“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter instagram pinterest

Denon AVR-2307CI Receiver Review

by May 10, 2007
Denon AVR-2307CI

Denon AVR-2307CI

  • Product Name: AVR-2307CI AV Receiver
  • Manufacturer: Denon Electronics USA
  • Performance Rating: StarStarStarStar
  • Value Rating: StarStarStarStarhalf-star
  • Review Date: May 10, 2007 10:40
  • MSRP: $ 799

GENERAL

  • Power Output; Watts Per Channel - 100
  • All Channels Rated @ 0.08 THD
  • Weight: In Pounds - 28.6
  • Width (inches)   - 17.1
  • Height (inches) - 6.75
  • Depth (inches) - 16.4

 

SOUND MODES

  • Processor(s) – Bit Depth and Type - 32-bit Floating Point
  • Dolby Pro Logic IIx – with Cinema, Music, Game Modes
  • Dolby Digital Surround EX Decoding
  • dts ES Discrete 6.1 Decoding
  • dts ES Matrix 6.1 Decoding
  • dts Neo:6 Stereo-to-Surround Cinema and Music Modes
  • dts 96/24 5.1 for DVD-Video Processing
  • Audio Signal Delay (Sync. Audio with Video signal) – By source
  • Stereo/Direct Modes w/Pure Analog Path - via Setup
  • 5-Channel Stereo Mode
  • Video Game Mode
  • Mono Movie Surround Mode
  • Rock Arena Surround Mode
  • Matrix Surround Mode
  • Jazz Club Surround Mode
  • Virtual Surround Mode – For 2 Speakers/Headphones
  • Multi-Channel Stereo Mode - 5/6/7
  • DSP Effect Modes - 7
  • Auto Surround Mode (Analog or Digital Input Type)
  • Active Center Channel In All Surround Modes

 

CONNECTIVITY

  • True 24-bit/96-kHz Digital Input Capability
  • Assignable Digital Inputs
  • Digital Inputs: Coaxial - 2
  • Digital Inputs: Optical     - 4 including front
  • Digital Outputs: Optical - 1
  • Analog Audio Inputs, Incl. Tuner - 10
  • Phono Input - MM type
  • Source Function Renaming
  • Analog Record Outputs - 3
  • Front Panel A/V Inputs w/Cover * Composite and S-Video - * with Optical
  • Video Conversion – Composite to S-Video to Component
  • Video Conversion – Composite to S-Video to Composite
  • Video Conversion – Analog to HDMI
  • DVI/HDMI Video Inputs – Compatible with 1.1 Spec. – Multi-Channel Audio *1080p HDMI    *2 HDMI
  • HDMI Video Outputs *1080p - *1
  • Composite Video Inputs - 5 including Front
  • Composite Video Outputs - 3 including Monitor
  • S-Video Inputs - 5 including Front
  • S-Video Outputs - 3 including Monitor
  • Component Video Inputs x Bandwidth - *Assignable - *3 x 100 MHz
  • Component Video Outputs - 1
  • 8-Ch. External Analog Input
  • Banana Plug Speaker Terminals, All Channels
  • Cinema EQ
  • 56 Station Auto-Preset Memory Tuning
  • XM Satellite Radio 'Connect and Play' Ready – with optional antenna
  • Direct Function (Tone Bypass)
  • Volume Control Un-muting
  • Selectable Muting Levels (Full/-40/-20)
  • Video Select Control
  • RS-232 Port – Third Party Remote Controllers
  • IR Serial Remote In/Out terminals
  • +12v Trigger Output – Assignable - 2 x 25mA
  • Multi-Source/Multi-Zone (*Uses REC OUT) - 2S/3Z*
  • Pre-amp Outputs for Multi-Zone
  • Multi-Zone Pre-Amp Outputs – Selectable Output Levels - Fixed
  • Discrete Remote Power On/Off, Source Selection and Volume for Main and Second/Third* Zones
  • Assignable Amplifier Configuration of Surround Back Channels - with Volume
  • Speaker Time-Delay and Level Controls: L/R, Sub, C, Surr. L/R, Surround Back
  • Pre-Amp Outputs - All (8)
  • iPod Dock Control Port (Using optional ASD-1R Denon iDock)

 

COMPONENT TECHNOLOGY

  • Equal Power Amplifiers - 7 ch
  • Low Impedance Drive Capability
  • High-Current/Discrete Amplifiers
  • Independent Power Supplies
  • Dolby Digital, dts and DSP Modes – Analog Devices, HammerHead SHARC
  • 24-bit/192-kHz DACs - Analog Devices - AD-1835
  • Analog-to-Digital Conversion - Bit Depth/Sampling Rate - 24-bit/96kHz
  • Variable High/Low Pass Crossover Points (12/24dB) 40/60/80/100/120/150/200/250
  • Built In Time Based Correction

 

CONVENIENCE FEATURES

  • Front Panel A/B Speaker Selector
  • Auto Setup Calibration
  • Auto/Manual Room Equalization
  • Auto Setup Microphone Included/Type - Y/Mold DM-S205
  • Icon-Based On-Screen Display
  • Front Panel System Setup Control
  • Personal Memory Plus
  • System Setup/Surround Parameters Lockout
  • Relay-Controlled Protection Circuits
  • Microprocessor User Re-set
  • Detachable Power Cord
  • Pre-programmed (10 Devices) Glow Key Remote Control with Punch Through Commands - Y/RC-1043

Pros

  • Lots of connections
  • Plenty of power
  • HDMI/Component upconversion of all video inputs
  • Easy to use and customize
  • Sneaky little remote

Cons

  • Setup can be a little confusing at first
  • Zone 2 can only accept analogue inputs

 

Denon AVR-2307CI

When Denon adds the CI suffix to a model number, I fear most users don’t know what to think. CI? It is more expensive so it must be better right? Well, for the most part the CI (Custom Integration) adds advanced connectivity and control features… whatever they are. RS-232? What does that do again? Just remember this; installers are interested in ease of use. They want the receiver to do more switching, more auto sensing, and assignable, renameable, and multiple inputs. Actually, I want that too. And so should you. The AVR-2307CI can convert everything up to HDMI (including composite video) so you theoretically should be able to run one cable to your display (with some caveats – see below). They have dedicated inputs for iPods and it is XM Radio ready. It’s got an auto EQ and auto calibration (not the famed Audyssey but it is something) and a manual EQ. So, while you may be uninterested in the RS-232 port on the back, don’t think that the CI designation isn’t for you. ‘Cause it is.

About the author:
author portrait

As Associate Editor at Audioholics, Tom promises to the best of his ability to give each review the same amount of attention, consideration, and thoughtfulness as possible and keep his writings free from undue bias and preconceptions. Any indication, either internally or from another, that bias has entered into his review will be immediately investigated. Substantiation of mistakes or bias will be immediately corrected regardless of personal stake, feelings, or ego.

View full profile

Confused about what AV Gear to buy or how to set it up? Join our Exclusive Audioholics E-Book Membership Program!

Recent Forum Posts:

talex_us posts on May 29, 2007 21:38
Davemcc, post: 272340
Just a couple more simple things to check, but you probably already have. Check the DVD setup menu that it's output is set to HDMI, check the physical HDMI connection that it's securely in it's port and scroll through the input settings from the button under the back cover to be sure the input select is on auto. After that, I'm out of ideas.

That's a good idea. I'll check the DVD setup too. But I am getting video via the HDMI connection, just not audio so I'm optimistic on that. I'm suspecting a hardware problem with my DVD player.
Davemcc posts on May 29, 2007 08:09
talex_us, post: 272303
Thanks for your advice. I have already double-checked the HDMI assignments for DVD, and the audio in matches the video assignment. Still, I cannot get any sound from my DVD player.

I'm suspecting that my configuration is correct, and that it is my DVD player that is acting up. I'm going to hook up the DVD player to another HDMI set to see if I get sound.

Just a couple more simple things to check, but you probably already have. Check the DVD setup menu that it's output is set to HDMI, check the physical HDMI connection that it's securely in it's port and scroll through the input settings from the button under the back cover to be sure the input select is on auto. After that, I'm out of ideas.
talex_us posts on May 28, 2007 23:41
Davemcc, post: 272243
Try going into the setup menu, audio in and make sure DVD has assigned to it HDMI 1 or 2, whichever input DVD uses.

Thanks for your advice. I have already double-checked the HDMI assignments for DVD, and the audio in matches the video assignment. Still, I cannot get any sound from my DVD player.

I'm suspecting that my configuration is correct, and that it is my DVD player that is acting up. I'm going to hook up the DVD player to another HDMI set to see if I get sound.
PENG posts on May 28, 2007 19:24
Rob Babcock, post: 269180
Nice review, but I wonder if something is wrong with your 3805? Mine has no problem with the OSD thru component input, although the same can't be said for my older 3802. I've never even had S-Vid or composite hooked up to my 3805, btw.

Same here, I don't use the composite at all, the OSD works fine via the component video cables.
Davemcc posts on May 28, 2007 19:11
Try going into the setup menu, audio in and make sure DVD has assigned to it HDMI 1 or 2, whichever input DVD uses.
Post Reply