan, Aspect Ratio Conversion, CCS (Cross Color Suppressor), 3D Noise Reduction, PIP, Inverse 3:2 pulldown, Freezing Picture, 3D Video Processing, 3D Comb Filter

Installation Options

75mm x 75mm and 100mm x 100mm VESA 8 hole pattern wall mounts

Connectors

3 x HDMI-HDCP(1080p/24/30/60) + audio for PC

2 x YPbPr Component Video 480i/p, 720p, 1080i

2 x composite, 1 x S-video + L/R Audio (1) 480i

15-pin D-Sub (HD15)

RF (cable/ATSC antenna) input

Coaxial digital audio output

Fixed/variable analogue audio output

RJ-45/Ethernet (THINC system)

IR input/pass-through

Physical Attributes

Dimensions (w/o base): 44.6" W x 28" H x 5.1" D; 69.7 lbs (31.7kg)

Cabinet Color: Piano Gloss Black

Warranty

1 year parts & labor


Pros

  • Beautiful piano gloss finish
  • Three HDMI inputs
  • xvYCC/12-bit/Deep Color support
  • THINC file and email networking
  • Optical audio output with Dolby Digital/DTS support
  • DynaLight automatic/variable backlight system
  • Game mode to reduce lag time

Cons

  • No User RGB calibration options
  • 120Hz ClearFrame technology can cause artifacts
  • Single ATSC/QAM/NTSC tuner
  • No discrete source input buttons on the remote control
  • No RS-232

Introduction

Now that everyone is doing 1080p these days it seems the next big advance has to do with display “speed”. The new Toshiba REGZA LCD TVs sport 120Hz ClearFrame technology. This means that images are displayed twice as fast on the screen and flicker and display-induced motion blur is reduced. Toshiba is not the only game in town that has this technology but it is definitely promoting it well and introducing consumers to the ideas and concepts behind these faster displays.
About the author:
author portrait

Clint Deboer was terminated from Audioholics for misconduct on April 4th, 2014. He no longer represents Audioholics in any fashion.

View full profile

Confused about what AV Gear to buy or how to set it up? Join our Exclusive Audioholics E-Book Membership Program!

Recent Forum Posts:

Thunder18 posts on January 13, 2008 11:54
MDS, post: 356840
So now to add insult to injury Toshiba is releasing a whole slew of new models starting February. I've already proven I can go 6 months without TV so maybe I'll wait a little longer to see what these new models can do.

Anyone wanna bet that I'll get my whole house tiled before I pick another TV?

From what I've seen at AVSforum, I'd be surprised if their new models were any different. Both the HL167 series and LX177 series had this issue of not being adequately set from the factory. They didn't want to address it before and I'm loathe to believe they will address it now. I guess we can wait till the new model line is reviewed to see how much work they have to do to get an accurate picture setting. Why they can't just put the setting necessary to calibrate the set accurately in the user's control is beyond me. Hell, add a new button on the remote….all reset. Brings all setting back to the factory defaults. Make it one of those buttons that you have to press with a safety pin so it's not easily activated and there you go.
MDS posts on January 13, 2008 04:22
mtrycrafts, post: 356721
Because the ‘general public’ has no idea and don't care if they were impressed with what they saw in the store thinking falsely that is how it is supposed to be.
And, it is the ‘general public’ that buys most of the sets, not us.

I want to be part of the general public.

I am sick to death of this process of choosing a TV. As I've said the Toshiba was mostly pretty good to my eyes with the exception of the few cases where there was excess green when I thought there shouldn't be (I don't think it qualified as ‘green push’ where you saw green in the blacks - I never saw that). It was mostly the SD quality that annoyed me and with my limited experience with actually owning an HDTV for all I know that is all you can expect.

So now to add insult to injury Toshiba is releasing a whole slew of new models starting February. I've already proven I can go 6 months without TV so maybe I'll wait a little longer to see what these new models can do.

Anyone wanna bet that I'll get my whole house tiled before I pick another TV?
mtrycrafts posts on January 12, 2008 18:57
MDS, post: 355954
… no TV in the history of mankind has been shipped with an accurate gray scale (to the D6500K standard).

Because the ‘general public’ has no idea and don't care if they were impressed with what they saw in the store thinking falsely that is how it is supposed to be.
And, it is the ‘general public’ that buys most of the sets, not us.
jlahk posts on January 12, 2008 18:56
avaserfi, post: 356687
Most source material isn't necessarily 60Hz for example most film is done in 24Hz.

LCDs suffer from image blur where a fast moving image stays on the screen slightly (but visibly) longer than intended. Sometimes known as trailing this problem is due to the nature of LCD technology - having a faster refresh rate helps this problem by in a sense erasing the screen more often.

Another plus of properly done 120Hz refresh is that if your player does 24Hz output rather than having to deal with 3:2 pulldown to make the 24 frames match up to 60 you can just show the same frame 5 times and have less video issues.

Where you don't have 24Hz output though, doesn't the faster refresh rate just reapply the same image more frequently?
mtrycrafts posts on January 12, 2008 18:54
Thunder18, post: 356448
… I have to say I was a lot more easily satisfied before HD. I couldn't see any difference and honestly I didn't really care at that resolution. Now that I can see the grease in the pores on the actors faces I can clearly see something is wrong and it bothers me to no end.

See what happens to us when we know a bit more
Post Reply