“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter instagram pinterest

Toshiba REGZA 46SV670U LED LCD Television Review

by October 14, 2009
Toshiba REGZA 46SV670U

Toshiba REGZA 46SV670U

  • Product Name: REGZA 46SV670U LED LCD TV
  • Manufacturer: Toshiba
  • Performance Rating: StarStarStarStar
  • Value Rating: StarStarStarhalf-star
  • Review Date: October 14, 2009 10:00
  • MSRP: $ 2300
  • Buy Now

1080p Full HD CineSpeed Display
FocaLight LED Backlight with Local Dimming
2,000,000:1 Dynamic Contrast Ratio
CrystalCoat Contrast Enhancer
ClearScan 240 with New Backlight Scanning Technology
Resolution+1 Super Resolution Technology
PixelPure 5G 14-Bit Internal Digital Video Processor
AutoView Automatic Picture Adjustment
ColorMaster Wide Color Enhancer
Dolby Volume Automatically Adjusts Uneven Volume Levels
4 HDMI Digital Inputs (1 Side) with InstaPort and REGZA-LINK®2
Next Gen Connectivity (USB Port, SD Card Slot, IR Pass-Through, High-Res PC Input)
ATSC/QAM Digital Tuner for Over-the-Air and Cable-in-the-Clear Digital Tuning
New Deep Lagoon Design with Infinity Flush Front
VESA mount: 200x400
Dimensions (no stand): 45.6" x 28.5" x 4.5"
Dimensions (w/ stand): 45.6" x 30.8" x 13.6"
Weight (w/ stand): 72.8 lbs

Pros

  • LED backlighting allows rich blacks
  • Deep lagoon design not unattractive
  • Excellent calibration options

Cons

  • No network features
  • Fast menu system timeout

Introduction

Quite some time ago we predicted to death of plasma technology, albeit a tad early than was comfortable for most of our readers. The large reason behind this prediction was the advances being made in LCD technology. With the introduction of LED backlighting, LCD monitors have overcome one of the final hurdles that sets them apart from their plasma counterparts – black levels. Toshiba's REGZA 46SV670U capitalizes on this equalization of technologies and maximizes the viewing experience, bringing LCD into the realm of plasma and rendering blacks like you've never seen them before.
About the author:

Clint Deboer was terminated from Audioholics for misconduct on April 4th, 2014. He no longer represents Audioholics in any fashion.

View full profile

Confused about what AV Gear to buy or how to set it up? Join our Exclusive Audioholics E-Book Membership Program!

Recent Forum Posts:

Seth=L posts on October 16, 2009 09:15
3db, post: 635798
I take it that LED backlighting is btter still in terms of getting black resolution.. Oh well …Its all I could afford at this time and I'll wait till the kids leave the nest before buying something btter. Its still miles better than my 10 year old Toshiba 32" CRT TV that i've been using until this purchase.
I wouldn't doubt that it was a significant improvement over what you had. My Sony KDL-46W3000 is CCFL backlit, and it's one of the worst CCFLs I've ever seen. The 32" Westinghouse I was using had more subtle backlighting than this thing. I can clearly see the bulbs behind the screen, which is very annoying at times.
3db posts on October 16, 2009 07:36
Seth=L, post: 635649
Your Vizio is CCFL backlit, which is similar to neon or flourecent type lighting. Vizio only has one LED backlit set available right now.

http://www.vizio.com/review/product/list/id/125/#ratings

Blooming is an effect on LED backlit panels, not CCFLs.

I take it that LED backlighting is btter still in terms of getting black resolution.. Oh well …Its all I could afford at this time and I'll wait till the kids leave the nest before buying something btter. Its still miles better than my 10 year old Toshiba 32" CRT TV that i've been using until this purchase.
Seth=L posts on October 15, 2009 19:28
3db, post: 635423
Vizio SV470M and its backlit. I don't think it uses edge lighting but a quick check in the manual would hopefully reveal this.
Your Vizio is CCFL backlit, which is similar to neon or flourecent type lighting. Vizio only has one LED backlit set available right now.

http://www.vizio.com/review/product/list/id/125/#ratings

Blooming is an effect on LED backlit panels, not CCFLs.
j_garcia posts on October 15, 2009 17:43
3db, post: 635423
Vizio SV470M and its backlit. I don't think it uses edge lighting but a quick check in the manual would hopefully reveal this.

Unless you bought it this year, I don't think they had any LED backlit sets until very recently.

My LCD looks OK off axis and it is fluorescent backlit, but nobody in my room sits off axis because my room is long and narrow, so all the seating faces the set; nothing to the side.
fredk posts on October 15, 2009 14:52
I'm gonna have to hand in my propeller. I thought LCD tvs started looking pretty good 2 years ago already.
Post Reply