“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter instagram pinterest

Pioneer PDP-5070HD Plasma Display Review

by June 04, 2007
Pioneer PDP-5070HD

Pioneer PDP-5070HD

  • Product Name: PDP-5070HD
  • Manufacturer: Pioneer
  • Performance Rating: StarStarStarStar
  • Value Rating: StarStarStar
  • Review Date: June 04, 2007 10:45
  • MSRP: $ 3000
  • Buy Now

VIDEO PROCESSING TECHNOLOGY

Pure Drive II Signal Processing – Full time 10-bit Digital Video Processing delivers a low noise, high contrast, natural colored image

ACE IV (Advanced Continuous Emission) for reproduction of billions of colors and improved grey-scale rendering in dark picture areas

Advanced Pure Cinema with 3:3 pull down so that film-based material on DVD, videotape or even regular TV will match the smooth and natural reproduction seen in a movie theater

Color Temperature Adjustment – 3 settings (high/mid/low)

Digital Noise Reduction – 4 Settings (off/high/mid/low)

MPEG Noise Reduction – 4 Settings (off/high/mid/low)

Digital CTI – Color Transient Improver (on/off)

Natural Resize

Natural Enhancer

Digital Chroma Decoder (10-bit)

CONVENIENCE FEATURES

Fully Integrated Media Receiver with Dual NTSC and ATSC Tuner with CableCARD™ Interface

Independent HDMI Inputs (10-bit processing) with the ability to accept a 1080p/24Hz signal

TV Guide On Screen® Interactive Program Guide for easy navigation of TV program services*

A/V Selection Memory – 6 options for viewing preferences (Standard/Dynamic/PURE/Movie/Game/User)

Aspect Ratio Control – 5 positions (Wide/Zoom/Cinema/ Full/4:3) “Dot by Dot” for PC

Split Screen/Picture in Picture display modes to view multiple sources at one time

Home Gallery offering a convenient way to view photos via USB connection

V-Chip Parental Control

New Remote Control with preset, glow in the dark, direct input selection and TV Guide On Screen control

PRODUCT DIMENSIONS

Display (W x H x D): 48-3/16” x 30-7/8” x 4-1/2” - With Detachable Speaker

Display Weight: 75.1 lbs.

VERSATILE VIDEO AND AUDIO CONNECTIVITY

Inputs

Independent Dual HDMI with Audio

Component (1 side/2 rear with Audio)

Composite [1 side/3 rear (1 rear with Audio)]

S-Video [2 rear (1 rear with Audio)]

Antenna A & B

USB (Mass Storage Class) (Side Input)

PC

Outputs:

Optical Digital Audio

Monitor Out – Composite/Audio LR

Subwoofer

SR+

SOUND TECHNOLOGY

13 Watt Stereo Amplifier With TruBass 2-Way Stereo Speakers

SRS® WOW/FOCUS/TruBass Surround Sound Audio

Bass Boost Loudness

OTHER

Table Top Stand – Included

Detachable Bottom Speaker – Included (PDP-S40)

Flat Wall Mount – Optional (PWM-F110)

CARTON DIMENSIONS

W x H x D: 53” x 38-1/4” x 20-1/4”

Weight: 113 lbs.

Pros

  • Great picture
  • Removable bottom mounted speaker
  • Good signal processing
  • Plenty of neat extras (freeze frame, USB input)

Cons

  • Price
  • Lack of calibration options

Introduction

My first display review was a plasma and I’ve long held that I prefer plasmas to LCDs (in general). It’s easy to make such generalizations when you’ve reviewed 3-1 plasma v. LCD. Pioneer has had a reputation for putting out quality displays and I’ve never had the pleasure of reviewing one. It wasn’t hard for me to get excited about a Pioneer review much less a Pioneer plasma review - even if it was "only" a 720p display.
About the author:
author portrait

As Associate Editor at Audioholics, Tom promises to the best of his ability to give each review the same amount of attention, consideration, and thoughtfulness as possible and keep his writings free from undue bias and preconceptions. Any indication, either internally or from another, that bias has entered into his review will be immediately investigated. Substantiation of mistakes or bias will be immediately corrected regardless of personal stake, feelings, or ego.

View full profile

Confused about what AV Gear to buy or how to set it up? Join our Exclusive Audioholics E-Book Membership Program!

Recent Forum Posts:

nellie7799 posts on August 04, 2007 09:18
kleinwl, post: 277924
Clint,

Why did they not send you the 5080? That is the hot new pioneer, not the older 5070.

Seriously. I love how the MSRP is $3,000 and one of the cons is “price.” I don't know where you're shopping but I just got my 5080 for 2600 shipped. You guys really need to get on the ball. Who cares about a display that is no longer current generation?
kleinwl posts on June 22, 2007 12:49
Clint,

Why did they not send you the 5080? That is the hot new pioneer, not the older 5070.
oasis posts on June 21, 2007 16:17
thank you sir.
Clint DeBoer posts on June 18, 2007 07:11
oasis, post: 274834
1.) could you recommend a good calibrator in my zip 32563
Check out http://www.imagingscience.com/isf-trained.cfm

oasis, post: 274834
2.) can RG-6 be used to deliver 2 different signals simultaneously and in opposing directions. i want to receive simultaneous OTA HD via outdoor antenna into the house and SAT signal to TV outside on back porch area using the same RG-6?
I don't see how this could be possible unless you switched it.
Lohrville posts on June 17, 2007 11:12
Pioneer PDP5070HD's Remote's Favorites Buttons

Has anyone successfully used the Pioneer remote's favorites buttons to use to jump to channels selected as favorites?
My cable box is made by Motorola and it responds to many of the buttons on the Pioneer remote when the little indicator under the flap at the bottom of the remote is moved to the mark for cable operation, but I cannot get it to switched to the favorite channels.
I have tried to follow the directions in the manual and can get the heart to show up for a selected channel. Once I hit “enter”, though, the window disappears and when I re-open it, the favorites channels show up, but the heart has disappeared.
If you have gotten this to work, please advise me as to how you did it, step by step.
Post Reply