“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter instagram pinterest

Logitech Revue GoogleTV Hands-on Full Review

by October 29, 2010
Logitech Revue GoogleTV

Logitech Revue GoogleTV

  • Product Name: Revue GoogleTV
  • Manufacturer: Logitech
  • Performance Rating: StarStarStarStarhalf-star
  • Value Rating: StarStarStarStarhalf-star
  • Review Date: October 29, 2010 09:20
  • MSRP: $ 299.99
  • Buy Now
  • HDMI input: 1080p/60fps, 1.3a w/CEC
  • HDMI output: 1080p/60fps, 1.3a w/CEC
  • Wireless: 802.11a/b/g/n
  • Wired: Ethernet 10/100 Base-T
  • Audio optical output (S/PDIF)
  • 2 USB 2.0 ports
  • Integrated Logitech Harmony Link IR blaster
  • Logitech Unifying wireless technology

Pros

  • Excellent search
  • Superb wireless keyboard
  • PIP functionality
  • Integrated Harmony remote tech
  • Wide-range IR emitters
  • Wireless Ethernet bridge
  • Full integration with select DISH DVRs

Cons

  • Sub-par Netflix integration
  • Somewhat convoluted interface

 

Logitech Revue Introduction

I can't remember a time when a product had more hype (or potential) than when Google announced GoogleTV. The trouble was, the leaked video and descriptions were somewhat vague and nobody truly had a real grasp on what the technology would hold. We, of course, wanted to get our grubby little hands on it as soon as earthly possible - and that was facilitated by our relationship with DISH, who sent us a Logitech Revue as soon as they had one in-hand. For anyone truly looking to unlock the full power of GoogleTV, realize that DISH is the first (currently only, as far as we know) to fully integrate their DVRs with GoogleTV without the use of IR emitters or a convoluted interface. With most DVRs, there would be no way to access recorded material, or even program new recordings from the guide via IR, due to the complexity of the tasks involved - at least not without a really manual, unimpressive process. While the newer DVRs and set-top boxes have the potential to integrate well, DISH jumped all over it and we're able to review the Logitech Revue with full DVR integration with a VIP 722 HD DVR.

Are you as excited as we are? This review is a bit different than some of my others, because we're writing it in real time. It won't post until the end, but hopefully you'll get the same sense of wonder and discover that we had going through the Logitech Revue - from unboxing it, to hooking it up, to using each of its features. It's also unique in that you'll be hearing me bounce back and forth, referring to it as both GoogleTV and the Logitech Revue. That's simply because Logitech is controlling the hardware, and GoogleTV is the guts and software that drives the interface. Sometimes they are ubiquitous, other times, we'll be specifically referring to one or the other - and the reader should understand that we don't expect GoogleTV to be responsible for any hardware criticisms any more than we would expect Logitech to be the cause of any software difficulties.

logitech revue

About the author:
author portrait

Clint Deboer was terminated from Audioholics for misconduct on April 4th, 2014. He no longer represents Audioholics in any fashion.

View full profile

Confused about what AV Gear to buy or how to set it up? Join our Exclusive Audioholics E-Book Membership Program!

Recent Forum Posts:

allargon posts on August 09, 2011 20:10
BoredSysAdmin, post: 822362
Would you consider Revue that now for $99
http://www.androidcentral.com/logitech-dropping-price-revue-99


btw:
Found this:
What media formats are supported on Logitech Media Player?

Audio
MP3 - MPEG-1 Layer 3
MP4 - AAC
M4A - AAC
OGG - Vorbis (Only when a USB device is connected to Revue)
WMA


Video (Currently in Beta)
MKV - H.264/AVC
FLV - H.264/AVC, H.263
MTS/MT2S/TS - H.264/AVC
AVI - H.264/AVC, DivX MPEG4, XVid MPEG4
MOV - H.264/AVC
MP42

Images
JPG
PNG
GIF
BMP
http://revue.logitech.com/digitalhome/answers?a_id=19802&source=search&strText=What%20media%20formats&sub_cat=multiple


Rumor has it that Google has been working to update these boxes to Honeycomb, but I find it unlikely

There's already a 3.1 beta in the wild. Maybe they'll finally add FLAC support. It'll be like one of 3 turnkey devices that actually does.

How well does this thing upscale SD video if at all?
BoredSysAdmin posts on July 28, 2011 18:13
Would you consider Revue that now for $99
http://www.androidcentral.com/logitech-dropping-price-revue-99


btw:
Found this:
What media formats are supported on Logitech Media Player?

Audio
MP3 - MPEG-1 Layer 3
MP4 - AAC
M4A - AAC
OGG - Vorbis (Only when a USB device is connected to Revue)
WMA


Video (Currently in Beta)
MKV - H.264/AVC
FLV - H.264/AVC, H.263
MTS/MT2S/TS - H.264/AVC
AVI - H.264/AVC, DivX MPEG4, XVid MPEG4
MOV - H.264/AVC
MP42

Images
JPG
PNG
GIF
BMP
http://revue.logitech.com/digitalhome/answers?a_id=19802&source=search&strText=What%20media%20formats&sub_cat=multiple


Rumor has it that Google has been working to update these boxes to Honeycomb, but I find it unlikely
hardal posts on March 12, 2011 01:21
majorloser, post: 780893
Dish is offering the Logitech Revue for $179


I have a ViP 622 receiver in my theater. I wonder if I'd get the same features as Clint got with the ViP 722 receiver.

Great offer there. Will consider it after the discounted.
Moneattency posts on February 26, 2011 20:34
????????????

maxigruz ru]



maxigruz ru]????????? ????? maxigruz ru]???????????? ?????????????? ? ?????? maxigruz ru]???????? ??? maxigruz ru]???????? ?????? maxigruz ru]????????????? maxigruz ru]???????????? ?????? ?????? maxigruz ru]???????? ????????????? maxigruz ru]?????????????? ???
maxigruz ru]?????????????? ??? maxigruz ru]???????????? ?????????????? maxigruz ru]????? ?????? ? ?????? maxigruz ru]?????????????? ??? maxigruz ru]???????? ?????????????? maxigruz ru]?????????????? ??? maxigruz ru]?????????? ??????????????
rus-torrents ru]???????? 2009 ??????? ????????? rus-torrents ru]???? ??????? rus-torrents ru]??????? ???????? 3 rus-torrents ru]???????? rus-torrents ru]????? ?? ??????? ????????? ?????? ? ????????? rus-torrents ru]??????? windows rus-torrents ru]??????? ?????? ????????? ??????? rus-torrents ru]??????? ??????? ??????? rus-torrents ru]??????? ?????? tfile rus-torrents ru]???????? 2009
omalley5280 posts on January 25, 2011 12:10
Dish

As a DISH Network employee/customer, I just recently purchased the Logitec Revue to pair with my 722k receiver. Neat to be able to surf the net on my tv also able to search DISH network guide and DVR functions. For more info go to dish.com/google tv
Post Reply