“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter instagram pinterest

Sanyo PLV-Z5 LCD Projector Review

by January 27, 2007
  • Product Name: Sanyo PLV-Z5 LCD Projector Review
  • Manufacturer: Sanyo
  • Performance Rating: StarStarStarStarhalf-star
  • Value Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
  • Review Date: January 27, 2007 12:45
  • MSRP: $ 1995
  • Buy Now

Brightness: 1100 ANSI lumens (max)
Contrast: Up to 10,000:1 (stated full on/off in vivid mode)
Resolution: 1280 x 720 native HD resolution
Aspect Ratio: Widescreen native 16:9 aspect ratio (4:3 compatible)
Supported Screen Size: 40-300 inches diagonal
LCD Panel: D5 (Epson); 3 x 0.7” TFT Active Matrix LCD
Iris: Variable twin iris system (powered lens and lamp iris)
Accepted Video Formats: 480i/575i/1080i and 480p/575p/720p/1080p
Accepted Computer Formats: From VGA up to 1152 x 900 + 720p/1080i/1080p
Video Inputs: HDMI-HDCP (x2), component (x2), composite, S-video, and PC/RGB (HD15)
Color System: NTSC, PAL, SECAM, NTSC 4.43, PAL-M, PAL-N
Fan Noise: 22 dBa

Projection Lens: 2.0x optical zoom; f = 21.3 – 42.6 mm/F2.0 – 3.0, manual focus & zoom
Lens Shift: Vertical and horizontal (100% vertical, 50% horizontal)
Lens Throw Ratio: 1.35 ~ 2.7:1
Keystone Correction: +/- 20 degrees
Lamp: 145 W UHP lamp
Mounting: ceiling, desk, front/rear (menu configurable)
Power Supply: 100-240 volts, 50-60Hz
Power Consumption: 210 watts (maximum
Operating Temperature: 41 – 95 degrees F (5 – 35 degrees C)
Projection Method: Front/rear/ceiling mount/table-top
Remote Control: Backlit, AA x 2 batteries
Standard Accessories: Power cord and adapter, Wireless remote control unit, batteries for remote control, owner’s manual
Operating Noise: 30dB (minimum)
Dimensions: 15” x 5” x 12” in. (382 x 126.8 x 304.3 mm)
Weight: 10.2 lbs (5 kg)


Pros

  • Very detailed image with reduced screen door effect
  • Excellent calibration out of the box
  • Quiet cooling system
  • 3000 hour bulb life (max)
  • Excellent LCD panel adjustment and maintenance options

Cons

  • No 12VDC trigger
  • Only a minor upgrade from the PLV-Z4

Introduction

The Sanyo PLV-Z5 makes a few improvements on the Z4 platform and keeps itself at the top of a very hot list of 720p projectors that are guaranteed to make any home theater enthusiast almost certain to become a gravitational force on Friday night movie nights...

Confused about what AV Gear to buy or how to set it up? Join our Exclusive Audioholics E-Book Membership Program!

About the author:

Clint Deboer was terminated from Audioholics for misconduct on April 4th, 2014. He no longer represents Audioholics in any fashion.

View full profile

Recent Forum Posts:

The Dukester posts on January 30, 2007 09:07
Rob Babcock
I guess the $64,000 question is how does it stack up vs the Panasonic PT-AX100U, bang-for-the-buck-wise? Seems like the Panny gives perhaps a tad more filmlike picture and higher overall performance, but the Sanyo has the auto lense cover & panel cleaner, plus is $500 cheaper. Seems like that makes the race almost neck and neck.

Also to compare apples and oranges, how it stacks up with the Optoma HD72 DLP that is in the same price range.
Rob Babcock posts on January 30, 2007 01:37
I guess the $64,000 question is how does it stack up vs the Panasonic PT-AX100U, bang-for-the-buck-wise? Seems like the Panny gives perhaps a tad more filmlike picture and higher overall performance, but the Sanyo has the auto lense cover & panel cleaner, plus is $500 cheaper. Seems like that makes the race almost neck and neck.
Clint DeBoer posts on January 29, 2007 23:18
And since we received our sample from ProjectorPeople off the shelf - it definitely wasn't tweaked, so my assessment should be accurate - at least for those who share my other criteria.

It's 2007, though - all projectors should be pretty flat by now when in Cinema mode… at least on a unity gain screen in a light-controlled environment.
Intradio posts on January 29, 2007 22:26
Great Z5 Review!

Well, after reading many posts, mostly speculation, about how bad the out-of-the-box calibration is, on the Z4 and the Z5 would probably be no better, it is refreshing to read a review that confirms my experience.

I don't know about the Z4, but I have been super satisfied with my Z5 right out of the box. The only adjustment I have made was to turn down the color a tad for the component input. That's probably because I use it for the HD satellite TV box. I use my upconverting oppo to feed DVD's via HDMI and the detail, color, sharpness, etc. is beautiful. My screen is a 100 inch Da Lite da-mat, unity gain. HT is in the basement with pretty good, but not perfect, light control. I wouldn't recommend going bigger than 100 inch unless it's a higher gain, or you can make your HT totally dark.

I have 104 hrs on it now which is long enough to notice any bugs and I'm happy to say there is none. The review is a mirror image of my experience, so far, with my Z5. Needles to say, I'm a happy camper.

Live long & Prosper,
Intradio
patnshan posts on January 29, 2007 16:15
HendersonD
Both of these projectors have gotten great reviews. I have a light controlled room where I will be installing a 110" diagonal SMX Screen that has a gain of 1.16. Seating distance is 11'.

What are the differences between these two that will help me make a decision? Any thoughts on which of these two I should purchase?

Dave

There are HUGE threads on AVS forum discussing the merits of these two and others comparable.
I am trying to decide myself which to get.
Pat
Post Reply