“Let our rigorous testing and reviews be your guidelines to A/V equipment – not marketing slogans”
Facebook Youtube Twitter instagram pinterest

Onkyo TX-SR805 AV Receiver Review

by November 09, 2007
Onkyo TX-SR805

Onkyo TX-SR805

  • Product Name: TX-SR805
  • Manufacturer: Onkyo
  • Performance Rating: StarStarStarStarhalf-star
  • Value Rating: StarStarStarStarStar
  • Review Date: November 09, 2007 16:50
  • MSRP: $ 1099
  • Buy Now

 

Amplifier section

130wpc x 7 @ 0.05% THD
THX Certified Ultra2
Onkyo Wide Range Amplifier Technology (WRAT)
Amplifier frequency response 5Hz-100kHz
Discrete circuitry using dual push-pull design
Certified 4 ohm performance
High Current Power Supply with instantaneous current capability rated at 60A
S/N ratio (line in IHF-A) 110dB
Assignable channels for bi-amped front channels or powered zone2
Detachable AC Cord

Audio/Video Processing

HDMI 1.3a with repeater and 1080p bandwidth
HDMI Deep Color (36bit) support
3 x 32bit Texas Instruments DSP processors
Faroudja Edge Directional Correlation Deinterlacing (DCDi)
Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD, and DTS-HD Master Audio decoding
THX processing: Boundary Gain Compensation (BGC) and Advanced Speaker Array (ASA)
Neural THX Surround decoder with XM HD Surround Sound support
Audyssey MultEQ XT (8 positions) or manual 7 Band Speaker EQ
Auto Speaker Calibration w/microphone using Audyssey MultEQ XT
Direct/pure audio modes
192K/24 Bit Burr Brown DAC for each channel
Independently assignable audio channels
Independent crossover frequency adjustment for LR, C, SR, SB channels at 40/50/60/70/80/90/100/120/150/200Hz
Independent bass/treble control for all channels
Double Bass Function
AV Sync up to 250ms in 5ms increments
Powered zone2 with volume, balance, bass, and treble

Audio/Video Connectivity

HDMI ports 3 input/1output
Component video 3 input/1output @ 5Hz-100MHz bandwidth
Composite/S-Video 6 input/1output each
Digital audio 3 optical/3 coaxial inputs, 1 optical output
2 channel analog audio 9 input/2 output including phono in (MM)
7.1 multi-channel analog input/output
Zone2/zone3 stereo line out
· Auxiliary front panel A/V inputs
¼” Headphone jack
iPod ready using separate Onkyo DS-A2
XM Radio ready connection
SIRIUS Radio ready connection

Miscellaneous

On screen display
Integration Access RS-232
IR input/output Onkyo-RI System Control
12V Trigger (Zone2)
IntelliVolume
Late Night Mode (high/low/off)
Programmable/Learning back-lit remote control
Color-coded speaker terminals
Solid aluminum front panel and door
2 year warranty

Dimensions (WxHxD): 17 1/8” x 7 5/8” x 18 1/16”

Weight:
50.9 pounds

Pros

  • Features and flexibility exceeding price competitors
  • HDMI 1.3a compliant
  • Dolby TrueHD and DTS Master Audio decoding
  • Audyssey MultEQ XT improves focus and coherence
  • THX Ultra2 Certified
  • Larger power supply than competitive products

Cons

  • Runs hot
  • LFE does not support identical crossover frequencies as main channels
  • Single subwoofer out connection
  • Occasionally drops HDMI signal when exiting setup
  • Automatic speaker setup missed a few settings

 

Onkyo TX-SR805 Introduction

DSC02614.JPGAs both a former Onkyo owner and as a recent inductee into the early adopter club of HD optical disc formats, the arrival of Onkyo’s newest receivers, with not only the latest HD video capability but also native HD audio capability, piqued my interest. First on the scene, Onkyo has released five receivers, the TX-SR605, TX-SR705, TX-SR805, TX-SR875, and the TX-NR905 all of which support the latest lossless HD audio codecs, namely Dolby TrueHD (DTHD) and DTS Master Audio (DTS MA), in addition to the latest digital video support through HDMI 1.3a.

Looking at the feature sets available on the TX-SR605 and the TX-SR805 while considering the price, the new Onkyo models are definitely attention getters. The spec sheet alone puts this receiver far out in front of the competition at this price point.

Onkyo has long had a reputation for building good quality audio gear and as being an excellent choice, along with the likes of Denon and Yamaha, for components to step up from basic, entry level gear. My first personal introduction to Onkyo was a college roommate, freshman year, who had an Onkyo receiver that showed to limits of my mid-fi receiver. Budding Audiophile that I was, I one upped him with an even bigger Denon integrated amplifier. While I had higher power in the more expensive integrated amplifier, it was clear that the two pieces were in the same class, unlike the receiver I had replaced.

Remembering that first introduction, Onkyo was on my list as I began developing a home theater and at that time, I felt Onkyo edged out Denon when I looked at both for value. My experiences with the TX-SR602, predecessor to the current TX-SR605, had all been positive and provided support for my impression of Onkyo. Now with the TX-SR-805 in my hands, I can see it this is a continuing trend.

 

Confused about what AV Gear to buy or how to set it up? Join our Exclusive Audioholics E-Book Membership Program!

About the author:

Professionally, David engineers building structures. He is also a musician and audio enthusiast. David gives his perspective about loudspeakers and complex audio topics from his mechanical engineering and HAA Certified Level I training.

View full profile

Recent Forum Posts:

Lordoftherings posts on November 17, 2009 11:43
^ That's me!, that's me!, that's me!… …and you're very welcome Eugen.

> But I was just doing my job.

* Anyway, I know that you won't be able to read this, but still, it is good news,
and I'm very glad for you & your friend.
EugenT posts on November 17, 2009 10:56
Just wanted to thank those people who recommended the fan combination below (in this thread).

Me and a friend both own TX-SR805, and this fan made a huge difference on our receivers. Receivers run cool and the fans are nearly silent at 9V (voltage is adjustable between 6 and 12V - could be 4.5v on the lower limit, have to check that).

http://www.buyextras.com/evavcoblfanf.html
ranjosh posts on July 03, 2009 22:04
thanks for the help
Lordoftherings posts on June 28, 2009 22:07
bandphan, post: 588528
Run a full set of the Sonus Faber Minima Amator @ 90dbs for a few minutes
4 ohm with 1 ohm dips, 82bd 1w 1m, but sound fantastic

Thanks for the tip, I'll check who carry them near the area where I live..

If I can get get my hands on these, that should take care of my strange behaviour lately.
bandphan posts on June 28, 2009 20:59
Lordoftherings, post: 588511
I've been acting very strange recently, and it is related directly to my Onkyo TX-SR805,
which is putting out less heat than usual! (About a couple degrees less.)
So I'm worry about the coming of next winter. Will it affect my heating bills in the upward direction?
I'm really counting on my 805 to keep me warm comes winter, and to save me the most possible on my my heating bills.

Anyone with a solution? That would be very appreciated.

Thanks,

Bob

P.S. By the way, I did remove the two internal fans, but it did not raise the temperature!
Run a full set of the Sonus Faber Minima Amator @ 90dbs for a few minutes
4 ohm with 1 ohm dips, 82bd 1w 1m, but sound fantastic
Post Reply