“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter instagram pinterest

DISH Network ViP 722 Receiver/DVR Review

by March 13, 2009
DISH Network ViP 722 DVR

DISH Network ViP 722 DVR

  • Product Name: ViP 722 DVR
  • Manufacturer: Dish Network
  • Performance Rating: StarStarStarStar
  • Value Rating: StarStarStarStar
  • Review Date: March 13, 2009 06:20
  • MSRP: $ 499
  • Buy Now
  • Independently watch and record
  • DISH Network programming on two TVs
  • Record up to 350 hours of standard-definition (SD), up to 55 hours of high-definition (HD) entertainment or a combination of the two1
  • View and record HD over the air digital broadcasts2 on TV1
  • Supports Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound
  • Convenient On-Screen Caller ID3 with history
  • Widescreen Electronic Program Guide with easy search features
  • DishHOME Interactive TV for watching six screens at once and on demand entertainment, games, shopping, news, sports, weather and customer service
  • Free lease for NEW customers. Existing customers pay a fee of up to $200

Pros

  • Dual independent tuners/TVs (HD/SD or PIP)
  • Supports a backfeed for whole-home distribution
  • Record up to 55 hours of HD programming
  • Integrated ATSC and Dish program guide
  • Includes RF remote for Zone 2

Cons

  • Slow on-demand functions

 

DISH Network ViP 722 Introduction

While we love our DVD players and Blu-ray devices, the most used piece of AV equipment in any home theater is typically the television tuner. In the case of satellite television, like DISH Network, that's going to be your satellite receiver set-top box. When you use a device this much, it needs to be flexible enough to handle your needs, and powerful enough to give you the features you want - like digital video recording and an interactive program guide that works. For years we've used cable TV at Audioholics. This year that has changed, with some of our staff moving to Verizon's Fios service, and others, yours truly included, jumping ship to DISH Network.

We made the change to DISH for several reasons. For one, cable TV isn't very conducive to reviewing innovative new products. The latest model DVR I was using came out over 5 years ago and the utilitarian program guide and user interface hasn't changed significantly in as many years. Cable TV is rather stagnant for the money they charge. Satellite, on the other hand, is making inroads every year, with new technologies like MPEG-4 streaming and additional HD satellites popping up regularly. Even though cable TV finally started adding much-needed HD channels, it was time for a change - and that change was Dish Network.

1000-4-dish-turbo-HD.jpgSo with much anticipation I received the latest DISH technology, including their newest 1000.4 dish which had only been out in our area for a couple of months. It is a single dish solution capable of receiving signals from 61.5, 72.7, and 77 degrees West and is suitable for any Eastern US application. In the past I would have had needed to use two dishes to get the signals I am receiving from this single dish solution. Hooray for progress. This dish has three receiver output ports which support direct connection to either three single-tuner receivers or three dual tuner DISH Pro Plus receivers. We went with a dual tuner ViP 722 DVR since it would give us high definition and dual tuners which we could configure in a way that optimized our needs.

Confused about what AV Gear to buy or how to set it up? Join our Exclusive Audioholics E-Book Membership Program!

 

About the author:

Clint Deboer was terminated from Audioholics for misconduct on April 4th, 2014. He no longer represents Audioholics in any fashion.

View full profile

Recent Forum Posts:

anbleech posts on April 29, 2009 15:23
Vip 722 Dvr

Is there a way to download on to another drive programs from my VIP 722 DVR?
nvmarino posts on March 22, 2009 20:44
Hi Ho, post: 538089
I find the menus on my 722 to be for more intuitive and user friendly than the Comcast boxes. The icon based menus on Comcast boxes are horrible, IMO.

The new Sling Guide from the upcoming VIP-922 (minus the new remote and some other features) should be out for th 722 before too long.

SlingGuide is already out in beta for ViP 612, 622, 722, and 722k users - you can sign up at dish.sling.com. For the unacquainted, SlingGuide is a fully featured web-based interface for managing and controlling your Dish DVR. It can also function as a supercool way to control your receiver on your iPod touch or iPhone. In addition, if you've got a Slingbox connected to your Dish receiver (or a 922 when they come out), you can stream live TV or DVR'd content directly from the SlingGuide web interface.
Nomo posts on March 22, 2009 10:09
Clint DeBoer, post: 539640
Thanks for finding the 55 “minutes” typo. I'm going to get in line to review the 922 box as soon as it's available. It's a no-brainer and should make for a really cool review. I'm also going to have Tom Andry review the new OTA DVR they have which I think is a cool product for those who are going the antenna route.

Clint, I'm looking forward to your impressions of the VIP922.
I'm not so sure I'm sold on the GUI. I hate touchpads on laptops and this what it reminds me of.
It's hard to imagine how well a Harmony remote will act with it.

http://www.slingcommunity.com/article/32856/Dish-Network-ViP-922-SlingLoaded-DVR-Demonstration-2009-International-CES/
Warpdrv posts on March 19, 2009 11:06
I am curious, does the Dish 722 receive content as 720p or 1080i?

How can I tell…?

I just my 65" Panny pz850 yesterday, and I would imagine the scaler in the panny is better then the Dish receiver and it automatically upconverts everything to 1080p that isn't.

I'll be using the scaler in the Anthem D2v when I get it, but that info will also apply to get the best results down the road…

Thanks
Clint DeBoer posts on March 18, 2009 15:21
Thanks for finding the 55 “minutes” typo. I'm going to get in line to review the 922 box as soon as it's available. It's a no-brainer and should make for a really cool review. I'm also going to have Tom Andry review the new OTA DVR they have which I think is a cool product for those who are going the antenna route.
Post Reply