“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter instagram pinterest

Onkyo HT-S6200 Home Theater System First Look

By
Onkyo HT-S6200 Home Theater System

Onkyo HT-S6200 Home Theater System

Summary

  • Product Name: HT-S6200 Home Theater System
  • Manufacturer: Onkyo USA
  • Review Date: February 14, 2010 20:05
  • MSRP: $699.00
  • First Impression: Gotta Have It!
  • Buy Now
Power Output
Front L/R/C/Surround: 130 W/Channel (6 ohms, 1 kHz, FTC)
Dynamic Power: 180 W (3 ohms); 160 W (4 ohms); 100 W (8 ohms)
THD (Total Harmonic Distortion): 1 % (Rated power)
Damping Factor: 60 (Front, 1 kHz, 8 ohms)
Input Sensitivity and Impedance: 200 mV/47 k-ohms (Line)
Output Level and Impedance: 200 mV/2.2 kohms (Rec out)
Frequency Response: 5 Hz–100 kHz/ +1 dB, -3 dB (Direct mode)
Tone Control: ±10 dB, 50 Hz (Bass); ±10 dB, 20 kHz (Treble)
Signal-to-Noise Ratio: 106 dB (Line, IHF-A)
Speaker Impedance: 6 ohms–16 ohms
Subwoofer: 290W
All discrete amplifier circuitry

FM/AM Preset Memory: 30 stations

General
Power Consumption: 4.9 A
Standby Power Consumption: 0.1 W
Dimensions (W x H x D): 17-1/8" x 5-15/16" x 12-15/16" (435 x 151 x 329 mm)
Weight: 19.6 lbs. (8.9 kg)
Speaker Type
     Front/Center: 2-way, bass reflex
     Surrounds: Full-range, bass reflex
     Subwoofer: Bass reflex, powered
Drivers
     Front: 4" woofer (x2), 1" tweeter
     Center: 4" woofer (x2), 1" tweeter
     Surround/Surround Back: 3-1/4" cone
     Subwoofer: 10" cone
Frequency Response   
     Front/Center: 60 Hz–50 kHz
     Surround/Surround Back: 70 Hz–20 kHz
     Subwoofer: 25 Hz–150 Hz
Output Sensitivity   
     Front/Center: 81 dB/W/m
     Surround/Back: 81 dB/W/m
Nominal Impedance  
     Front/Center/Surround/Surround Back: 6 ohms

Dimensions (W x H x D)
     Front: 4-3/4" x 9-1/8" x 4-13/16"
     Center: 9-1/8" x 4-3/4" x 5-1/16"
     Surround/Back: 4-3/4" x 9-1/8" x 4-13/16"
     Subwoofer: 10-13/16" x 19-15/16" x 16-3/16"
Weight   
     Front/Center: 2.4 lbs (1.1 kg)
     Surrounds/Back: 1.8 lbs. (0.8 kg)
     Subwoofer: 25.6 lbs. (11.6 kg)

Executive Overview

You want home theater? Full functionality doesn't get much cheaper than the Onkyo HT-S6200. This is 7.1-channel system with nearly all the trimmings - all packed into a nice, convenient box you can give to somebody... or, yourself. This home-theater-in-a-box includes a full A/V receiver and complete 7.1 speaker package. The very reasonable $699 retail price of the HT-S6200 makes it a compelling buy for those looking to move their way firmly into the surround sound experience. The package includes the dedicated A/V receiver, a 10-inch powered subwoofer, Front speakers, a Center channel, and two pairs of Surround and Surround Back speakers. It's a highly upgradable system, though there are some things you'll want to watch out for, and we indicate those below.

With a system like this you'll need to keep your expectations in check since Onkyo had to release a feature set that kept to the target price point for this product. Coming in under $700, it's hard to be too disappointed at the lack of on-screen display or 5.1 preamp inputs or outputs, especially since they throw in an iPod dock - extra on most systems. If you are using several types of inputs you'll need to be aware the for each type you use, you'll need to run that cable from the receiver to your television or projector. There is no video upconversion, so composite in = composite out, component video in = component video out, and HDMI in... well, you get the point. If you want a single input to use on your TV, you'll need to upgrade to the $899 HT-S7200... or be content to press that little "Input" button on the TV remote (bet you didn't know that button was worth $200!)

Let's analyze the primary components on their own:

HT-R670 A/V Receiver

This dedicated receiver features four HDMI "repeater" inputs for high-definition audio and video. This is a super-convenient solution that allows you to connect all of your HD video sources into the receiver for simplified switching. It also eliminates, for sources with HDMI outputs, the need for separate audio cables. Since the HDMI inputs are fully active they are capable of retrieving and decoding the Dolby TrueHD and dts-HD audio from an HDMI signal. With no analogue inputs, that means HDMI is the only way (and coincidentally, the best way) to get the new high resolution audio formats off of Blu-ray discs.

The system also includes Audyssey Dynamic EQ, and Audyssey Dynamic Volume which levels out the volume between program material and overly compressed commercials. It also includes a setup mic for auto-calibration of your system and you can use the included UP-A1 dock to integrate an iPod (with both audio and video support). Onkyo’s new DSP modes are optimized for gaming and there are four modes: Rock, Sports, Action, or Role Playing Game (RPG). Neither reduces lag time, but since the Onkyo receiver doesn't provide video processing this isn't necessary and DSP can focus, instead, on environmental effects and immersive DSP.

Inputs and Outputs 

The Onkyo HT-R670 (which is very similar to their TX-SR607) has the ins and outs you'd expect on a basic A/V receiver. As we indicated above, the four HDMI inputs will handle four HD sources effortlessly to the single output, with both audio and video being read from the sources - a big improvement over some of Onkyo's lower HT-R receivers. Dual component video inputs means that legacy products will also be able to get tied into this receiver. In order to use both, you'll need to connect both component and HDMI to your display since the receiver does not offer any video upconversion. There are also three other composite video inputs, but no S-video connections (which is just fine with us). In addition to these video inputs there are dual stereo inputs for CD and Tape (hey, what's that?) and two each of optical and coax S/PDIF connections.

HT-R670 back panel

Note the lack of 5.1 analogue inputs

In terms of speaker connections, this model provides 5-way plastic binding posts for all primary (left/right/center/surround/surround back) speakers, but the Zone 2/Height Channel speakers (for Dolby Pro Logic IIz) get spring clips. This is not uncommon at this price point, but realize that spring clips of this type do best with 18 gauge or higher (smaller) cable. This is also the first HT-R receiver that allows bi-amping of the main speakers through re-routing amps from the Surround Back speakers. In addition, the TX-SR607 adds preamp outputs for a second parallel subwoofer and another set of A/V inputs for a gaming system (complete with an addiitonal, fifth, HDMI input). It was interesting to note that the HT-R570 included support for Sirius satellite radio, while the higher priced HT-R670 does not (the TX-SR607 includes it as well).

UP-A1That weird-looking D-connector on the back is a proprietary iPod dock port that Onkyo uses to connect to the included UP-A1 iPod dock. This dock lets you incorporate the iPhone right into your home entertainment system. The UP-A1 supports your iPhone or iPod's ability to send music, movies, TV shows, music videos, and video podcasts to the HT-R670. It draws a steady power supply from the AV receiver via the same convenient cable that delivers the video and audio signals. The UP-A1 also offers handy features found on previous Onkyo docks: the ability to recharge your iPod or iPhone. On compatible receivers (of which the HT-R670 is not), the dock also gives you onscreen display for content navigation and selection.

Main Left/Right and Center Speakers

In this system the front left/right/center speakers differ from the rest in that they have two larger drivers and a tweeter, making them 2-way speakers. Each speaker is just over 9" tall and about 5" wide, so they are easy to place in any home. The fact that these speakers step up to a two-way system, and the inclusion of a dedicated 1" tweeter means that you'll get clearer audio with less distortion. The mains and center channel produce frequencies, according to Onkyo, down to 60Hz.

The Surrounds and Surround Back speakers are physically identical to the mains and center except that they utilize a single 3-1/4" "full-range" driver and extend down to 70Hz. The front and center speakers weigh in at around 2.4 pounds each, while the surrounds are just under two pounds. All speakers in this system are made of slim plastic material.

Subwoofer

The included sub is active, meaning it has its own amplifier and must be plugged into an outlet, and contains a 10" down-firing driver with a large front port. The box itself is roughly 11" x 20" x 16" making it a pretty big box, but still small enough to hide away if necessary. We'd recommend keeping it up front if possible and moving it around to find the location that yields the best low frequency response. This is a solid sub, and we've seen many subs in similar systems come with an 8-inch driver - which is often not big enough (in an inexpensive system) to go down to that critical <30 Hz range. Onkyo claims a frequency response of 25Hz with this sub, but provides no specs on how it came to that measurement. It would be safe to assume that the sub is at least 3dB down at this frequency, if not more. You can upgrade this subwoofer with an aftermarket  solution at any time. Some recommendations are the Axiom Audio EP125 ($375), Aperion Audio Bravus 8A ($319), and the Velodyne Impact-12 ($369).

Remote Control

HT-R670 remoteThe remote that comes with this unit is sufficient enough to handle most basic systems (TV, DVD player and the AV receiver) but don't expect to have it operate your DVR or more sophisticated cableTV functions. It works via preprogrammed codes and cannot learn commands from other remote controls. The layout is intelligent, with direct access over inputs and the four listening modes (which can be further toggled by repeatedly pressing each button.) There is no backlight on this remote, so plan on using it during the day or learning where everything is for nighttime use. There is also a button to control a second audio Zone. A good universal remote should land this thing in storage pretty quickly - and that's our recommendation for most entry level remotes. 

Overview of Features

  • Total 1200W (includes 7 channels plus sub channel)
  • 7 speakers with 3-1/4" to 4" drivers
  • Down-firing 290W 10-inch subwoofer
  • 4 HDMI "repeater" inputs (audio supported!)
  • Dolby IIz height chanel support
  • Zone 2
  • 4 DSP gaming modes: Rock, Sports, Action, and Role Playing
  • Dedicated iPod dock
  • Audyssey Dynamic Volume
  • Includes UP-A1 iPod dock ($109 value)

Conclusion

This is an impressive little 7.1 system that is really priced right. What we like about it most is the fact that for $699 you get what is essentially a cross between a $499 and $599 A/V receiver (let's split the difference and call it $550). That means that you get 7 speakers and a 10-inch powered subwoofer for just $150. That's not bad and we doubt you'll do too much better shopping for components separately. This is a system that can easily be upgraded. While the Onkyo HT-670 receiver lacks a Sirius radio, on-screen display, video upconversion or analogue 5.1 inputs, it still packs plenty of feature-punch. This receiver also delivers Audyssey's Dynamic Volume feature which we've experienced and found to be very helpful when watching movies on systems and in rooms that simply cannot reproduce theatrical levels of dynamic sound. We doubt very much you'll use the Dolby IIz height speaker outputs - but hey, it's there for you to play with. Because of its value we feel that this system will appeal to a lot of people. If you have a lot of sources, you might want to hold out for something that upconverts analogue video to HDMI, or you'll need a good universal remote control that can switch your TV's inputs as needed to handle the various sources. This isn't a deal-breaker, but something consumers need to be aware of so they don't have false expectations when they unpack and set everything up. Definitely recommended.

About the author:
author portrait

Clint Deboer was terminated from Audioholics for misconduct on April 4th, 2014. He no longer represents Audioholics in any fashion.

View full profile

Confused about what AV Gear to buy or how to set it up? Join our Exclusive Audioholics E-Book Membership Program!

Recent Forum Posts:

tattoo_Dan posts on July 04, 2011 11:34
kzice, post: 818189
Hi,

I am new to this forum and stumbled upon it when researching various HTiB systems. You guys have a great site and very useful and informative reviews, so thank you.

Apologize for the newbie question, but I read your “First Look” review of the Onkyo HT-S6200, and have a basic question about this sytem and other 7.1 systems.

I live in a studio apartment and it is difficult to run wires through walls, etc. My main concern has been the setup of rear speakers on surround systems. Ideally, for ease of setup, they would be wireless, but I know a lot is lost in sound.

My question is – with a 7.1 system like the Onkyo, are all 7 speakers necessary to sound right/good (can I just use 5)? If it is necessary, do the rear speakers have to be set up in the back to sound right?

Again, sorry about these dumb questions and thanks in advance.


also,home depot and lowes carry plastic wire Management Channel made for running wire up a wall to a speaker in a decent & inexpensive & no wall damaging way.
works great for hiding wires.they mount with double stick tape.
http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1v/R-100204408/h_d2/ProductDisplay?langId=-1&storeId=10051&catalogId=10053
Adam posts on July 04, 2011 10:53
Welcome to the forum, kzice! Those aren't dumb questions at all - I'm just glad that I know the answer.

kzice, post: 818189
My question is – with a 7.1 system like the Onkyo, are all 7 speakers necessary to sound right/good (can I just use 5)? If it is necessary, do the rear speakers have to be set up in the back to sound right?

You can definitely just use five of the speakers for a 5.1 set up. That system has the capability to run 7.1, but you can set it up for less than that. You can check out the details in the owners manual available directly from Onkyo's website in PDF format here.

Audioholics has some good articles on placing speakers, including this one here. It discusses setting up speakers for 5.1 and 7.1 systems. One awesome thing about that system (and a lot of newer receivers) is the auto set-up routine that it can run. It uses a microphone and test tones to set the volume levels, timings, and equalizer settings for the speakers. With that, you don't have to be extremely precise in your speaker placement to get great results.
kzice posts on July 04, 2011 10:35
Hi,

I am new to this forum and stumbled upon it when researching various HTiB systems. You guys have a great site and very useful and informative reviews, so thank you.

Apologize for the newbie question, but I read your “First Look” review of the Onkyo HT-S6200, and have a basic question about this sytem and other 7.1 systems.

I live in a studio apartment and it is difficult to run wires through walls, etc. My main concern has been the setup of rear speakers on surround systems. Ideally, for ease of setup, they would be wireless, but I know a lot is lost in sound.

My question is – with a 7.1 system like the Onkyo, are all 7 speakers necessary to sound right/good (can I just use 5)? If it is necessary, do the rear speakers have to be set up in the back to sound right?

Again, sorry about these dumb questions and thanks in advance.
MDS posts on February 22, 2010 16:53
GregH, post: 689506
I have what is probably a ridiculously basic question about the HT-S6200. The ‘First Look’ article mentions a lack of 5.1 analogue inputs. What are the implications/limitations of this? In what cases might this be a disadvantage?

5.1 (or 7.1) analog inputs are necessary if you have a universal player that does not have any digital outputs and if the player was purchased recently that would be very rare.

1. If the player has optical or coax digital outputs, you can get 5.1 Dolby Digital or DTS without requiring analog inputs on the receiver.

2. If the player supports the newer lossless formats, like Dolby TrueHD, but does not have HDMI outputs, then you'd need to have the player do the decoding and send the audio out its analog audio outs and into the receiver's analog audio inputs.

3. If your player supports DVD-A or SACD but does not have HDMI outputs, then you'd also need analog audio outs on the player and analog audio inputs on the receiver.

In short, if you don't play DVD-A or SACD, you don't need analog inputs on the receiver. If the player and receiver have HDMI outputs/inputs then you can play any format whatsoever and definitely don't need analog inputs on the receiver. 5.1 analog inputs are a legacy connection and will soon be gone forever just like s-video has been disappearing from receivers.
GregH posts on February 22, 2010 15:55
Never mind, I'm an idiot.

GregH, post: 689506
Hello,

I've been following Audioholics for quite a while researching my first purchase of a surround sound system. Awesome site but I am very new to all the inputs, terminology, etc. Trying to learn things on my own, but it can get very confusing. In any case, this system looks like it fits my needs and budget, and I am seriously considering purchasing the system.

I have what is probably a ridiculously basic question about the HT-S6200. The ‘First Look’ article mentions a lack of 5.1 analogue inputs. What are the implications/limitations of this? In what cases might this be a disadvantage?

Thanks a lot for your help,

Greg
Post Reply